1/9 Mikey PMPS 305, +1 203 +1.5 202 +2 168 +3 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-208-2-58-pm-2-477-4-298.131168/#post-1349367

After yesterdays antics, we shot through the bounce. This morning he was so high, that we decided to stick with .25, and revisit the reduction tonight. Turns out, Don skinnied the dose without telling me. He's down to 337 at +11. If he's still falling at PMPS, I assume I should take the full reduction and go back to .1? What if he's rising? We shoot in 25 minutes give or take a couple.

I want to add that Mikey has a bit of soft poo today. This always happens when he's fed three different foods in a day, as he was yesterday. I'm not sure it has any bearing on the dose, but I thought I'd better put it out there.
 
Yes. Don does almost all the drawing up, and he got nervous and skinnied it without my knowing. He's luthier, so he's much more precise than I am. I doubt I could skinny it myself.
 
I wouldn't reduce more than a skinny dose. In fact, given that we don't know for sure that Mikey would have dropped below 50, if it were my cat, I don't know if I'd reduce at all. Looking at the big picture, Mikey isn't spending all that much time in lower numbers.

I want to suggest an alternative strategy that is used on the German Lantus board. They don't reduce until a kitty's numbers drop below 50 three times. (If they drop below 40, it's an automatic reduction.) I'm hoping this strategy will help with Mikey's bouncing and get him to spend a greater amount of time in better ranges.
 
He's dropped to 305 at PMPS. I have really mixed feelings about this. I'm not good with using the strategy of having him fall below 50 three times before reducing, as I'm not home during the day.
 
there are no lobotomies here.... only
d444f04108b88625f26a447549dd90f5.jpg
 
How on earth can he be down 100 points at +1???? I'm gave him MC. Should I give HC? He's not below 50, but he's Mikey.
 
I'd wait and see how he goes with what you've given him at +2 - looks like it's a pj party for you tonight! Way to clear a bounce Mikey - maybe you can go not quite so high next time!

That may be a reflection that yesterday's AM carbs and honey were a little too much - it would be helpful if you could add a little more detail about how much and at + what you gave it to him in your remarks so we can start pinpointing exactly what he needs to slow a drop, start a surf etc.
 
Last edited:
I also wouldn't have reduced his dose.

I know it's been mentioned before but Julie asked some of us again about it today. Any ability to switch to levemir? Perhaps someone could buy the opened vial of lantus and you could find a single pen somewhere to try it?
 
I'd wait and see how he goes with what you've given him at +2 - looks like it's a pj party for you tonight! Way to clear a bounce Mikey - maybe you can go not quite so high next time!

That may be a reflection that yesterday's AM carbs and honey were a little too much - it would be helpful if you could add a little more detail about how much and at + what you gave it to him in your remarks so we can start pinpointing exactly what he needs to slow a drop, start a surf etc.

I think those details are in yesterday's condo. Basically, because I had to get back to work, he got most of a can of FF HC and a boatload of honey between +3 and +4.5. I purposely over-carbed him, because I couldn't be home. It was ugly.
 
I also wouldn't have reduced his dose.

I know it's been mentioned before but Julie asked some of us again about it today. Any ability to switch to levemir? Perhaps someone could buy the opened vial of lantus and you could find a single pen somewhere to try it?

What be the pros and cons of that?
 
Don will be taking over the night shift soon, since I'm sick again and have to go into work tomorrow for an open house. Mikey is at 115 at +3, which is close enough to the perfect 100 for me! Stay, Mikey, stay! Surf it! Don will be updating the spreadsheet, but probably won't post here. I'll take a quick gander here before shooting in the morning. The plan right now is to stick with the skinny .25 unless he does some major diving. Hmm, at the speed I'm moving, I may be up for +4. Kind of curious about what it will be....
 
Yeah...with a +2 that much lower than the PS, I'd plan on continuing to test for awhile!

Might want to go ahead and feed a little bit and see if you can get him up on that surfboard
 
Surf it Mikey - low blues are lovely.:cool: I'll take an attempt at the pros/cons of a switch to Levemir.

Pro's - some cats go a lot flatter on Lev or get better duration. With Neko, I don't need to test as much because she doesn't do huge drops on Lev, but ECID. It means when I get the dose right she spends more time in green. Lev is not acid based and some cats react to the Lantus injection. Mikey's on such a small dose it may not matter to him.
Con's - you have to learn Mikey's cycles on Lev. I found the first month frustrating cause I didn't know what to expect. The nadir is usually at least a couple hours later - again ECID. It could help or hurt depending on your schedule and Mikey's cycle. Neko's nadir is typically near PS on Lev, which is darn convenient. You'd have to get a prescription and buy new insulin.
 
I think Wendy pretty much summed it up. Although Gracie does still bounce and sometimes dive on lev, she's done phenomenally better on it than Lantus. We also thought it felt like starting over but we learned quickly and I also like the nadirs at shot time.

Hope you feel better soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top