10/02 Meows AMPS 121 (skip), +6 117, PMPS 117 (skip)

This is my first post here, and I am worried I am going making mistakes today with his shots. He tested 6.7 amps, so I skipped because I would be out of the house for a majority of the day, and when I tested him pmps he was 6.5. I decided to skip again because I was shocked. I realize these are not remission #s or even OTJ #s. He is currently on 0.25m of Lantus. He generally has a bit of movement, dropping around 90-140 at his nadir, hence why I didn't want to shoot when I was away. Should I reduce his dose to 0.25s or 0.125 and continue trying to shoot these numbers down more before trying OTJ? Or do I see where he goes without insulin? I really want to do right by him, so thank you so much in advance!
 
Hi Shelby and Meowmeow! Welcome to FDMB! :-)

Has there been any change in food recently? He is on a mix of LC wet and YA kibble?

He is not yet ready to go off the juice, but he has earned a reduction with SLGS to 0.10U. You could try that from tomorrow.

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg


Btw, with SLGS, you can shoot any number over 90. I see you shot 131 before. 120 is more or less the same level if you consider meter variance. Lantus is very good at giving flat cycles when you shoot low.
 
Yes there has, we have been trying to incorporate more wet food into his diet. All LC (under 4). We are in Canada, so sadly there are currently very few LC dry foods, so the kibble is not very low carb. He only gets about a tbsp per day just because he's a kibble addict. We did try YA but it gave him diarrhea that leaked for days, poor guy. So, we are sticking with the tiny bit the higher carb one until a lower carb one comes back to Canada ◡̈
So this morning his AMPS is 7.0, so I would give that reduced dose then? Even though we have been doing this for a month it is still incredibly overwhelming so I appreciate the support greatly!
 
Yes there has, we have been trying to incorporate more wet food into his diet. All LC (under 4). We are in Canada, so sadly there are currently very few LC dry foods, so the kibble is not very low carb. He only gets about a tbsp per day just because he's a kibble addict. We did try YA but it gave him diarrhea that leaked for days, poor guy. So, we are sticking with the tiny bit the higher carb one until a lower carb one comes back to Canada ◡̈
Which kibble is he getting? Was even a small amount of YA giving him diarrhea? If it's only a little kibble - you could look at freeze dried meat which has the same crunch as kibble but is low carb. My sugar kitty was a kibble addict and I was never able to transition her to wet food! You want to feed the kibble (if you have to) in the first couple of hours of the cycle when the insulin action is strongest - feeding carbs after nadir reduces the duration of insulin and causes numbers to go up sharply.


So this morning his AMPS is 7.0, so I would give that reduced dose then?
Yes. He has earned a reduction, so his new dose is 0.10U. Congrats! :-)

Even though we have been doing this for a month it is still incredibly overwhelming so I appreciate the support greatly!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I know it's bad, but he is currently getting the Purina DM. I know it's high carb, and I know he should be off it entirely. He has gone from 80% of his diet being dry, to only about 10%, so we have been trying to slowly remove it over time, so soon he will be completely off of it. We give him freeze dried as a treat for after eat pricks and shots. It was 5 pieces of the YA that caused that, he has a pretty sensitive stomach. We even started with just introducing 1 piece per day. Alas. We don't have Dr Elsey or others in Canada. I have thought about trying Square Pet since they are under 10%. But this is what we have been able to get to, so we are just going to continue decreasing slowly as we have been. But I didn't know about when to give it, so that's great to know, I'll ensure when be does get his small amount it is during the beginning of his cycle.
Okay we gave him his new dose. I will test him in 3/4, since usually his nadir is +4.
 
@shelbyandmeows
Welcome I see you gave 0.25 units ,
I see that Bhooma suggested to give 0.10 units this morning in her post above .Can you please add SLGS which is the dosing method if they are eating any kibble. Can you please add SLGS to your spreadsheet up top :cat:
Love the pic of Meowmeow so cute
Try and do a new post everyday and link your previous days post to it


lTo link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it




austin-logo-240.jpg
 
Last edited:
Okay, I can do that. I have been using calipers, so 0.25 would be 0.26mm, and I have 0.20mm so just below 0.25. My next move down would be 0.13mm. I don't want to go too fast as previously he was on a fat dose of 0.25, which is 0.38mm. So I realize it says 0.25s in the spreadsheet, but that's for my calipers labeling system ◡̈ hopefully that makes sense. Just trying to very slowly reduce his dose, and trying not to rush the process ◡̈
And yes got the linking, I will ensure to do that when I create a new post! Sorry that I didn't create a new one today, I'll make sure I do tomorrow then. Or are you telling me you want me to do that right now?
 
Okay, I can do that. I have been using calipers, so 0.25 would be 0.26mm, and I have 0.20mm so just below 0.25. My next move down would be 0.13mm. I don't want to go too fast as previously he was on a fat dose of 0.25, which is 0.38mm. So I realize it says 0.25s in the spreadsheet, but that's for my calipers labeling system ◡̈ hopefully that makes sense. Just trying to very slowly reduce his dose, and trying not to rush the process ◡̈
And yes got the linking, I will ensure to do that when I create a new post! Sorry that I didn't create a new one today, I'll make sure I do tomorrow then. Or are you telling me you want me to do that right now?
@Bandit's Mom
Hi Bhooma
I see you suggested to give 0.10 units for 10-3 is it ok for her to put the dose in her SS the way she is describing
 
I understand if maybe it looks a bit different or weird in the spreadsheet, but using calipers allows me to ensure he is getting the same exact dose every single day. Instead of trying to eyeball 0.1, which wouldn't be the exact same every time and I found difficult to eyeball in the past. The idea and execution is still the same, reducing slowly (0.25s, to 0.1, to drop), until it's only a drop dose and then trialling OTJ (if that's what his pancreas allows of course) ◡̈ hopefully my explanation makes sense, we are just trying to do the best by our boy ◡̈
 
I understand if maybe it looks a bit different or weird in the spreadsheet, but using calipers allows me to ensure he is getting the same exact dose every single day. Instead of trying to eyeball 0.1, which wouldn't be the exact same every time and I found difficult to eyeball in the past. The idea and execution is still the same, reducing slowly (0.25s, to 0.1, to drop), until it's only a drop dose and then trialling OTJ (if that's what his pancreas allows of course) ◡̈ hopefully my explanation makes sense, we are just trying to do the best by our boy ◡̈
:cat:
 
Back
Top