1/9 Tiki - +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35, +4 46, +4.5 45

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/9 Tiki - AMPS 256

Hi guys .. looks like a sunny start to the day for tiki, not bad .. maybe some blues later on? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - AMPS 256, +3 198, +6 91,

Very nice green, Tiki....now surf!!

BTW....we're trying to get as many beans as possible to do profiles for their kitties. It really helps to know kitty's background, meds, etc and the profile allows us to access all of that quickly.

I know you are busy, but if you could please take 20-30 mins to do the profile, we would be extremely grateful. Please PM me if you need any assistance at all....it looks like a lot of steps but that's just to break it down...it goes relatively fast. Here's the link:

Profile

Thank you!! :-D :-D
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - +9 102, +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

tonya-

i'd put "SHOOT ???" In the subject line of your first post...

and WOW! lovely, Tiki!
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - +9 102, +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84,

Have you read through the Shooting and Handling Low Numberssticky?

I see you have been here before and skipped. When you skip, Tiki usually ends up in pink, so that doesn't seem to be the best solution. It looks like Tiki is trying to flatten out in nice numbers, but all the skipped shots are depleting the shed. The thing about depleting the shed is that if Tiki is meant to earn a dose reduction, if you skip and deplete the shed, you won't see the numbers that would "earn" a dose reduction. That can result in the cat becoming over dose.

Are you able to get a +1 and +2 tonight? Would you be able to monitor later if needed? Do you have high carb wet food on hand just in case? It looks like Tiki usually doesn't keep dropping after +12, but just surfs. Usually surfs are fine to shoot because you'll be feeding and then the numbers will probably flatten out. If they don't flatten out, then you can always feed high carb food to bump them up a bit.

It's time to start studying others' spreadsheets to see what can happen when they learn to shoot lower. My Lucy is a good example.

Is it +12 yet?
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

It's +12 right now. I have been discussing shooting these low numbers with some other's (Sienne and Dyana) for exactly the reason you state. I can monitor all night, not a problem. I just bought more strips tonight and have high carb (gravy lover's FF) on hand. Would rather not wait as that just pushes the morning shot time off which I really can't do.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

Libby and Lucy said:
The thing about depleting the shed is that if Tiki is meant to earn a dose reduction, if you skip and deplete the shed, you won't see the numbers that would "earn" a dose reduction. That can result in the cat becoming over dose.

I don't understand "earning a dose reduction."
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

Tight Regulation Protocol for Lantus and Levemir
In our protocol, doses are reduced when a cat dips below 50 (for newly diagnosed cats) or 40 (for longer term diabetics or those that don't tend to hold their reductions well). A dose can also be reduced when a cat maintains numbers mostly in the normal range (generally under 120) for 7 days.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

if you shoot, then feed as usual and get a +1 and +2. Those will give you a hint as to what you can expect for the rest of the cycle. It gives you control, because you'll know where she is and you can steer the cycle with food if you need to.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

So would I shoot the regular amount? 2.5? Also how do you feed? Would I just give him his regular dinner and then supplement with HC if needed? Would I give him LESS of his regular dinner in case I need him to EAT the HC instead?
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

I would feed normally. If you do need to give HC later, he'll eat it (almost all cats loooooooove the gravy).
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +10.5 72, +11 81, +11.5 84, PMBG (+12

Ok wait, I just tested him again and he is down to 73. Does that change anything???
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - Shoot?? +12 80, 12.5 73

it's still basically a surf, so as long as you're comfortable it is shootable. It might just be dropping because it's time to eat!
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73 - First shot when BG was this low!!!

Ok Big Girl Britches are on! I shot under 100....

Excuse me while I go throw up now...... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73 - First shot when BG was this low!!!

no worries, just test at +1. If you're nervous, test at +0.5. Then you'll know what's going on.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73 - First shot when BG was this low!!!

I know, I know! But it still feels like jumping off a cliff!!!
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64,

+1 is at 64. Should I be nervous? And where will they be when I should start to panic???

So far he is acting normal.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48,

ok, there's the reduction.

