1/9 Ozzy AMPS 219, +2 199, +4.5 185, PMPS 292, +2 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozzy Pawzbourne

Member Since 2016
Yesterday

Ohh..an even lower pre-shot number this AM. Wow. Didn't expect that. Still hold dose 1.25U? Can only grab a +1 and then out the door. What do you think?
 
How soon before shooting should I post for dosing advice? So I know for next time and can get some feedback before it's too late??? I am actually nervous about 1.25u this morning since I am not able to monitor....:nailbiting: Will try to see if Hubby can get a +1 now because I won't be able to.
 
How soon before shooting should I post for dosing advice? So I know for next time and can get some feedback before it's too late??? I am actually nervous about 1.25u this morning since I am not able to monitor....:nailbiting: Will try to see if Hubby can get a +1 now because I won't be able to.
Jo, I post one full hour, at +11, for eyes on Elmo ....gives an hour for anyone to give advice...then go with my gut...is anyone on u could tag ???
 
You might want to start getting a +11 and posting that with a follow up of the AMPS number. That will tell us if he's rising or dropping and can help with extra time for dose advise.
 
Gave him what looked like a hair over 1U. Not sure if it was 1.25

Posting a +11 is a good idea. But not sure if I can do that every day. I barely get home through the door at +12 and then now would have to wake up a whole other hour earlier in am...- my whole schedule is just jacked right now. :(:(:(Sorry ranting...it's Monday and my friggen roof is leaking and Hubby is being a SUPER CRAB about it,
We will figure it out.
Hope you guys have a good day!
 
Last edited:
Is anyone going to be around in the middle of the cycle, or just the +1? You always have the option of leaving some food out to keep him from dropping too low when you won't be around. 219 isn't too low to shoot, but I definitely understand why you are nervous after the other day's drop when he started at 284! Keep in mind, he's starting to get used to the lower numbers now, so that might help to make whatever drop he does today less precipitous.

It really is so stressful when you have to shoot and go to work. Hopefully someone can give you a specific plan for the day so that you won't be too worried at work.
 
Will leave him some food in feeder= but he doesn't always go and get it on his own.

Today is starting out as a mess....I gotta go. I'm going to be late for work and already going to miss an 8am meeting. Hubby is stressing me over the roof thing. I just spent over $10K since Sept with my kitty in DKA and a large car repair. I'm not looking forward to spending more money for a roof repair and just want Hubby to go do something about it.
 
Will leave him some food in feeder= but he doesn't always go and get it on his own.

Many cats will get hungrier when they start to go low (lucky for us-- it helps if you have to do a lot of steering to have a cat who is interested in food!), so likely he'll do some self-regulating if it comes to that.

Major bummer about the roof-- these kinds of expenses always seem to cluster together, don't they? :banghead:
 
You might want to start getting a +11 and posting that with a follow up of the AMPS number. That will tell us if he's rising or dropping and can help with extra time for dose advise.
This is what I do during the work week. I test Gizmo before I even pee in the morning - haha. It does give you a good indication what is going on with the numbers when you do the PS test - (don't use my condo today as an indicator of this though :p) - but for the most part it will help a lot.
 
Gave him what looked like a hair over 1U. Not sure if it was 1.25

Posting a +11 is a good idea. But not sure if I can do that every day. I barely get home though the door at +12 and then now would have to wake up a whole other hour earlier in am...- my whole schedule is just jacked right now. :(:(:(Sorry ranting...it's Monday and my friggen roof is leaking and Hubby is being a SUPER CRAB about it,
We will figure it out.
Hope you guys have a good day!
No, not a rant ...just gotta let off steam:bighug: it will work itself out day by day...I am a " have it all figured out now" kinda person so I encourage from that vantage point....all is well, Jo, all is well...leaky roof is a pile on :mad:
 
Will leave him some food in feeder= but he doesn't always go and get it on his own.

Today is starting out as a mess....I gotta go. I'm going to be late for work and already going to miss an 8am meeting. Hubby is stressing me over the roof thing. I just spent over $10K since Sept with my kitty in DKA and a large car repair. I'm not looking forward to spending more money for a roof repair and just want Hubby to go do something about it.
Hear and feel for you, Jo:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:....... sending thots and prayers of peace to you...bless ur heart:bighug:
 
I just do the +11 for the a.m. cycle. Even if it is 30-45 min before PS test it will give you some idea of number movement (up/down/even). I keep my spare (2nd) meter and lancet devise in the master bedroom (upstairs) so it is handy.

