1/9 - Gen, AMPS >400, +3 345, +5 328, +7.5 158, +9 315

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

Increase day! Fingers crossed that we can maybe get into surfing some lower numbers without diving within a few days. 🤞

Gen is officially Not Pleased about the food transition. This morning I put out his wet food with a bit of FortiFlora on top, then went to prepare his shot--I've been giving him his shot between feeding wet and dry--and I'd barely drawn the dose when he was back in the kitchen yelling at me for his kibble. (He got about 1/3 a scoop, along with some freeze-dried rabbit, so I imagine he wasn't super satisfied, but he did chill out after that. Still, I imagine we're up for some serious recriminations when I stop giving it to him altogether.)

I'm pretty sure he'll cope. I'm going to start increasing his dinner portion of wet food as well as his breakfast, also, to help keep his caloric intake stable. Today's breakfast was a little lower than I'd intended; I need to do some pre-set combinations and calculations, I think, so I don't accidentally underfeed him. Especially when he still really needs to put on a few more pounds.

Also, he had some difficulty pooping last night and came and wiped his butt on my duvet ... just as my partner and I were settling in for our first real date night in over a month, too. It was fine, just annoying, but I need to figure out something better for his digestive stuff. I've been giving him 1/4 tsp Miralax and 1 of these probiotic capsules with each meal (he got a token amount of Miralax in his last couple of meals, though, because I'm out of the probiotic - supposed to be delivered today), but he still seems to be having some trouble (not pooping every day). What I find odd is that he's both slightly constipated and all his poop is a bit too soft?? Will be asking my vet for her thoughts, but would also be grateful for anyone else's!

Anyway, happy Friday to all of you! I hope your kitties have a safe and pleasant surf, and that you have delightful weekends planned (whether that means going out or staying in)!
 
This site contains affiliate links for which Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB may be compensated.
Good luck with increase Allie!

Food transitions are tough, Trixie was a kibble addict and there was much protesting when I switched her to wet food. Like you, I did it very slowly and she eventually got used to not having it anymore. I had to use lots of toppers to help her with it as well. Gen will get there and I’m certain you’ll notice a difference with his numbers once the kibble is gone.

Sorry to hear about the 💩 situation, hopefully that resolves soon.

Wishing you both a wonderful day and a safe surf for Gen!
 
Hearing yours and others' stories about stopping kibble makes me so retroactively grateful that Esse was so chill about it. The transition from FF gravy to pate was harder, haha. I'm excited for you to complete the transition, though, I think Gen will make much quicker progress once you can switch to TR!
 
Ever tried psyllium husk fiber to help the poo problems? Start with just a pinch.

I see blues!
I've heard of it, but I'm not sure what format I'd want to use or where to find it. (Chewy is not being very helpful for once.) I'll also want to check with my vet first - we just agreed on a slightly tweaked approach to use with Miralax, so I'm going to stick with it this weekend at least.

We did have a little bit of blue! And now 🚀
 
This site contains affiliate links for which Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB may be compensated.
This is the psyllium husk we use, though we get it from the grocery store. Its main purpose in our household is actually for Sam to take for his cholesterol, lol. Esse just gets some occasionally when he needs it. My pro tip is to add it in meals he's going to eat right then, not food that will be sitting out for a while--it absorbs water so it can change wet food consistency after a while.
 
This is the psyllium husk we use, though we get it from the grocery store. Its main purpose in our household is actually for Sam to take for his cholesterol, lol. Esse just gets some occasionally when he needs it. My pro tip is to add it in meals he's going to eat right then, not food that will be sitting out for a while--it absorbs water so it can change wet food consistency after a while.
Anytime I need to give Gen a med/supplement (the ones he'll actually take, LOL 😭 ), I wind up mixing it into just a small amount of wet food and topping his dish with it. It's the only thing that works to get him to consume all of it at once/right away. So I'd probably need to do something similar. And given how stubborn he's being right now, I'd probably need to only do it at night (when he has accepted that he only gets wet food), or wait until he gets through the transition ... he's barely touching his morning wet until later on, right now.
 
Back
Top