1/8 Weezer AMPS 299

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers for any in need of healing, strength and comfort today.

Yesterday’s Condo

Recap of yesterday
AMPS 346 Added .25 R
+1 344
+2 325
+3 310
+4 316
+5 293
+6 302
PMPS 231
+2 292
+4 298
+7.5 287

Well yesterday was exciting. It was the first time we tried adding a bit of R to the mix. Although the tests during the 6 hours following the R didn’t really show much if any effect, Weezer’s PMPS was her lowest yet, 231! :-D Since R is quick acting and clears the system quickly, I don’t see how it might have influenced her PMPS, but however we got it, I’ll take it! The yellow start this morning may be just barely, but again, I’ll take it! In these first experiments with R I have set 300 or above PS as the target to shoot R, if we can monitor closely the first 4 hours, so no R this morning. If anyone with R experience has a suggestion for a different target, please let me know. Libby?

ETA Because of Weezer's complicated medical issues, we are modifying the tight regulation protocol. Do not follow our dosing!

After Weezer’s FD dx, the first whisker that grew in was white; this on a totally black kitty. The next one grew in also white, on the same side. The third white one grew in on the other side. They were really cute, but she looked a little lopsided. Yesterday the first one that came it, fell out. Now she has one white whisker on each side, both downward curving. She looks like she has a Fu Manchu mustache!

Wishing a kitty day for all, plenty of purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Linda, good luck with the R and very nice PMPS yesterday. Your plan for giving it when Weezer is over 300 sounds like a good one, although I don't have any experience with R. I would love to see a picture of Weezer's Fu Manchu! Have a great day!
 
Morning Linda and Weezer-Fu! Glad to hear Weezer is balanced again :lol: :lol: Also, great to see a sunny yellow start (It definitely counts!) I hope you have a great day with lots of suny yellows!
 
Very nice cycle, Weezer! Way to work that juice. You might want to send a PM to Libby if she doesn't stop by. When Zener was a baby, he had one white whisker for a long time - very cute. When it fell out, it grew back black and he's had all black ever since. Yes, we definitely need a Fu Manchu picture. :smile:
Liz
 
Morning! Too cute on the whisker story. :-D Nice too on the yellow for yesterday, and today too! I have no experience using R - maybe PM Libby, who knows it really well, or Bev from Bev and Gus.

Have a good one today - Weezer looks like that will be on the agenda.
 
I save all of the whiskers I find that fall...and when Tam was healthy, she made me dreamcatcher with them attached...
and a cool necklace as well...(she gathered them together and attached them with small silver beads.) :-D

and this was the best i could find for "Mustache Cat"

cat_with_mustache.4z4w4rnpft0kck008w48oooos.f469i2i529kw48480kggcc000.th.jpeg
 
I'm glad you're finally seeing some better numbers!! Good luck with the use of R. I dont have any experience with that myself, but I know you'll do just great!!
 
Awww Celi, I save Vyktor's whiskas too, originally I thought that one day I might have enough to make a brush!

Yellow is yellow Linda, glad to see Weezer doing well :-D
 
Nice to see a yellow preshot. :-D I don't know much about R either, but could the fact that it may have held the early numbers down allowe the Lantus to have a longer carry over? Not get used up so fast? Just asking as I'm curious.

I love white whiskers on black kitties, Fu-Weezu!
 
Hi there Linda,

Look at all that pretty sunshine! :-D :-D :-D

Sorry to be so scarce lately - it's been 10+ hour days at tbp.

I see you gave Weezer her first TOR. I've got to read your last few days condos and catch up however I wanted to point out something very important for an IAA kitty-bean to always keepp in mind.
Linda for Weezer said:
I don’t see how it might have influenced her PMPS, but however we got it, I’ll take it!

We know the evil antibodies bind to the insulin. It's my understanding that the evil antibodies do have a life span, and when they give up the ghost, they also give up the insulin that was bound to them. In this way the antibodies delay the action of insulin, so a normally fast acting insulin like R becomes slower. Likewise for Lantus - it's effects are delayed as well. That's why you can see the effects of R later, sometimes for 2 or 3 cycles, in IAA kitties.

