Do you have empty gel capsules? You can combine meds into one and then just need to shove one down his throat. They can be a life saver. Available on Amazon and other sites too. The size for cats is #3 or #4. The higher the number the smaller the capsules.
Did the vets say why he’s on an antibiotic? Not a standard treatment for pancreatitis.
It’s good to give a treat after each ear poke. Freeze dried 100% protein treats work well such as Pur Bites but there are many.
Thanks for starting a new condo and using the posting format. It makes it so much easier fir those trying to help. You are a quick learner.![]()
Oh and while feeling his gums make sure they are nice and pink rather than pale
The moist gums is more accurate for older days than the skin test. As for checking to see if pink that was because I noticed his hemocrit was a little low but that was likely from fluids and not feeling well.
What was his bg at shot time? It’s not on your spreadsheet.
You need to feed him when hungry. The only time to pick up food is two hours before insulin.
Hi Elise, just wanted to check , did you mean to say That was enough to shoot or that wasn't enough to shoot, since she was giving 2 units and only gave 1 unit tonight and his PMPS was 425You need to feed him when hungry. The only time to pick up food is two hours before insulin. Did you test his bg before insulin? You need to give him his insulin based upon his numbers and not by how much he’s eating. That was enough to shoot. The insulin won’t kick in for about two hours.
What was his bg at shot time? It’s not on your spreadsheet.
With Lantus, it is not necessary that he has to eat all his food at the time of the shot. He can eat small meals through the cycle.What happens if he's not hungry after the two hours when I need to give insulin?
Syringe/Assisted Feeding (Videos and Tips)What food do you guys use when syringe feeding? (Just in case I have to)
With Lantus, it is not necessary that he has to eat all his food at the time of the shot. He can eat small meals through the cycle.
Diabetic kitties do well with multiple small meals. It's easier on the pancreas. And they are usually ravenous till their blood sugar comes to lower numbers so feeding more often keeps them happier. Most of us feed every 2-3 hours. An autofeeder comes very useful to feed at night and when not at home to feed.That's really good to know. If I syringe feed, it would be ok to split it into 4 meals? Like some every 6 hours? Two of those would be with his insulin.
Diabetic kitties do well with multiple small meals. It's easier on the pancreas. And they are usually ravenous till their blood sugar comes to lower numbers so feeding more often keeps them happier. Most of us feed every 2-3 hours. An autofeeder comes very useful to feed at night and when not at home to feed.
They do. Here are some posts discussing autofeeder options:I didn't know they made automatic feeders for wet food.
You can feed till 2 hours before the shot. Is he getting food only twice a day? You want him to eat every 2-3 hours.It was so hard on him to go 12 hours today. By the time he wanted to eat today, we were only a few hours from insulin time.
Give it time. He is probably feeding off your anxiety as well.Right now he is starting to walk away when he sees me approaching.![]()
They do. Here are some posts discussing autofeeder options:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...1-2-101-5-pmps-208-160-2.253708/#post-2860391
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-26-milo-pmps-357-1-382.255948/#post-2882304
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...70-8-64-8-591-9175-10173.244004/#post-2752564
You can feed till 2 hours before the shot. Is he getting food only twice a day? You want him to eat every 2-3 hours.
Give it time. He is probably feeding off your anxiety as well.![]()
I have no experience with Cerenia. I am going to tag @tiffmaxee to help you with that.I have a question about cerenia. In the past I've given a whole pill once a day, and also broken a pill in half and given it twice a day. Which do you think is best for a cat with pancreatitis?
I was saying she should shoot. I would have given the full dose.Hi Elise, just wanted to check , did you mean to say That was enough to shoot or that wasn't enough to shoot, since she was giving 2 units and only gave 1 unit tonight and his PMPS was 425
@tiffmaxee
How many mg is the pill? It’s given every 24 hours, not every 12.I have no experience with Cerenia. I am going to tag @tiffmaxee to help you with that.