10/01--PHOEBE-AMPS 183, +6.5-104, pmps 146, +4-96, pmps-198,+4-91

Hi @eva eva :) I noticed that you are using the SLGS protocol. Have you established different thresholds for shoot/no shoot or reductions? If so how did you choose these? We are also using this method so I am curious?
Thanks in advance for any ideas or advice:bighug:
 
Hi @eva eva :) I noticed that you are using the SLGS protocol. Have you established different thresholds for shoot/no shoot or reductions? If so how did you choose these? We are also using this method so I am curious?
Thanks in advance for any ideas or advice:bighug:
I have a lot of help from the experiences people who are here. One article I found was in the forum for adjusting doses. It was Q4.4 I will search it down. I have had to learn sometimes the hard way. I am also tagging the people who are my life saviors.
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom
 
I have a lot of help from the experiences people who are here. One article I found was in the forum for adjusting doses. It was Q4.4 I will search it down. I have had to learn sometimes the hard way. I am also tagging the people who are my life saviors.
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Diane Tyler's Mom
Thank you! Yes I have read that section and it does suggest flexibility in thresholds for SLGS. I have already been discussing this a bit with @tiffmaxee and I think we will sort of take things as they come and base any decisions to adjust thresholds on the data we have. It looks like Phoebe is doing great so you are definitely making good choices.

Thanks for your insights :bighug:
 
good f
Thank you! Yes I have read that section and it does suggest flexibility in thresholds for SLGS. I have already been discussing this a bit with @tiffmaxee and I think we will sort of take things as they come and base any decisions to adjust thresholds on the data we have. It looks like Phoebe is doing great so you are definitely making good choices.

Thanks for your insights :bighug:
you are welcome. I would not have been able to do it without these smart smart people. Tiffmaxee---she lives in California, Dianetyler's mom is in New Jersey, Wendy and Neko in California, Bandits mom- Mumbai, India. Suzanne and Darcy GA. So when you tag them you will know if they are up or not.
here is a thread on lows:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990

link on manipulating her curve with food
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-10-tashie-pmps-high-questions.101989/#post-1087990
 
Thank you @eva eva . The link to the thread on lows took me to the same thread as feeding the curve? Was that the correct thread?
I’ve realized I am stressing because I am going to be out of town next week and I won’t be able to help Kris or post on FDMB very much if at all. Yikes!
Thanks again :bighug:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/


I also go out of town and this thread may help you----I post on my daily that I am going out of town and need help with dosing. I draw up my glargine for my caregiver (not ideal) for all the times I will be gone. she does not test. I gave her a sheet on what to look for with a low sugar. I have also told her (and she is very good about watching Phoebe) if Phoebe is acting weird---give her 1-2 tsp of rescue food. (I use the Friskies turkey and cheese with gravy--and make sure there is gravy in the rescue food) have her eat and don't give that dose of insulin. better high than low. then she waits about an hour---(she watches tv shows) and see if phoebe is better---if not give more rescue food. no insulin that time. She also calls me where i go and tells me--she will repeatedly call me if something is wrong that is our understanding.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...61-pmps-91-1-5-129-4-225.268467/#post-3000323
 
Hi @eva eva :) I noticed that you are using the SLGS protocol. Have you established different thresholds for shoot/no shoot or reductions? If so how did you choose these? We are also using this method so I am curious?
Thanks in advance for any ideas or advice:bighug:


every time I get lows (now that I have watched her multiple times being low) I try not to panic. If it is not too low (>60-70---and that is the numbers I am ok with) I use her lc food--sprinkle a little fortiflora on it so she eats---she will eat about 1-2 tsp ---I wait 1 hour and test again. if she goes down say in the 50's----I get out the turkey and cheese friskies with gravy and she gets 1-2 teaspoons depending on how she is acting.---then I test in about half an hour----she usually goes up with the rescue food ---14% carbs----- then my next dose of her insulin I drop it by .25units. I have alot of strips ----i have maple syrup in the house---if she is down and really not being active or chirpy--she loves to chirp. I also stay up late at night to ensure she is going to be ok. Sometimes I just let her eat when it is late at night some of the Friskies turkey and gravy if she has been riding low most of the day. then i feel she is safe to go to bed.
You are not alone. if something is wrong and you need help NOW, then put on your daily thread "911" or HELP WITH LOWS" and tag several people--- I gave you some names. somebody always answers.
 
Thank you @eva eva . The link to the thread on lows took me to the same thread as feeding the curve? Was that the correct thread?
I’ve realized I am stressing because I am going to be out of town next week and I won’t be able to help Kris or post on FDMB very much if at all. Yikes!
Thanks again :bighug:
put on your SS that you are leaving in a few days. need help with dosing also. it helps to bring attention. But it is always best entered in your daily thread a few days before you leave.
 
Last edited:
@Kyle & Simon (GA)
Hey Kyle
You can pick some of these too
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
And some honey in the house

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-

Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
 
a little lc moist food at 96. early bed time.
Looking good Eva :cat:
she was so fussy by the end of the other day I had to give her a break. I get blood from her left ear, and rarely on the right.
I warm my hands i do the rice sock, I don't rub them, I have a light--not a heat lamp. but there are those times----i just can't get that drop.
 
a little lc moist food at 96. early bed time.

she was so fussy by the end of the other day I had to give her a break. I get blood from her left ear, and rarely on the right.
I warm my hands i do the rice sock, I don't rub them, I have a light--not a heat lamp. but there are those times----i just can't get that drop.
Same thing with Tyler one ear bleeds better than the other, but I still poke the ear that doesn't bleed so good and it's gotten way better
 
Same thing with Tyler one ear bleeds better than the other, but I still poke the ear that doesn't bleed so good and it's gotten way better
i have been doing that too. I try to poke at least once a day on the other ear. She almost acts like it is sensitive.....she dodges and bobs when I touch that ear.

now that i am down to .75 --is there another way to measure? It almost feels as if I i don't give any insulin now when I shoot.
 
i have been doing that too. I try to poke at least once a day on the other ear. She almost acts like it is sensitive.....she dodges and bobs when I touch that ear.

now that i am down to .75 --is there another way to measure? It almost feels as if I i don't give any insulin now when I shoot.


Hi Eva and Phoebe, I haven't been around much lately and WOW what progress for Phoebe!! Look at all that blue and green!!!! I am so excited for you both, your hard work, dedication and commitment to the process is paying off. You should be very proud!!

When we got down to under 1 unit with Hendrick, I totally felt like I wasn't even shooting any insulin at all, it's like did the plunger even move just now?? You will get used to it though. It is just a bit of an adjustment from larger doses where you can feel the plunger travel more.

Yes, there is another way to measure -- digital calipers. I never went this route but many have had success:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-with-calipers-updated-w-videos.79851/



-Kyle
 
i have been doing that too. I try to poke at least once a day on the other ear. She almost acts like it is sensitive.....she dodges and bobs when I touch that ear.

now that i am down to .75 --is there another way to measure? It almost feels as if I i don't give any insulin now when I shoot.
@eva eva
It just feels like that after 0.75 it goes down to 0.5. Then 0.25. Then 0.1
When and if you get to 0.25 and 0.1 I'll show you
I never used calipers and every thing was fine
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg
 
Last edited:
What do you mean what syringe am I using , I'm using the U-100 with half unit markings
@eva eva

I have the Sure Comfort 3/10 cc (0.3ml) short needle
the markings are a bit different.
your plunger is actually a different color---which i think would be easier for me to see. I think I may like to get your type.
 
Back
Top