? 10/01 Mačka AMPS 367, +3 353, PMPS 374 Blue last night - X-rays update: hepatomegaly?

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-29-macka-amps-414-pmps-349-3-337.219866/#post-2451819

Good day everyone!
Mačka kept me awake and went into the blues again last night. I am going to stay at this dose for another few cycles, as I have the feeling it will take him low/lower. It's tough though that it's happening at night (of course).

Today he goes to the vet to have chest x-rays done. The anesthetist that will monitor him during the dental procedure required them because of his asthma.
My vet asked that I give him a good dose of Buprenex to sedate him prior to the x-ray, and I really don't like the idea of numbing him down with medicine :( But he hates being manipulated and screaaaaaams. She says it's safe, but is it?
 
Nice to see more blues showing up on the spreadsheet.

I hope the procedure goes well. Get a test or two in after Mačka is home. Some cats tend to drop a bit lower after a vet appointment.
 
You have been on this dose for 9 cycles. More than long enough to show you that you are seeing mid blues at best. I would increase to 4.0 units. At least it’s on a line. He is just going to bounce the next couple of cycles anyway, so might as well increase.

Good luck at the vet appointment. My girl was one who liked to go lower. She was also on buprenorphine long term for arthritis pain. A one time dose should be fine. Though I am surprised the vet didn’t suggest gabapentin, which is more common to relax cats. Neko didn’t always have good vet experiences - only liked the acupuncture vet. I gave her Rescue Remedy before we went and sprayed her kennel with Feliway and that seemed to relax her.
 
Hi Penelope!
I hope all goes well at Macka's appointment. It's good to finally see some blue - little Macka wants to get used to lower numbers:cat:
Do consider increasing tonight, unless your mind is made up. He would be safe with the testing you do.
Let us know how everything goes with the vet today:)
 
It's good to finally see some blue - little Macka wants to get used to lower numbers:cat:
Do consider increasing tonight, unless your mind is made up. He would be safe with the testing you do.
He is weird in lower numbers, very agitated/irritated. I would like to go slower so that is it smoother for him. I thought eh could stay in those mid-blues for a little before diving more? That might not be how it works...

I think he is in a bounce today/tonight and I need to sleep badly, so if I increase, I'd like to do it during the day tomorrow :) But I'm very happy for him, he drinks less as a result.
 
He is weird in lower numbers, very agitated/irritated. I would like to go slower so that is it smoother for him. I thought eh could stay in those mid-blues for a little before diving more? That might not be how it works...

I think he is in a bounce today/tonight and I need to sleep badly, so if I increase, I'd like to do it during the day tomorrow :) But I'm very happy for him, he drinks less as a result.

Since he has been high for a while, it makes sense that he would feel odd in better numbers. What he feels as normal, isn't really good for him. The more he is under 200, the more he will feel like it's ok, and shouldn't bounce as much. I also understand reasoning that a slower slide into blues, then greens, might be smoother for him. However, even the SLGS protocol instructs to increase after a week, so because of that, I think it would be a good idea to go ahead and increase to 4 units on schedule.
I can fully understand why you want to increase in the AM, not PM.
I've missed you and your lovely French Kitty!
 
I thought eh could stay in those mid-blues for a little before diving more? That might not be how it works...
Correct, not the way it works. Rip off that bandaid, get him used to normal numbers as soon as possible. You just make glucose toxicity worse and have to go to an even higher dose. Neko used to play in pinks and be quiet in blues. I was so happy when she started playing in low blues and quiet in pinks.

what was the dose? Macka has arthritis too and limps, poor baby.
Dosing is in a range, and depends on weight of cat and how bad the pain is. My 14lb girl got 0.22 ml twice a day. But I have seen equally large cats on a much smaller dose.
 
I hope Macka's vet visit goes smoothly...yes, they can be vocal about their displeasure at the whole thing...but that's to be expected. Try not to let it get to you...

Hopefully the upcoming increase will help him see some lower numbers - and he'll get used to them :)
 
Just got back from the vet and saw his chest x-rays. Nothing to report! Nothing on the lungs despite his asthma. But to be honest, his asthma has been very quiet since he moved to Oregon, the pure air I suppose? ;)

Ok, I will increase tomorrow morning.
 
X-rays report update: I received the final report and they found something that worries me. (heart is good, lungs are those of an asthmatic, he has arthritis and is moderately obese, which is a shock because I find it very slim^^).
He has hepatomegaly. My vet says it's consistent with diabetes. Do you have experience with it?
Can it resolve with controlled diabetes? How bad is it for him?
 
I was reading on acromegaly, and it says that hepatomegaly and spondylosis deformans are some of the signs. Could Macka be an acro kitty?
 
Could Macka be an acro kitty?
Entirely possible, one in four diabetic cats has acromegaly. Having said that, Neko had arthritis from acromegaly but only her heart was mildly larger than normal, but she had Maine Coon in her so no surprise. The rest of her organs were fine until five years after diagnosis. I had another cat with spondylosis and larger heart, also MC cross, who was not diabetic. The only way to tell what is up is getting the IGF-1 blood test done. We don’t usually suggest getting it done until kitties get to six units. Not all acros have higher doses, but we’ve also had kitties get to almost six units, then turn it around. Of course, if you want to get it done earlier, no harm.

It is common for uncontrolled diabetics to have their liver values be off, Neko’s were to start, but her liver was normal size.

If Macka is mildly obese, you don’t need to worry so much about getting calories in him now,
 
Back
Top