10-02 Pretty Girl - AMPS 422 - +2 378 +5.5 362 +8 267 PMPS 234

JeanW

Member Since 2017
Yesterday -

Pretty Girl is feeling really good this morning - tons of purring and very affectionate. She spent more time in blue numbers yesterday so I'm hopeful this is the start of a trend.

Yesterday I offered her Nature's Variety Instinct Original Chicken for the first time since her appetite seemed to be off. She loves it and I think maybe it's contributed to her lower numbers. Will do more experimenting to see. Appetite is back 100% this morning and I offered her more of the Nature's Variety along with some of the usual Nature's Logic. A good day so far.

Went to a new vet last week and she seems to be the best of the many we've seen in the last year and a half. She had a list of approved foods for diabetic cats - it seems to be a subset of Dr. Lisa's list. She's totally in favor of home testing and says it's the best and wants me to do curves at home. So we will see how it goes from here.
 
Looks like she started off in a bit of a bounce from those nice blues. She looks like she could have an active cycle today with the +2 being lower than the pre shot number.

The new vet sounds amazing!!
 
Looks like she started off in a bit of a bounce from those nice blues. She looks like she could have an active cycle today with the +2 being lower than the pre shot number.

The new vet sounds amazing!!
I don't know what happened while I was at work - but at +5.5 she's at 362. I wonder if she bounced in between. She didn't look that great - not terrible not quite herself either.

Hopefully the new vet WILL turn out to be amazing. She has a good manner with the patients and their owners.

She is a strict believer in only feeding 2x a day at 12 hours apart and I just nod and smile and say yes. She emailed me the lab results without me asking for them and emailed me her protocol for doing a curve.:)
 
She is a strict believer in only feeding 2x a day at 12 hours apart and I just nod and smile and

Glad you hold your ground. I use to think the same thing. But, the small frequent meals are so much easier on their pancreas and if they drop into low numbers food has to be given.

but at +5.5 she's at 362

That's a little strange unless she dropped a lot lower between +2 and +5.5 and bounced up again. Did you retest the 363? Sometimes you can get a wonky number because of a bad strip, too much blood on the strip, not enough blood on the strip, etc, So it's always a good idea to double check it.
 
Glad you hold your ground. I use to think the same thing. But, the small frequent meals are so much easier on their pancreas and if they drop into low numbers food has to be given.



That's a little strange unless she dropped a lot lower between +2 and +5.5 and bounced up again. Did you retest the 363? Sometimes you can get a wonky number because of a bad strip, too much blood on the strip, not enough blood on the strip, etc, So it's always a good idea to double check it.
My guess is that she dropped lower. No, I didn't think of retesting at that moment though I do sometimes. I am going through test strips at a crazy pace. But I will remember that for next time.
 
PrettyGirl seemed really "off" at PMPS test/feed/shoot. But she was MUCH better after eating - lots and lots of purring and affection. Now I think she just needed to eat. But it scared me at first.

Cats are so fickle. She turned up her nose at the food that used to ALWAYS be the food that she would eat. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top