1/9 Blackie pmps 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL and Thank you for all for posting yesterday in our condo. I got so frustrated at pmps last night that I didn't even update Blackie's spreadsheet. I had put his meds (Mirtazapine and Gabapentin) in some FF Medley thinking he would eat them right up. Wrong! He didn't want to touch it even when I added Fortiflora. So had to finger feed it cuz it was too chunky to go in a syringe. I knew if I could just get the Mirt in him he would eat later, but what an ordeal. ohmygod_smile Blackie got mad and then I got mad and I did finally get it in him with lots of food on him and me. And as I predicted, half hour later he ate all of his food.

So that was a lesson learned. Never put meds in chunky food. I'm thinking about putting them in a gel capsule and just pilling him. Blackie has always been easy to pill. He ate well the rest of the night and this morning too. We did lower the dose of the Mirt, so I hope it will last the 2 days since we give it every other day.

I didn't give any more Bupe yesterday. Even .1 ml seemed to make him a little disoriented and he didn't walk as well. Honestly, he doesn't seem to be in any more pain than he usually is from his arthritis. He is still running from the kitchin to the living room, snuggling with Charlie and doesn't give any of the indications of pain. I did research on pain in cats (http://www.aahanet.org/PublicDocuments/ ... elines.pdf) and it is just so hard to know. I think I'll ask my vet about Tramadol and see if it works any different than the Bupe.

I still have just over a week before we leave on vacation, so I'm hoping we can get Blackie feeling better and back on track with his LB. Which, btw, he is doing better going to the LB.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33905
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

sounds like quite the ordeal for you and Blackie yesterday. Sorry to hear it but its good he's eating today and good to hear he still runs and cuddles.
You, of course, have my continued vines and prayers.
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

morning, guys!

hope today is much better for both of you. Blackie...you need to improve daily before the bean heads out, guy!

we're still sending healing vines your way...
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

Hi Ele,
There was quite an extended discussion about Tramadol in this forum earlier this month (around Jan. 2nd or 3rd, in Rocket's condo and in Deb's Spot's condo--with regard to Ralphie). Judging from what was said, you might not want to start this drug if you are going to be away.
Very glad to hear that you were able to get Blackie to eat (even though it was not the optimal way!!). Anyway, we're thinking good thoughts for you today. I hope that everything will get straightened out with Blackie soon so that you can go on vacation without worry.

See you later,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

I gave .1 ml of Bupe at +4. After much thought and reading, I decided it would be better to medicate for pain even if it isn't necessary. Because the alternative would mean that Blackie would be in pain even though I didn't know it. I really wish he could tell me how he feels. I wonder if an animal communicator would be able to help. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

Aaah Ele...so sorry for all of that....I'm glad he finally ate on his own. I've used tramodol in the past...had it compounded and it evidently tastes nasty as a liquid so if you do get it, hopefully it's in pill or capsule form. I hope you and Blackie have a better day today and he eats well.
 
Re: 1/9 Blackie amps 302 +2.5 307

Hi Ele - so sorry for the continued feeding problems - what an ordeal that must have been. I am glad the the mirt kicked in and he ate on his own. nice though that the LB issues seem to be getting better. Good luck with it all.

Good luck too with the decision on the pain meds. I remember too that discussion on Tramadol - it was Deb and Ralphie I think, and perhaps a separate one with Claudia and Rocket. As I remember they both discontinued use -
 
Blackie ate a tiny amount of his food with the Gabapentin at shot time and then he wouldn't eat anymore. I had given his pepcid late so I don't know if that was part of it. I syringe fed a little bit, but that didn't go well. :sad: So I gave him some Mirtazapine and waited. He ate well at +1 and then I gave him 50ml of subQ's and he ate some more. I am so worried! I don't know if my SIL is going to be able to handle this. I'm going to call her tomorrow.

Linda, thanks for the link. So far Blackie has had .2 ml of Buprenex and I didn't see any ill effects today. I have .1 ml at +4 and the other .1 at +1 tonight.

Anyone know how long a CP flare can last? He's been like his for more than 2 weeks now.
 
Ele & Blackie said:
Blackie ate a tiny amount of his food with the Gabapentin at shot time and then he wouldn't eat anymore. I had given his pepcid late so I don't know if that was part of it. I syringe fed a little bit, but that didn't go well. :sad: So I gave him some Mirtazapine and waited. He ate well at +1 and then I gave him 50ml of subQ's and he ate some more. I am so worried! I don't know if my SIL is going to be able to handle this. I'm going to call her tomorrow.

Linda, thanks for the link. So far Blackie has had .2 ml of Buprenex and I didn't see any ill effects today. I have .1 ml at +4 and the other .1 at +1 tonight.

Anyone know how long a CP flare can last? He's been like his for more than 2 weeks now.

I think that flares can last from days to weeks. Bear Man had IBD, so his flares were IBD/CP combo flares.

For my DPS, I always leave a very detailed checklist of meds to give, and what times to give them. I make up one sheet per day and she can check stuff off as she gives it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top