You will figure out your schedule. I am right at 3 months and feel like I finally have the new routine down. I am doing everything possible to make it as streamline as possible. Any thing you can do to make the tfs time as short and smooth as possible the easier I have found it - there is nothing you can do about low PS numbers though :D.

Seems like DHubby's are in the dog house big time today (see my condo for my rant) :p.
 
I just do the +11 for the a.m. cycle. Even if it is 30-45 min before PS test it will give you some idea of number movement (up/down/even). I keep my spare (2nd) meter and lancet devise in the master bedroom (upstairs) so it is handy.

You will figure out your schedule. I am right at 3 months and feel like I finally have the new routine down. I am doing everything possible to make it as streamline as possible. Any thing you can do to make the tfs time as short and smooth as possible the easier I have found it - there is nothing you can do about low PS numbers though :D.

Seems like DHubby's are in the dog house big time today (see my condo for my rant) :p.
Hey Lizzie, so glad you can give experience backed advice to Jo:bighug:. All I can do is momma cheers and at-a-boys from the sideline:). So so glad you and Jo have connected !!!!:bighug:
 
Hear and feel for you, Jo:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:....... sending thots and prayers of peace to you...bless ur heart:bighug:
Thank you Beth! I got pretty teary eyed this morning (and I'm not one of the crying types really) - was just really frustrated over things out of my control. I really truly appreciate your kind words. I want you to know they really did make me feel better. :)
 
Thank you Beth! I got pretty teary eyed this morning (and I'm not one of the crying types really) - was just really frustrated over things out of my control. I really truly appreciate your kind words. I want you to know they really did make me feel better. :)
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:......cyber hugs from fly -over country:);):rolleyes:
 
+11.5=292. Kind of suprised since his last preshots were lower and he was doing good this afternoon. Maybe he is "wobbling" in the bounce still?
 
Should I test him again right at +12? Not sure that will make much of a difference in half hour. Save him from an ear-pokey?
 
+11.5=292. Kind of suprised since his last preshots were lower and he was doing good this afternoon. Maybe he is "wobbling" in the bounce still?
I have no advice for you but just wanted to say I know exactly how you feel. I think we started on insulin around the same time. I'm not the crying type either but Glen made me want to pull my hair out and I was teary more than once. I'm super stressed about his sugars and don't want to leave him alone. I really feel like my life has been hijacked and times he doesn't do what I want him to when I do everything "right".
It is frustrating when you try so hard to do the right things and it doesn't work out as planned.
I also felt that there wasn't anyone that felt or had felt how I did. It feels really lonely. I love Glen to pieces and only want him to be happy and healthy.

I just wanted to let you know that I know how you feel and wish you and ozzy the best!
 
Hey there Looks LIKe he is still bouncing from those nice greens on JAN 7TH It can take 3 days or 6 cycle to clear and they can wobble some . Looks like he is all ready clearing the bounce.
 
+11.5=292. Kind of suprised since his last preshots were lower and he was doing good this afternoon. Maybe he is "wobbling" in the bounce still?
Hey Jo...not sure if this will apply to Ozzy but Elmo has been lower at PS than at +11 an hour (ish) earlier...weird huh??
 
Hey there Looks LIKe he is still bouncing from those nice greens on JAN 7TH It can take 3 days or 6 cycle to clear and they can wobble some . Looks like he is all ready clearing the bounce.
So tomorrow AM will be the 6th cycle since his green/blue day (ahhh..that was so nice!). So what should we expect in the next cycles if he is like 'most' cats?

I understand the bounce phenomena pretty well (higher numbers that follow after 1. dropping fast, 2. dropping low, or 3. dropping lower than kitty is normally used to, or any combo of the 3), but what does it mean exactly to 'clear' the bounce? What comes next? Should I expect to see similar numbers as the day of the low cycle, higher numbers, lower numbers? Sorry, I know no one has a crystal ball here; but it seems the Ladies of Lantus understand patterns very well so I'm curious what typical patterns follow "clearing a bounce"?

I don't claim to be 'studying' the SS of others, but I honestly look at almost every single SS that I come across in reading these threads and have looked at dozens already. From what I can see, most people end up reducing their kitty's dose after clearing a bounce. Does that sound correct? I see this mostly when kitty goes super low and then 'earns' a dose reduction. Do you guys/gals think Ozzy earned a dose reduction from his 53 on 1/7/17? We steered with food, so I don't know how low he would have gone on his own without intervention. Don't we want to see those types of green numbers (above 50)?

