1/8 Tiki - PMPS 213, +3 199,

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311

How is Tiki feeling, today?

As far as the 55 at +12, last night. As long as I was going to be home to monitor and had all the necessary supplies;
I would have stalled a bit (without feeding), and tested again to see if I could get some rising numbers, and then shot the insulin, if the numbers were rising.
Those are the extra exciting cycles, when Tiki could possibly earn a dose reduction.

Now, we have to wait for the bounce to clear, and hope to catch a low mid-cycle number, or another opportunity to shoot a lower than "normal" (for Tiki) PS number. We will help you if you decide to stall. Most of us, have been there.

Also, some cats have very late nadirs (like at +11 or at +12), and some cats will do double dips where they have a regular mid-cycle nadir and then will have another dip down in BG numbers right before PS time.
Would you be able to get a +9, or a +10, on occasion, so we can compare that number to the +12 test?

Come on Tiki, clear this bounce ;-)
 
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311

I've gotten some input that I want to pass along.

I don't recall what your schedule is like so you'll need to guide us on what's feasible. Are you able to get some late in the cycle checks (like +10 and/or +11)? Getting these checks in will help us to find out where the low numbers are coming from. A variety of scenarios, like a late nadir, a bounce clearing, or a second dip could account for what's happening and how to address the dose issue depends on what the cause is.

I agree with Dyana about getting comfortable with shooting low. If you take a look at the section on "becoming data ready" in the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky, there's some good info on this issue. It's absolutely scary the first time you are shooting a lower green number. We also don't let you fly solo the first couple of times. There are any number of people who will hang out with you to make sure Tiki is safe and you're not panicking. (We sometimes even work in shifts since we have people in the western time zones.)
 
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311, +5 273,

Tiki has been sleeping all day. Typical cat! :lol:

My work schedule is a mess. I pretty much work around the clock. I leave in the morning by 930a and sometimes I am home by 5p other days not until 7p or 8p. Once I get home I have to type up reports that are due by 12m but usually find myself working until 2a or 3a. My job is killing me so for a resolution I have decided to somehow to take my life back but that will be short lived I am sure. It's all about deadlines and meeting them, that's how we are measured. All throughout Dec all of our senior management jumped ship and over the holidays they forced people to take time off where normally they preferred that they worked. Something is up so moving forward I would like to do as well as I can so as not to be let go in some strange layoff scenario - although I secretly wish they'd just fire me so I can get my life back. But to answer your questions yes I should be able to get late cycle readings. My only concern is if he is running downhill and I have a ton of deadlines that I am working on I wont really have the time to run all over the house every 30 mins to test him.
 
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311, +5 273,

Sometimes he hangs out with me on purpose in the evenings. Other nights he chills elsewhere. He is the typical cat where as soon as you close him in behind a closed door, he wants out, and as soon as you close the door behind him he wants back in. LOL But you're right - having the food there with us might make the difference. That hasn't been the case in the past.
 
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311, +5 273,

Wow...hope things get better with your job, Tonya.
These days, it's so much easier for us to be taken for granted and worked to death.

Tiki...let's work with mom a little, ok, buddy?
 
Re: 1/8 Tiki - AMPS 311, +5 273,

And we put up with it for fear of being one of the thousands without a job! The only thing that makes me feel better is all my co-workers complain about the same thing so I know I am not alone! Even that sounds sick! lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top