1/9/21 - Squeaky! AMPS 90 +2.5=56 +7=88 Does dose need checking?

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
Missed a day. (1/8) Life happens.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...tter-box-amps-78-3-84-5-56.241145/#navigation

Hi folks,

I don't really know what's going on with Squeaky. He eats when I hand feed him, or give him treats. Not interested in eating from his dish (which has 3 compartments with 3 different kinds of food. I know he has a temperamental tummy.)

Seems low energy, or depressed, maybe it's just the season. We can't go outside. He can't find any place to hide that I can't track him down and make him have the ear pricks or medicines.

Numbers are good!

I hope everyone is doing well! Kitties too!
 
I know you struggle to test Squeaky, but with a drop to 56 @+2.5, that early in the cycle especially, if it happens again I urge you for the safety of Squeaky to get him to eat something and then test again within an hour. I personally wouldn't leave it more than 30 minutes. He could have gone low enough to earn a reduction or even be hypoglycemic. We will never know for sure.
 
To earn a reduction you need to see the drop under 50. That’s why Lyla and I would have liked to have seen more tests. Not testing with bg at 56 early in the cycle there was a good chance he could have gone hypo but we don’t know. I worry not testing when this happens will lead to a symptomatic hypo. A reduction has not been earned but if you aren’t able to test when he’s that low I would take one for safety.
 
I know you struggle to test Squeaky, but with a drop to 56 @+2.5, that early in the cycle especially, if it happens again I urge you for the safety of Squeaky to get him to eat something and then test again within an hour. I personally wouldn't leave it more than 30 minutes. He could have gone low enough to earn a reduction or even be hypoglycemic. We will never know for sure.

Well he's kind of been like this since we got back from the trip. It's really boring here.

Yes I kept feeding him all day long, whatever I could get him to eat.

Even with as few tests as I do, he runs and tries to hide. I do not know what will happen to him if I test him more. Become neurotic again?

I also sometimes have an off day myself, like yesterday. It's hard to keep up with multiple tests. I'm challenged enough in my life. The diabetes makes everything harder.

I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place. If I test him, he becomes neurotic. If I don't test him, the blood sugar is a problem.

EDIT: I may just have to face the fact that the best I can do at this is not very good. I cannot always wake up at night to test him. The alarm goes off and it takes me an hour to get up. Well we have come this far at this. I will keep going.

PS he did dance with me a little the other day. And he's been climbing in his tree.
 
Last edited:
To earn a reduction you need to see the drop under 50. That’s why Lyla and I would have liked to have seen more tests.

Yes I get that but I think it will kill him if I test him all the time.

So if he went hypo for a while, why would that affect how he's feeling now?
 
And now he is up and playing happily. I have no clue what's going on. -- So he bounced. 314. He always seems to play better when his numbers are higher. Go figure.
 
Last edited:
You don't have to test him all of the time.
When you see a number that low, then you need to test him again. Hypos can kill. The effects of a hypo don't necessarily vanish when BG goes back up. Squeaky could easily still be affected now from going too low earlier.
You're worried that testing will kill him and I'm worried not testing when he is that low could cause him serious harm.

Can you do something to make his testing environment more calming? I always sing to Butters. It makes me relax and Butters feeds off my energy, so she relaxes. Just a thought.
 
You don't have to test him all of the time.
When you see a number that low, then you need to test him again. Hypos can kill. The effects of a hypo don't necessarily vanish when BG goes back up. Squeaky could easily still be affected now from going too low earlier.
You're worried that testing will kill him and I'm worried not testing when he is that low could cause him serious harm.

Can you do something to make his testing environment more calming? I always sing to Butters. It makes me relax and Butters feeds off my energy, so she relaxes. Just a thought.
Jan, maybe you would both be happier if you switched to SLGS. Reductions would be taken at 90 and you would not need to test as much. Just a thought.

Yes I sing. I massage. I talk. I give him tours of the house in my arms. Etc.

I'm not feeling so great today, I see I am being very fussy. So sorry. Wish I had someone around to help me with this. Or anything else.

SLGS, then he won't get better right? Remission only happens with TR?
 
I'm not sure what you mean. If Squeaky's numbers are falling like this morning into the 50s, you need to test more. You're trying to catch a drop below 50. Then you want to make sure that Squeaky's numbers come up because we don't want him to spend time below 50, so you'd need to feed him and then test again to make sure he is rising.

I do like Elise's suggestion for SLGS for Squeaky. SLGS would be the safer choice, and in my opinion, safety should always come first. It would take the pressure off to get as many tests, which should make both of you happier too.
Before you aim for remission, your first goal should be regulation. Cats can be regulated on SLGS. Some even do go into remission.
 
Jan, maybe you would both be happier if you switched to SLGS. Reductions would be taken at 90 and you would not need to test as much. Just a thought.

Okay, I am realizing that because of my health condition, some days I just can't focus and concentrate which makes TR really hard for me. Also when I don't get enough sleep or my sleep is disturbed it throws me off which makes this too hard. Also I can really see that a lot of testing really affects Squeaky's mental health.

Tomorrow when I can concentrate I'll read and start SLGS. Right now I need to get some sleep. I'll set the alarm for 6.5 so I can get enough rest tonight.

Because I think the diabetes was steroid induced, hopefully he will go into remission anyway. His multiple illnesses are really quite a burden for me. Diabetes, I think that is the only one that can be healed. I am hoping.....

Thanks to both of you.
 
@Jan D & Squeaky I was just wondering about you all and am so glad to see you posted :bighug: Looks like you have some excellent advice here - taking care of our pets is always a balance between the pet and caregiver. Taking care of yourself is important and SLGS may be the best route to keep up with your health and keep Squeaky safe. Hope you have a wonderful rest of your weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Here's a weird idea. Did you ever make a blanket fort as a kid. Drape a blanket over a back of chair, end of couch, coffee table etc. Squeaky might like a fort or tent and it can be easy access for you to get him.
 
Here's a weird idea. Did you ever make a blanket fort as a kid. Drape a blanket over a back of chair, end of couch, coffee table etc. Squeaky might like a fort or tent and it can be easy access for you to get him.
@Jan D & Squeaky I was just wondering about you all and am so glad to see you posted :bighug: Looks like you have some excellent advice here - taking care of our pets is always a balance between the pet and caregiver. Taking care of yourself is important and SLGS may be the best route to keep up with your health and keep Squeaky safe. Hope you have a wonderful rest of your weekend :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Maybe take a break and follow SLGS. See f you both are happier. You can always come back to TR if it isn’t better for you.
Maybe take a break and follow SLGS. See f you both are happier. You can always come back to TR if it isn’t better for you.

I just want to thank you all for checking in and looking after us and making sure things are going all right.... which they aren't! So today I will switch to the easier method and hope that he still goes into remission. I will have to study the new protocol -- all guidance is welcome! Thanks again!!!!! :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: Oh I could just hug all of you all day long!!!!!
 
Back
Top