Now you can feed 2 tsp of gravy from high carb food. I would test in 20-30 minutes to be sure that gave her a bump. And she has earned a reduction to 2.25 tomorrow! But please check back in in 20-30 minutes.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47,

+2 @ 47, with very little HC food. He mostly licked the gravy. Didn't seem to like it much. It's gravy lovers chicken feast and he usually LOVES anything chicken.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47,

I would give some more gravy and test again in 20-30 minutes. Would he eat it better if you put some gravy on top of a bit of his regular food? Or do you have any different flavors of gravy food you can try?
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47,

The gravy is where the carbs are so that's ok, but since the numbers are pretty much the same, you might want to see if you can get him to lick a little more. You don't want to give him to much because you don't want him full, but you want to see the number rising.

eta: good to see Libby did get back on while I was typing :smile:
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47,

Duh....was feeding him a gravy lovers salmon feast. No wonder he wasn't diggin' it. Whoops.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47,

oops on the food. :lol:

so is it about +3? How about another serving of HC? He has stopped dropping, but it would be good to get him bumped up a little more so he can surf easily.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35,

The Gravy Lover's FF IS HC right??? He is now down to 35. Just ate some more LC dinner but is seemingly acting normal.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35,

how about mixing a drop of karo into the gravy? Let's get him up a bit more.

The Gravy Lovers is probably 15-16% carb.
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35, +4 46,

good that he is acting fine and good that he got a bump in numbers. Was that with karo or just gravy?

I'm looking to get him over 60 with a couple of rising numbers before bed. How about more gravy. Adding a drop or two of karo won't hurt.

Great job tonight!
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35, +4 46,

The bump was with CHICKEN gravy (lol) which he gobbled up, but I've put the rest of it out for him to eat and he hasn't touched it. BUT he did go back to his regular LC dinner (so I added some karo to that and mixed it with some water but he senses something funny and hasn't eaten it since I added the Karo). He usually only nibbles so he has eaten a lot in the last few hrs so he may just be full.

He is definitely acting normal - he has chased the dog from under the bed and ran around the living room after a laser pointer so he is definitely feeling his oats. LOL
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35, +4 46,

Not to be getting ahead of myself, but any good advice about what to do come morning? I have to work and wont be around all day and I haven't been too impressed with the manipulation of the BG's from his HC food. I am surely not the first person to deal with low #'s AND a job. How do most people handle it?
 
Re: 1/9 Tiki - PMPS 73, +1 64, +1.5 48, +2 47, +3 35, +4 46,

take it easy with the play. Sometimes running around a lot can make the BGs lower. I don't know why.

He should be starting upward any time now. We just have to hold him up until he starts to get a decent rise. If he won't eat the LC with karo, then I guess LC without karo is better. I would prefer to see him out of the 40s. Lucy was always one who liked to surf in the 40s (and sometimes she tried to surf 30s!). She was always totally fine, but it's nice to have a cushion in the numbers. 50s are better and 60s are better yet.
 
Tiki is being stubborn tonight!

Are you ok doing this on your own? I have to get up in a few hours. Just lather, rinse, repeat until he gets above 60. You might as well keep using gravy if he likes it. There's no harm in it and it seems like he needs the carbs tonight. When Lucy used to do this, when I got tired I would give her a good sized glop of gravy and then test in 20 minutes and again in another 20 minutes. If both of those were rising, I would hit the hay. I would also leave out more HC when I went to bed. If #'s are high in the morning, oh well... DOn't forget to reduce the dose in the AM.
 
Yes I am ok...He is acting normal which makes me feel better so go ahead and get some sleep. Thank you SOOO SOOOOOO SOOOOOOOO much for hanging out with me tonight for my first shot in the greens! I'll reduce the amount to 2.25 tomorrow morning (ahem, today!).
 
I wish the cats would pay more attention to the clock. :roll: It's not usually this hard to keep the numbers up, it just means that he was really ready for this dose reduction. This is all really good, though. Tiki is starting to flatten out in more normal numbers. He has been under renal threshhold almost all the time for days. He's doing really well (and so are you).

Night!
 
Libby and Lucy said:
I wish the cats would pay more attention to the clock. :roll: It's not usually this hard to keep the numbers up, it just means that he was really ready for this dose reduction. This is all really good, though. Tiki is starting to flatten out in more normal numbers. He has been under renal threshhold almost all the time for days. He's doing really well (and so are you).

Night!

What is a renal threshold?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top