Another question: I don't understand why on the SLGS protocol we reduce a dose if you see a nadir under 90? If the high end of the BG spectrum is 120 for a normal kitty, then that's only 30 points difference from the high end, and 40 points difference from the low end. Shouldn't we want to see kitty lower than 90 normally? Wouldn't we be keeping kitty hyperglycemic if we keep his nadir above 90- which means he is higher for the rest of the cycle? Wouldn't this be underdosing? I have read the dosing instructions for both SLGS and TR protocols, but they seem to be initial instructions only. Are we just supposed to post and ask for advice after we have reached the initial goals of which ever protocol we are using? Due to my demanding schedule, I sometimes have little time to post and get advice before I have to shoot and leave for work. Having some additional written guidelines for next steps after initial goals are met would be helpful for people like me.

Tagging the Wise Ladies of Lantus @Jill & Alex (GA) @Marje and Gracie @Chris & China @Critter Mom @MrWorfMen's Mom @Gill & George for their guidance/feedback when they have time. Any/all feedback is welcome!

Thanks!
 
Most people who do SLGS do it because they can't test as often as we'd really like to be able to keep their cat safe, so the 90 is there for safety reasons

Let's see what tomorrow's AM cycle looks like before trying to decide what to do next.....some cats wait until that last moment to clear their bounces but boy when they do!!!...Watch out!!
 
I have no advice for you but just wanted to say I know exactly how you feel. I think we started on insulin around the same time. I'm not the crying type either but Glen made me want to pull my hair out and I was teary more than once. I'm super stressed about his sugars and don't want to leave him alone. I really feel like my life has been hijacked and times he doesn't do what I want him to when I do everything "right".
It is frustrating when you try so hard to do the right things and it doesn't work out as planned.
I also felt that there wasn't anyone that felt or had felt how I did. It feels really lonely. I love Glen to pieces and only want him to be happy and healthy.

I just wanted to let you know that I know how you feel and wish you and ozzy the best!
Islandmomma, this post really touched me and really resonates with me right now. Thank you so much!

Yes, it does seem we both started our kitties on insulin around the same time and we have experienced similar frustrations. I share your sentiment that in our 'real' lives, it seems like most people don't understand how we feel when it comes to this situation. I tried to explain to a co-worker what I was going through yesterday and she replied 'that's a lot of work just for a cat'. I then tried to explain to her that I've had Ozzy for over 8 years (and Figgie for over 13) and they are members of our family. Are we to just turn our back to them when they come down with a health problem? It is stressful because it is 'a cat' vs 'a human', but we do love them similarly and would do anything to help them/make them happy.

I admit that I am a bit of a spocker on this site and like to look at everyone's SS and sometimes their beginning posts so I can see the initial issues they presented with as well as their kitties' progress. I read about some of the personal health problems you posted about and wanted to say that I hope everything is going well in that area and I am so sorry you have gone through what you have gone through. I could not even imagine. You are a very strong woman and I admire that!

I noticed your kitty has already started an OTJ trial! Wow.... I don't know what it is when I look at all these SSs but I see a lot of them where kitty is in the red and black and then a few days later- BOOM- OTJ trial. I wish my kitty was in that situation (well not the red/black). I also notice this tends to happen with folks who are giving larger doses. Not that I'm just going to jump Ozzy up to 2U right now...but I do "see" that in some cases. I don't know what to make of it, but I'm super hopeful to both you and your little Glen. Fingers/Paws crossed for both of you. I'll be following your journey and hopeful for a full remission for Glen!!

BTW...my BF is a nurse. You ladies are made of steel...:bighug::kiss:
 
Let's see what tomorrow's AM cycle looks like before trying to decide what to do next.....some cats wait until that last moment to clear their bounces but boy when they do!!!...Watch out!!
Uh oh! What does this mean? Please elaborate? What types of 'watch out' patterns have you seen???

I will be at work tomorrow and unable to monitor so a 'watch out' definitely puts me on alert.
 
Last edited:
Meaning You may need lots of coffee! Sometimes when cats clear a bounce they have what's called an active cycle meaning they work the juice!
A lot of that movement you mention you are seeing in the spreadsheets is the embodiment of the whole notion of sometimes you have to go up to come down..systematically working up to that magic bigger dose that triggers the pancreas to wake up and come back online..then the movement back down the dosing ladder can be fairly quick in some cases..as the pancreas goes from sputtering to doing its job..that's why they try to adjust the dose up and down in small increments, to keep in healing numbers for as many hours as possible...it is healing ..and to be sure you don't miss that magic dose..
 
