1/9/ Bubba AMPS 255,+3 -299,@+6.5-274,+8.5-195, PMPS-153,+2-123.=5-148

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Member Since 2015
They call him mellow yellow.:blackeye: He spent all evening in yellow (jumped from 151 PMPS to 269 @+3) and starting off today in yellow. The reduction has failed, I do believe. My gut was telling me to I take him back up to 5 units. Hope I did the right thing. :(

Yesterday's Blues
 
Last edited:
Ahoy there!

It does look like his reduction has failed, I would have been thinking the same, but what do I know, being new and all. Perhaps the more experienced folk have another view, will be interesting to see what they say (so much learning going on). In any case you are there to monitor him so you can keep him safe
 
Ahoy there!

It does look like his reduction has failed, I would have been thinking the same, but what do I know, being new and all. Perhaps the more experienced folk have another view, will be interesting to see what they say (so much learning going on). In any case you are there to monitor him so you can keep him safe
That's kind of what I though, Matey!
 
Not to be a nag...but when was the last time you checked for ketones, Bobbie. ;)

ETA
Never mind, I saw the comment in the AMPS box just after I posted. :D
 
Gosh, I don't like seeing all this yellow again. It seems like such a set-back and I need to remain optimistic that he will pull back down again. :(
 
You are not alone, Rupert was in the pink some yesterday and started with a 320 this morning. *sigh* I don't want to increase again, hoping this is a bouncy thing. Hope Bubba comes down today, if not threatened him with walking the plank!
 
Yo, Bubba
Your yellow suit is lookin' a tad bit snug. Yellow is not a good color on you. Try on your blue suit later. I bet you will find it more comfy! Anyway blue would be a better color on you.
Cuz Michael:cat:(aka The Blues King, hoping not to lose my title. You see, I am wearing an uncomfortable yellow suit too.)
 
Yo, Bubba
Your yellow suit is lookin' a tad bit snug. Yellow is not a good color on you. Try on your blue suit later. I bet you will find it more comfy! Anyway blue would be a better color on you.
Cuz Michael:cat:(aka The Blues King, hoping not to lose my title. You see, I am wearing an uncomfortable yellow suit too.)
You are right about that! Blue and Green is much prettier!
 
Guess I did the right thing increasing back to 5 units this AM ?
Some would have waited for the bounce to clear. However, I do think going back to 5u was inevitable. I would have done the same by now, but I was pretty aggressive with Alex whenever I knew I could handle the extra monitoring.

Here's the thing...
We know what 5u can do. We also know a 5u dose will probably require more monitoring than usual. If I were in your shoes (and have been), I'd take advantage of every opportunity I had to get a little shut eye because I've yet to see a cat come through here who understands cares that we prefer to sleep at night.

Just sayin... :D
 
Some would have waited for the bounce to clear. However, I do think going back to 5u was inevitable. I would have done the same by now, but I was pretty aggressive with Alex whenever I knew I could handle the extra monitoring.

Here's the thing...
We know what 5u can do. We also know a 5u dose will probably require more monitoring than usual. If I were in your shoes (and have been), I'd take advantage of every opportunity I had to get a little shut eye because I've yet to see a cat come through here who understands cares that we prefer to sleep at night.

Just sayin... :D
hmmm, guess that where things are a bit confusing to me because it looked like a failed reduction to me for him to start climbing back into the mid 200's during cycle 5. How can you tell the difference between a failure and a bounce?
 
hmmm, guess that where things are a bit confusing to me because it looked like a failed reduction to me for him to start climbing back into the mid 200's during cycle 5. How can you tell the difference between a failure and a bounce?
I suspect it was a failed reduction because it looked like it was going to take every bit of 5u to keep him in green, but the verdict was still out on that at shot time this morning. That's why I said some would have waited for the bounce to clear (to look for hard evidence the bounce had cleared) before taking the dose back up... just to make sure. Now if the numbers had continued to rise after giving the bounce 3 days to clear... than we'd know for sure it was a failed reduction.

Initially, I found it helpful to count forward 3 days and give kitty that amount of time (6 cycles) to clear the bounce before taking the dose back up. As time went on and I suspected a failed reduction, I would go ahead and take the dose back up before Alex was 6 cycles away from the numbers that caused the bounce (like you did this morning).

To complicate matters...
It won't always take 6 cycles for a bounce to clear. That changes along the way, but the greens on 1/6 were so very new to Bubba. I totally expected it to take him 3 full days to clear the bounce. Sometimes it can even take longer.


To add a little more info directly relating to Bubba...
Bubba didn't officially earn the reduction to 4.75 units. When following the TR protocol, you would have continued with 5u til he dropped below 50. However, and this is a big "however" and a huge consideration... remember the day... remember how exciting, yet draining the day was? Remember how Bubba did so well, but sounded like he was losing his patience? If you would have shot 5u into that 91 there was an increased likelihood that you would have been up monitoring a good part of the night. Continuing with 5u seemed too risky at the time... given the day the two of you had. KWIM?

All I mentioned above has to be taken into consideration when helping a caregiver and their cat...

Questions? I won't be back til later (daughter and grandson still here), but I'll get to them as soon as I can.
 
KWIM, what does that mean? I considered that the reduction could have been premature when he bounced up at the end of the cycle on 1/6 and was grateful to think I would have a reprieve that night. We beans can't be happy with the low numbers or the higher numbers, can we? ;)

Thanks for the explanation and I will digest it and I am sure that I will have some questions later. I appreciate you taking time from your daughter and grandson. Enjoy! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top