Now, that said, I'm going to go back and get caught up on recent developments in Weezer World - bbl :cool:
 
hi linda!

love the whiskers story! punkin has white whiskers too - when he got the SRT the folks there said they aimed the radiation to try to spare his whiskers. isn't that cute? people who love animals!

i answered you in punkin's condo, but thought i'd post here just in case.

linda, i'm ok with him getting into the greens around the nadir time. i see that Gus and Tommy are there regularly - the cats still respond to high carb food in the way they always have. i give punkin a lot more than ann would give tess, for example - i give him 1/4 can of high carb, or more, depending on where in the cycle it is instead of 1 teaspoon of gravy. fortunately these acro kitties LOVE to eat, don't they?!

i don't try to push him to 50 anymore like people are doing when following the protocol. instead, i basically bumped up my overall goal number range about 50. following the protocol you're aiming for 50-100's, now i was aiming for a nadir of 100-150. and for all of us, acro or not, that is easier said than done. but truly, i don't think it's freak-out worthy if they go below 100. :-D

that said, the larger his dose was the more aware i was that i would have to counter-act that shed that will keep on giving if he did go too low. just something to be aware of.
i think the comment that i've heard lots that acro kitties have a working pancreas and that's why they shouldn't go too low is a bit of a misunderstanding. all type 2 diabetic cats have some potential for their pancreas to work. that's why some go off of insulin - their pancreases heal, sputter, and enough of the beta cells remain that it can start functioning again. but i've read a ton on the medical side of how feline diabetes works, and higher numbers kill the beta cells in the pancreas, no matter what the cause of the higher numbers. stands to reason that if any cat is in constant higher numbers (which many acro cats are) then their pancreas may or may not function after a time.

what i do think is important, however, is the size of the shed. if i were shooting 40 units into a cat, i wouldn't want to have to counteract that shed with high carb foods. i've skipped punkin's dose when it was large and not even seen a blip in his numbers. the shed is important. we've seen that cats getting lower doses are able to be countered with a teaspoon of high carb food. at 15 units i could bring punkin up with about 1/4 can of fancy feast if i wanted to. i think the greater the dose, the more it might take and the longer period of time you'd have to monitor for. this would be one of those things that you will have to try out and see what works on weezer.
 
Hello again,
All caught up.

I wanted to clarify my earlier comment:
Sandy and Black Kitty said:
It's my understanding that the evil antibodies do have a life span, and when they give up the ghost, they also give up the insulin that was bound to them.
As long as the IAA is active, new antibodies are coming onto the scene. So there are replacements for the ones that die. However, the day will likely come when there are no longer replacements :cool:

Easy does it with your use of R. As I mentioned earlier, because of the nature of IAA, you may see effects much later than in the usual 2-5 hour window following a shot. You are dealing with something very fluid here. Watch for any patterns however be aware that things can shift. Know thy cat.

Years ago there was a bean with a HD kitty who used R. Auto pilot took over one night and the bean thought they may have pulled the number of Lantus units from the R vial; they could not remember. This resulted in a trip to the emergency vet and a whole lot of worry. It all turned out OK - -apparently the mistake was not made. Ever since then I placed 2 stickies on the counter where I prepared BKs shots. One stickie was labeled R and the other Lantus. The vials were then set next to their respective stickie, as where the prepared syringes. Then both vials went back in the fridge. I didn't want to take any chances.

I'm glad you decided to give R a try. My thoughts, from the IAA side of the house, are that at some point heading up the dosing ladder (in high dose territory), the shed will get very big. Since IAA can break quickly and at any time, you would then not only have the release of insulin from the departed antibodies (which can go on for several weeks), but also a shed the size of Lake Michigan to cope with. So a touch of R in the mix can help not only to get numbers into a safe range but also keep the Lantus shed smaller. Your first sign that IAA is breaking is a noticeable return of sensitivity to R.

It is a good idea to develop an R dosing scale, as a guide. Once you get more R data under your belt it will come into focus.
Then it will likely change ;-) We went through many R scales on our journey.

FWIW, I have a good feeling about it. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top