1 Aug Girlie Now on TR: AMPS 650; +4=383; +6=122; +8 229: safe to leave her for 2 hours?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/31-july-girlie-amps-682-increase-dose.181507/

Decided to start TR today as still off work, so increased Lantus from 0.25 to 0.5

AMPS: 650
+2=655
+4=383
+6=122

It's good to see her climbing down from the blacks into the blues, but I have to head out for two hours at +8, so I hope she's started to climb a bit by then! I probably should have waited until tomorrow to start...

I gave her 2 tsps of HC (14 carb) Fancy Feast, so I hope that will bump her up a little bit.

I hope TR will be okay for her! Preparing to be brave here for upcoming lower numbers... :nailbiting:
 
That is a 500+ drop since giving the increased shot. Is it possible to get a test or two in before you have to go out to see if the HC is doing its job?
 
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/31-july-girlie-amps-682-increase-dose.181507/

Decided to start TR today as still off work, so increased Lantus from 0.25 to 0.5

AMPS: 650
+2=655
+4=383
+6=122

It's good to see her climbing down from the blacks into the blues, but I have to head out for two hours at +8, so I hope she's started to climb a bit by then! I probably should have waited until tomorrow to start...

I gave her 2 tsps of HC (14 carb) Fancy Feast, so I hope that will bump her up a little bit.

I hope TR will be okay for her! Preparing to be brave here for upcoming lower numbers... :nailbiting:
Yes - a bit scary to see that big a drop so quickly! Amazing how much difference a little extra insulin can make (plus whatever was happening in the last few days). I know blues are good, but it's the size of the drop that worries me.

If she's not up by +8, I'm wondering whether I should cancel my physio appointment. But I'm not sure what she should be up to to leave her safely. What do you think?
 
I would keep testing, if she starts going up than it probably will continue to go up. With that much of a drop, she will probably bounce. Get a couple BGs in before you go.
 
That is a 500+ drop since giving the increased shot. Is it possible to get a test or two in before you have to go out to see if the HC is doing its job?
Yes, a big drop. I just tested her: +7 = 139. I wonder if I should give her some more HC just to make sure she keeps going up?
 
@Wendy&Neko
Given the big drop, I thought I'd ask in advance: what would be too low to shoot tonight - what would be the cutoff for her now to give a) no insulin or b) reduced insulin given how she dived after her AMPS? I don't know if she'll dive after her PM shot, but just thought I'd ask in case you're still up... :-)
 
Given the big drop, I thought I'd ask in advance: what would be too low to shoot tonight - what would be the cutoff for her now to give a) no insulin or b) reduced insulin given how she dived after her AMPS? I don't know if she'll dive after her PM shot, but just thought I'd ask in case you're still up... :)
Probably a moot point given the direction she's going. :rolleyes: On this forum, we suggest that for the first few times under 150, you do not feed and post for help asking what to do. Above 150 - SHOOOOOOT! Those with experience and lots of data will shoot as low as 50 on TR, but we expect you will work your way down there gradually.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top