10/02 Tray No Shot VET UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iorwen & Tray

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26403&view=unread#unread

After a great day cycle something went wrong with Tray, he went to eat his evening meal when suddenly I heard a loud whimper and Tray was furiously pawing the left side of his mouth. When I tried to open his mouth to see what was wrong I got met with growls and a few nasty scratches. Tray then spent the night hiding in the closet and continued pawing his mouth. This morning he tried to eat but couldn't so I didn't give him his insulin shot even though his BG was 362.

Just called the animal hospital and the vet that sees Tray won't be in until 12pm so I will be his first visit. I chose to wait for my cat's regular doctor since he seems to have a good grapple on FD and would rather Tray see someone who he's used to since he's in no mood for anyone to touch him.

Wish us luck and healing vines please.
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

A ton of vines. I hope the vet visit goes well and whatever this is gets straightened out quickly. Please update when you can.
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Yes, yes, yes! Lots & lots of luck. Both of you will be on our mind. Hopefully you will get this cleared up soon. Once, Otis (GA), had to have one of his fangs removed because it was cracked that there was an exposed nerve. Vet said it was incredible painful. So good thing you are getting this checked out today. Keep us posted. Take care!
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Tons of healing vines and positive news vibes your way!

(((((hugs))))
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Sorry to hear about Tray. Poor kitty.

Lots of healing vines for sweet Tray.

Let us know what the vet tells ya.
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Sending Healing green light and Angels and prayers for your Tray hope all is ok
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Sending vines and snowflakes to Tray. I hope the vet can make him feel all better, real soon.
(((Hugs))) to your both.
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Oh no! I'm so sorry, Iorwen, I hope the vet will be able to get Tray feeling better quickly! Sending tons of healing vines for poor Tray. Please update us when you can!
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Poor baby. I hope the vet can fix whatever is wrong very quickly. I'm really glad you could get him in so quickly, too. Sending healing vines to Tray.
 
Re: 10/02 Tray No Shot VET visit coming

Thank you everyone for your good thoughts and vines.

We are back from the vet...well the good news is the vet couldn't find anything wrong with Tray's teeth and no signs of a tumour or sore around his mouth or under his tongue. Tray's temperature was normal and his weight is finally at Maine Coon normal (17.6 pounds). The bad news is the vet is stumped, he is running a full blood work to see if anything is going on, he said he will be particullarly looking for fatty liver disease but is optimistic that all is well. He said it could be a case of just Tray chomping down on a bit of bone in the raw food awkwardly or something going down his throat the "wrong way" and he's just been a bit sore. He gave me some appetite stimulants and some yummy pill pockets which Tray devoured. It's already kicked in and Tray managed to eat two tablespoons of Wellness canned. So fingers crossed all will be well.
 
I was wondering whether he scratched his gum or something along those lines so it sounds like good news -- especially since he's eating. It takes several days of no food for hepatic lipidosis (fatty liver) to develop.
 
wow, how scary! So glad tray is already feeling better and will keep sending positive thoughts all tests from the vet's come back normal .. hopefully it was just a "bone" that got chomped down on wrong ...
 
I am really glad that everything is okay and that Tray is eating again. And its nice to hear that he's back to his good weight again. :-D
 
So So Happy that Tray is OK!!!! OMG--Whew is right!! Guess we are all on edge here!!
Feel good sweet Tray--Great Job & catch-Iorwen!!!
 
Sending healing green vibes with Angels ,Fairies GA for pets and prayers coming to help Tray get better fast. Hope all is better really soon Kath
 
Just catching up but so glad to hear that Tray is ok and is now eating. I'm sure you were scared to death. It's so great you got into see your regular vet.
 
Oh, poor Tray. I'm glad the vet didn't find anything, like a broken tooth. I was wondering if he bit his tongue, or the inside of his cheek. Doc chould have seen that, tho.
I hope whatever he did is all better by tomorrow. I'm glad he was able to eat a little.
 
Just mulling over this, and I thought I'd ask about Tray's dental history. Has he has a dental anytime recently? ever had any dental x-rays? Kitty has had some resorption issues that turned up in x-rays, not on visual exam. Maybe you could ask your vet what he thinks about getting some digital x-rays.
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
Just mulling over this, and I thought I'd ask about Tray's dental history. Has he has a dental anytime recently? ever had any dental x-rays? Kitty has had some resorption issues that turned up in x-rays, not on visual exam. Maybe you could ask your vet what he thinks about getting some digital x-rays.

I was thinking of asking for some x-rays as well. I'll talk to him about it this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top