? 1 August Tucker AMPS: 16.7 (307)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Tucker is still not looking right. He drank a huge bowl of water overnight and this morning he looks out of it and not social at all, the last time he was like this was in March when I took him to the vet and he was diagnosed. It's very sad. I did a keto check last night and it was negative.
 
Tucker is not liking the higher numbers after getting back to lower numbers again.
Well done on getting a ketone test last night and great it was negative.
I would stick with the 2.5 units this morning and that will be 6 cycles after the low green number.
See how he goes today and he can increase with tonight’s dose.
ETA. I see @Wendy&Neko have posted. I think that is probably a good idea
 
@Bron and Sheba I looked at the SS and the numbers look to be rising over time, which can be an indication of a failed reduction. Bounce numbers can bobble around a bit, which Tucker's numbers are not.
 
Ok, I am going to do the 3. His eyes look so out of it and he is just flat. Teddy and Daisy both cuddled up next to him during the night and this morning both were bathing him, they know he isn't feeling well. It's so sad. Hopefully this will help a little bit!
 
@Bron and Sheba I looked at the SS and the numbers look to be rising over time, which can be an indication of a failed reduction. Bounce numbers can bobble around a bit, which Tucker's numbers are not.
@Wendy&Neko
Yes, you are right re the numbers in the SS. We are a bit isolated down here for several hours (mainly around the PMPS) so it is really good if others can look in when they are awake. I did wonder about a failed reduction last night so it is really good you explained how to spot the difference with the way the numbers behave between a bounce and a failed reduction. I try and follow the protocol when helping but we know Tucker was not following the rule book for several days. Hopefully will get back to into good numbers now. Thanks
 
Following new thread now. What would really help with all these condos (for all owners) is for them to post a link to the new thread, in the old thread.

Tucker may take a bit to adjust. Since we know he was at a higher number, it might be good to do increases by 0.5. After he is at 3.0 for 6 doses. But I might get strung up for that comment. :eek:
 
Leo and Little Dude - going swimming 07-31-2018.JPG
 
Following new thread now. What would really help with all these condos (for all owners) is for them to post a link to the new thread, in the old thread.

Tucker may take a bit to adjust. Since we know he was at a higher number, it might be good to do increases by 0.5. After he is at 3.0 for 6 doses. But I might get strung up for that comment. :eek:
It would be super helpful if there was a thread in the 'how to' section that says how to do the housekeeping items like, "How to tag someone in a thread" or "How to link the previous days condo to the new one". I think I have read these things somewhere, and I know I have asked and been told....but to be perfectly honest I don't know where that information was found and I would have to go searching for them. There is so much to learn and for people who are not super tech savvy like myself, it would be helpful if they were on a short sticky. (Or, you know, you could tell me (again) how to link to the new thread and this time I'll try to write it down so I don't forget!)
 
It's 2pm now and Tucker is finally looking less glassy-eyed. His eyes are normally so bright, it is painfully obvious when he is feeling unwell. His BG had creeped back down a little bit to 16. He has had a bit of chicken and is playing chasey with Teddy, so that's a huge relief for his momma.
 
It is good that Tucker hit some yellow today and seems to be better.

To tag someone
type "@" and their name, such as
@JeffJ - great, I just tagged myself:eek:, now I'll have to reflect on that:D

The forum protocol request that the first post has a link to the previous day. Somewhat useful. For cats like Tucker, that I follow, it is nicer to have a link at the last post "here is the new thread".

It is easy to post a link. Just go to the top of the browser, copy it, then type it into the thread. Like this:
July 31 Tucker was http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/31-july-tucker-amps-21-2-382.200361/
July 28 Tucker was http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dose-advice-please-20-7-tucker-amps.200321/
 
Ohhh, ok, gotcha. Even I can do that :p (maybe).
Tucker has perked up as the day has gone on. It is +11 and a bit, I have to leave to train a team in a few minutes so had to do his test a little bit early. He is bouncing around with Teddy and Daisy playing kitty chasey because his BG is 11.3 and he is feeling much better.
 
I am assuming I will stick to 3 units for the next 5 shots to see how he goes?
Just to explain why we hold the dose for 6 cycles - it is so the depot can fill and stabilize on the new dose. Some kitties (Gizmo for example) can take up to 8 but 6 cycles usually will show you what they are going to do number wise on the new dose.

Don't know if that helps or not, but in the beginning I didn't understand a lot of they "whys" and it just made it more frustrating. There is just a lot to learn and understand (and apply). You are dong fantastic! :bighug:
 
Wow, Tucker got down to 6.1 (US 110) at PMPS +4 on the new lower dose. That is really great.
 
Wow, Tucker got down to 6.1 (US 110) at PMPS +4 on the new lower dose. That is really great.
Hey Jeff, It's 1:30 am and I just did a test on Tucker. Since he was down to 6 at +4 (10pm), I was worried that he could drop too low so waited another 3.5 hours to do another test. He is at 6.4, so basically holding steady since 10pm. Do you think it is safe for me to go to bed at this point or do you think I should give him some food or what? It's 4 hours until his morning test, and he does drop late in the cycle sometimes. So I would just like to have you take a peek at his SS and weigh in if you have the time? Thank you!
 
He is safe. You could give him a bit of regular food to tide him over. He doesn't need karo or special food. He is at a perfect value right now.

I hope you are still up. I just did my swim workout.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top