10/01 WENDY = PMPS 364/ +2@300 / +3@259/ +5@292 / AMPS 304 / +2@365 / +5@316

Wendy and Eva

Member Since 2022
Wendy did well last night! I increased the dose to 4 units PM shot and we started seeing yellows!!! It's interesting that she didn't get insulin for 24 hours (due to AM "fur shot") and we saw yellows during PM cycle.

Today Wendy has eaten small meals every hour and is drinking water without laying next to the bowl. No sub-q fluids have been administered since Thursday, 09/29/2022, and seems to be doing well without. She's alert and walking around a bit, but still not active.

I took Chris's advise from my previous post. Since her PM +2 was lower (300) than the PMPS (364), I tested +3 & +5. Sure enough Chris was spot on :joyful:! Should I have tested more?

I'm not sure what to make out of all this, but it makes me happy to see that we are hitting some yellows :cat:.

Experts, your thoughts? Recommendations?

@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China (GA)

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...378-4-428-amps-367-2-398.269070/#post-3004657
 
As far a last night goes, once you see her numbers start back up and as long as you haven't given higher carb food, you are good to call it a night. Save the "testing more" for nights where she's a lot lower. I used to spend quite a bit of time staring at the spreadsheet before bed, trying to answer the question "will she be safe tonight?". I didn't want to lose sleep just for the sake of data. Wendy has also shown you that "some cats go lower at night". Good for you in getting those tests in.

You will hold this dose at least 6 cycles. Let's see what she does with it.
 
Hi Eva,

Wendy is so pretty! Lantus builds up in the subcutaneous fat and forms what is called a depot. This creates a cumulative effect so that if you miss a shot or do a furshot, the Lantus that you had been giving a few days before will still have some impact on glucose levels in the blood. So while furshots are upsetting, it's not the end of the world, and you can still get some lower numbers though the depot will have been emptied a bit because of the missed shot. Does this make sense?

Katherine
 
As far a last night goes, once you see her numbers start back up and as long as you haven't given higher carb food, you are good to call it a night. Save the "testing more" for nights where she's a lot lower. I used to spend quite a bit of time staring at the spreadsheet before bed, trying to answer the question "will she be safe tonight?". I didn't want to lose sleep just for the sake of data. Wendy has also shown you that "some cats go lower at night". Good for you in getting those tests in.

You will hold this dose at least 6 cycles. Let's see what she does with it.
That's exactly how I felt with Wendy last night! I appreciate your input.:bighug:
 
Hi Eva,

Wendy is so pretty! Lantus builds up in the subcutaneous fat and forms what is called a depot. This creates a cumulative effect so that if you miss a shot or do a furshot, the Lantus that you had been giving a few days before will still have some impact on glucose levels in the blood. So while furshots are upsetting, it's not the end of the world, and you can still get some lower numbers though the depot will have been emptied a bit because of the missed shot. Does this make sense?

Katherine
Hi Katherine,

Thank you for your nice compliment on Wendy:cat:. Yes, it sure does make sense. I appreciate you taking the time to read my post and for the information you provided.

~ Eva
 
Back
Top