She's starting to come down, folks! Slowly but (hopefully) surely. I have a feeling she went into the blues last night after we went to bed, as her PM+4 was 12.1/218 which is the lowest she's had since 21st September. I'll be home this morning for testing but out all afternoon, so we'll see how she goes!
Hi Tara! If you don't see blue within 2 more cycles (total of 6 at 1.5u), I'd be inclined to go ahead and increase after those 6 consecutive cycles. From the Tight Reg sticky:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
Fingers crossed too! But it's not uncommon for a cat's blood sugar to not really move until you increase the dose and suddenly hit the sweet spot. Maybe this dose will do it, but if everything stays over 200, I wouldn't linger on it. Holding a dose that doesn't get a cat into normal numbers just allows Glucose Toxicity to take hold, then you need even more insulin to move it.
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.