1 Oct | Girlie +3=43/36; 40; 58; +4.5=74

I believe it is 3 times under 50 for a long term diabetic or one drop under 40. With going back to work tomorrow and the 40 today,
I would probably take a reduction, but see what others say.
 
I believe it is 3 times under 50 for a long term diabetic or one drop under 40. With going back to work tomorrow and the 40 today,
I would probably take a reduction, but see what others say.
You're right! :bighug: I just checked the TR protocol page. I wasn't sure about the test strips, so I opened a new bottle after she got the 43 and she was 36, but that was before she got the 14% gravy, 16% gravy, and now 9% (which she then walked away from!) - cat! Sigh...:banghead:

I think I might take her down to 2 drops tonight and see how she goes. She's at 0.1 now, so I'm not sure whether I'd go back down to 2 drops or to 1 drop. Sigh! The drama of tiny doses...
 
Better safe than too low. Take a look at what I have been doing with Gizmo's dosing.

Hi Lizzie,

I looked at Gizmo's SS, but I don't know what the caliper numbers equate to... I use the insulin ruler, so if I have to go down from 0.1, then it's to either 2 drops (which is roughly half of 0.1) or 1 drop. It seems like you can go down tiny amounts using the calipers, though! Is that it?
 
Good luck with the reduction. The TR protocol says reduce under 40 for long term diabetics, full stop. There is a method of doing three under 50 that can be used for kitties that fail reductions. Many caregivers of long term diabetics have adopted this as an alternative for reductions. Full disclosure, as Neko was an acrocat and generally held her reductions, I reduced at 50, even over time, but depending on her dose, might reduce by smaller amounts. Lesson, learn what works for your cat.
 
Good luck with the reduction. The TR protocol says reduce under 40 for long term diabetics, full stop. There is a method of doing three under 50 that can be used for kitties that fail reductions. Many caregivers of long term diabetics have adopted this as an alternative for reductions. Full disclosure, as Neko was an acrocat and generally held her reductions, I reduced at 50, even over time, but depending on her dose, might reduce by smaller amounts. Lesson, learn what works for your cat.

Thanks for that, Wendy. :-)
 
Back
Top