Meaning You may need lots of coffee! Sometimes when cats clear a bounce they have what's called an active cycle meaning they work the juice!
A lot of that movement you mention you are seeing in the spreadsheets is the embodiment of the whole notion of sometimes you have to go up to come down..systematically working up to that magic bigger dose that triggers the pancreas to wake up and come back online..then the movement back down the dosing ladder can be fairly quick in some cases..as the pancreas goes from sputtering to doing its job..that's why they try to adjust the dose up and down in small increments, to keep in healing numbers for as many hours as possible...it is healing ..and to be sure you don't miss that magic dose..
Thanks Gussie's Mom. I re-read this several times and it makes total sense. I really appreciate you taking the time to reply and help explain. THANK YOU! :bighug:
 
They can just clear a bounce really quickly.....like starting yellow at AMPS and dropping all day into green at PMPS

Look at Uncle's spreadsheet for yesterday....that's a "watch out!" bounce breaking cycle
Thanks @Chris & China I spent a good amount of time looking over Uncle's SS and my head hurts! Lol! It must have been very stressful for Uncle's CG to go back and forth between all those dose changes and colors of the rainbow. More to the point- I see what you mean by breaking a bounce. I would be really scared to shoot a number in the 90s, especially since I would not be able to be home on the work days to monitor. This brings me to another point...I have seen folks say 'what is your no shoot number?" I don't know what this is for Ozzy. I have seen some people say nothing below 200, others say nothing below 150, etc. We are not even there yet and would dream of a PS number that low...but how do I decide what is my 'no shoot' number? I am not sure if you have read some of my other threads about how we got on lantus and that our vet has never used this insulin and wasn't sure on protocol. He did not give us a 'no shoot' number. In fact, most of his CG's don't home test so I don't know that he regularly gives advice to this effect on any type of insulin.

Thanks for sharing Uncle's SS. Seeing what others are going through and having real life examples is of tremendous help!!
I really cannot express my gratitude for all the support and guidance from folks like you on this site. I am so grateful to have your help. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!:bighug::bighug:
 
Generally, by the time we invite you to one of the ISG's (Insulin support groups) like this one specifically for the "L" insulins, the "no shot" number drops from 200 to 150 to start with

We use the 200's for people who are absolutely new and have no data on their cats and are just learning the ropes.

But the "no shot" number comes down too!! Most of us on TR who have the data and understand our cats really well will shoot the scheduled dose as long as the PS is 50 or above!

We just say that the first few times you shoot a lower number (under 150) that it's best to have someone with experience online and watching over you (which is one of the reasons we ask you to stall, don't feed and post for help) We have an "agreement" here that if someone comes on and says they'll help, they'll stay with you as long as necessary to make sure your cat is safe (or find someone else to take over)....Occasionally people will have to say "I'm sorry but I can't stay with you" but they'll try to find someone who can.

As you learn more about how Ozzy responds, that "no shot" number will come down
 
I would be really scared to shoot a number in the 90s, especially since I would not be able to be home on the work days to monitor.
Hey there just finished reading your whole thread. You asked a lot of very good questions.
I can tell you the first time I shot anything under 150 I was a nervous wreck.!!!!!!!!
These are the things that allow me to shoot lower numbers now:
Understanding the fundamental principles of the TR protocol (which we're following), getting to know Uncle's patterns, asking for and receiving educated opinions, knowing someone (or in most cases a tag team) will be on the board to help me out if things get scary, being prepared with a hypo kit and having the ability to stay home to test often if needed or stay up through the night if needed.
I think the lowest I've shot is an 88 and even last night I hesitated for a minute to shoot the 92 because historically I haven't had a lot of low numbers to shoot at AMPS or PMPS and I knew he was still dropping.
I think going through the very first night when Uncle dropped below 50 and seeing the help I received and knowing that I could keep him safe steering with food was a big turning point for me, but I still don't take anything lightly.
Thankfully my work schedule is pretty flexible right now and my work is only 10 minutes away so it's a good time in my life to try to do TR.
It must have been very stressful for Uncle's CG to go back and forth between all those dose changes and colors of the rainbow.
For sure and I can't imagine what Uncle feels like either!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top