10/01/18 Texas Gizmo PMPS=113, +2=142, +4.5=154, +11=83

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
09/30 +11=65

AMPS(BG)=68

No shot. Not eating good at all. Took me over 45 min to get him to eat about 1/2 last nights +4.5. He did eat his YA @ +6.5.

Gave him 1/4 mirtz and ondan @ +11.5 this morning. He also got 1/4 cerenia and 1/2 ondan yesterday afternoon @ +11.

Slowly getting his b-fast into him. Going on 20+ min now.
 
Need some advise. I am confused. On Tanya's site it says you shouldn't give Cerenia and Amlodipine together. I have been.

Why? Now I am stressed about it.

Not sure who can answer this @Wendy&Neko ?

http://www.felinecrf.org/hypertension.htm#amlodipine_interactions

Cerenia should not be used concomitantly with Ca-channel antagonists as maropitant has affinity to Ca-channels." The University of Zürich Institute for Veterinary Pharmacology and Toxicologyalso mentions this (in German). In principle this means that amlodipine should not be used with maropitant (Cerenia), a treatment used for nausea and vomiting. 'Concomitantly' has a rather vague medical meaning in that it means during the same time period, but in this context I don't know exactly what time period the EMA is referring to, i.e. do they mean at the same time or on the same day? Both of these medications tend to be given once daily, so they have a relatively long effect. Maybe giving them both on the same day but 12 hours apart (i.e. one in the morning and one in the evening) would probably be acceptable, but check with your vet or pharmacist.
 
Sorry, I never gave amoplodipine, so don't know about any restrictions on it. Neko did not have high BP. Googling says not to give it if there are liver issues, same precaution as Cerenia. Question for your vet?
 
Sorry, I never gave amoplodipine, so don't know about any restrictions on it. Neko did not have high BP. Googling says not to give it if there are liver issues, same precaution as Cerenia. Question for your vet?
Thanks. I tagged you in the hope you might know someone that did give both. I discovered the conflict about 5 min before I was running out the door. I will give BP and ondan med as soon as I get home and then the cerenia tomorrow AM. Then going forward cerenia in the AM and BP meds in the PM.

I know I can't be the only one that is giving both.

He is eating but very, very slow. He ate 100% of PS, 80% +2.5, 100% +4.5 and 100% of the YA @ +6.5 but several trips to the food to get it all eaten.

This has to be a panc flare. My plan is cerenia and ondan for the remainder if the week. Pain meds as needed if he is eating.
 
I did give both to Trixie at the same time, in the same gelcap. I have to admit, though, I honestly cannot remember if I discussed this with my vet or not - but I think I probably did. In any event, she didn't seem to have any issues with taking them together - her BP was well-controlled and from what I could tell, the cerenia was working, too. She was on cerenia every day for quite some time...probably over a year. Still, I would probably discuss with your vet, just for peace of mind.
 
Numbers look good, though, Lizzie.
The not eating is such an awful drama. I hate giving Girlie Mirtazapine, but I give her a tiny dose because otherwise she'll decide sunning herself on the verandah is more interesting than eating. Sigh.
Pancreatitis is awful: I'm so sorry you and Gizmo keep having repeat dramas with that!
 
Oh Lizzie, just seeing this now. Had a very late night last night ( actually up till 1 AM this morning ) Good decision not to shoot this AM in light of number and not eating well.

Sorry, I do not know anything about amoplodipine and it's contraindications.

Sending appy vines and hope that he is eating better for you tonight?
 
He seems a bit better tonight. Could just be the mirtz but he did end up eating all his AM cycle fudz and all his PMPS dinner. He got lovins and his evening brushing.

Very surprised with the PMPS #. I even put a tablespoon of MC gravy in +2.5 & +4.5 AM food.

Will be getting +2 in just a little bit.
 
Last night at +4 he was 63 and refused all food. Even HC gravy. I chased him around with a bowl for 45 min. He ate maybe 1/2 his regular food coated in some HC gravy. That is the primary reason for the complete skip vs. token dose this morning.
 
Last night at +4 he was 63 and refused all food. Even HC gravy. I chased him around with a bowl for 45 min. He ate maybe 1/2 his regular food coated in some HC gravy. That is the primary reason for the complete skip vs. token dose this morning.
Ugh. Sending appy vines! Nothing worse.
 
Back
Top