1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76/+2 44/+3 47/+ 4 75/+5 145

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

Nice green number to start the evening out with. I was thinking it might be time for a bump but suspected he might be trying to fight something off. As usual though, nothing out of the ordinary to report. He is looking and feeling great today. Hope eveyone is doing well today and all kitties are surfing safely! :-D
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76

Okay, so that is an eyebrow raiser. Looks like Mr. Frank might throw me a curve ball this evening. Maybe I need to take a nap and let Brian test until he has to go to bed. :lol:
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76

I would feed him some LC at +1 and try to get him to surf (for Brian).
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76/+2 44

So...my worry here is that he is 44 at +2 and onset of the next dose is within the hour. I am concerned that when that next cycle kicks in that we are going to have trouble. Should I go ahead and feed him some high carb food or wait to see what he does?
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76/+2 44/+3 47/+ 3.5 60

HC is good if the low is early in the cycle like that. Still got a while to go so it's nice to see the 60's.
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76/+2 44/+3 47/+ 4 75

He had about four tablespoons of gravy total and is up to 75. It's kind of scary that he hit those lows at the end of the cycle. The only time I have seen him do that is when he tossed his chicky.
 
Re: 1/9 Frank PMPS 92/+1 76/+2 44/+3 47/+ 4 75

Sorry my internet connection was lost. I am glad he is coming up. I like to use HC if it is early in the cycle just to be safe.
 
what does "tossed his chicky" mean?

you shouldn't need to give him a tablespoon of gravy - just a teaspoon ought to pull him up and help him surf. that +5 is probably telling you he got a little more yummy carbs than he needed. no harm done, but it's good for them to spend as much time as possible under 120, so if you can handle the monitoring every 20-30 minutes, it's a good way to go.

although wouldn't you know he'd do it at night when i assume, you'd like to be sleeping!? they know. somehow they know. :lol:

you'll want to reduce to 2.5u in the morning. newly diagnosed cats (less than 1 year) that drop under 50 get a 0.25u dose decrease per the protocol.
 
Looks like Frank was clearing a bounce and just kept coming done tonight.

Good job getting his numbers back up, Tina. And good luck with the reduction.
 
I started out with 2 teaspoons and his sugar didn't budge, that's why I gave him a tablespoon. That is what I was told to do last time he dropped in the 40s and had not budged within 30 minutes. This morning he is 567. Last time I gave him the reduction when h bounced, I was told I should have waited until after the bounce to do the reduction, so he got his regular dose this morning. I am not trying to argue. I just bring it up because there seems to be a conflict in the message I am receiving that I probably need to work out. So... when he hit 44, I gave him 2tsp of gravy then tested him thirty minutes later because I was told it would take at least that long to see any change from the gravy. Thirty minutes later he was 45 so I gave him a tablespoon of gravy. Thirty minutes after that, he was 47 so I gave him another tablespoon of gravy. Thirty minutes later, he was 60 so I quit giving him gravy. What I took from the last experience was that he should get 1-2 tsp of gravy if he drops below 50, then give it 30 minutes to work. If that does not move his sugar much, he should get a tablespoon every thirty minutes until he comes up above 50. Then if he bounces, he gets his regular dose and the reduction comes once he clears it. So, given that, what did I misunderstand? How should I change that plan to more effectively treat numbers below 50 next time? And tossing the chicky was just my play on words for tossing his cookies, aka vomiting.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top