? 1 unit or 1/2 unit..

Status
Not open for further replies.

LittleRoo

Member Since 2017
The past 2 days Little Roo's PM + numbers ran pretty low. I called my vet and said I want to lower her usual dose of 1 unit to 1/2 unit (eyeballing) starting tonight. He said to go ahead and try it for one week and see how she does. I just PMPS tested her and I had my first magenta color of 328! That's high for me home testing on Relion.

Thinking the 1/2 dose is not going to happen tonight. Back to 1 unit?

Thoughts?

PS. she just finished turkey dinner but is meowing a bit - either cause she's so high or needing attention.. not sure.

:banghead:
 
How long ago did she eat?

PMPS at 8:45pm was 328. Feed her Friskies right after. (plus she had a 6pm wet food FF snack.) I retested BG at 9:25pm (+.45) and BG was lower: 306.
I ended up giving her 0.5 Unit (1/2).
 
I agree that most likely she went too low during the day today, and that high number is her body's panic response to going too low. We can't know that for sure since there wasn't a mid-cycle test, but it is a fairly common pattern when a kitty gets more insulin than they needed. It's great that you lowered the dose tonight. Please keep an eye on her and grab a before bed test tonight. She may stay high during this cycle which is fairly common after a "bounce", but better safe than sorry. Let us know if you have any questions about all of that!
 
I'm going to sleep soon. If you see this, I'm very concerned that your kitty has had almost a 50% drop in two hours. I would strongly recommend that you stay up a bit longer (if you weren't already planning on it) and get some more tests in tonight.

Do you know what to do if she goes below 50? Do you have high carb food at home?
 
I'm going to sleep soon. If you see this, I'm very concerned that your kitty has had almost a 50% drop in two hours. I would strongly recommend that you stay up a bit longer (if you weren't already planning on it) and get some more tests in tonight.

Do you know what to do if she goes below 50? Do you have high carb food at home?

I'm still up. Waiting for my +3 at 12:30 am. I have HC wet food and Karo plus Temptation treats and HG dry.. Hope she doesn't go below 50. I'm so tired and have to go to sleep soon and work tomorrow. Poor little girl... :( Hope we don't go into hypo now..
 
Just regular. Please get some sleep. If she wakes you up during the night, pay attention, but otherwise sleep well. I'm headed that way and a bit over-tired myself tonight.

Just saw your post about the +4. Of course it's a good way to ensure she's safe, but also please take care of yourself. Maybe set an alarm and get some sleep between now and then?
 
Feed Roo a big bowl of Friskies wet. She did't eat all of it but ate a lot and boy was she ravenous and hungry!!
Then I tested her:
+4 Relion 189
+4 AlphaTrak 298

Numbers are going up!
Thinking mommy can go to bed now for a bit.. Zzzzzzzz
 
Great job last night! This is a great example of why we don't increase the dose based on randomly higher PS number. A bounce PS number is kind of an "inflated" number so she did very well with 0.5U. Also, don't get caught up in the ReliOn and AT2 numbers, you'll go nuts :rolleyes:. I usually only pull mine out if my boy gives me a 60 on the ReliON or less.

Curious to see what her AMPS is today! I think we still have 30 minutes :bookworm:
 
Little Roo's mom is happy right now seeing these much better numbers today/tonight so far! (1/2 dose ProZinc insulin now.)

AMPS 196
+4 was 168
+9.50 was 216
PMPS 226
+2 was 219
+3 was 175

Mom may get some much needed sleep tonight! Hope she keeps this up! Thinking the 1/2 dose is serving her much better!!!!
Time will tell! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top