? 1/8 Silver AMPS 308 - PMPS 320 is this NDW?

Status
Not open for further replies.
It’s important so you can figure out if kitty is bouncing or if he’s lost duration and is going to come right back down after the next shot.

It’s also important if the kitty has extended duration so you can tell if he/she is getting carryover and/or overlap.

Let’s say kitty is 60 at +5 but was fed a lot of HC food and so at +8, is at 285. The BG climbs a little more until the end of the cycle and is at 300 at PMPS. But at +2, kitty onsets from the next shot and drops to 175 and proceeds to have a green cycle. That’s indicative of loss of duration but most members would say it was a bounce that cleared fast.

Why is that important? Because the CG thinks kitty is bouncing and so no test is needed after PMPS until +4 before bed and guess what? Kitty is at 60!!!!

It’s also important because the CG thinks the kitty is bouncing instead of surfing but he can’t surf because of the loss of duration. The CG might think, “well this dose is barely getting him to green for very long” but it could be the HC putting the brakes on the duration.

It’s also important to know if the kitty has a longer duration. Gracie could nadir at +15 from the previous dose on Levemir which would be +3 from the current dose. And then she would onset at +4. I had to be prepared that she was going to likely take a big drop at onset.

While longer or shorter duration might be hard to spot, it can be done with a little practice, learning, asking questions. However, because so many members never learned to spot it, they tell others that it’s a bounce when numbers go up. Sometimes it is a bounce, sometimes it’s just the normal rise at the end of a cycle, sometimes it’s loss of duration.
Me and him think we almost get this now. If we exchange the word duration for absorption . Our analogy being an alka seltzer . Fizzes slowly , then fast, then slowing down to nothing.
 
Cool. But it's prob not a problem as us 3 chickens (Juliet Heidi & M) were trying to learn together. Lol
Since I couldn’t find anything on Myagi, I copied my post to you on Myagi’s condo below:

I couldn’t find an example on Myagi’s SS but there are several on Gracie’s after her endoscopy when things went crazy.

Click on her SS and scroll to 10/31. Remember she was on Levemir and so she often nadired at +12. She lost duration the a.m. cycle of 10/31, went up, came back down after PMPS. She bounced then and I gave her R so she was back down by p.m. cycle of 11/1. She lost duration that p.m. cycle, was up by AMPS and then came right back down and nipped green. Lost duration again but came back down in the p.m. cycle 11/2.

It was a trying time because she just couldn’t hold onto her duration and it wasn’t the insulin, the shot, etc. we believe something happened during her endoscopy because everything changed after that. You can see how she started getting into pinks and her overall curves were higher.

Let me know if you see what I’m talking about about. :)
 
Me and him think we almost get this now. If we exchange the word duration for absorption . Our analogy being an alka seltzer . Fizzes slowly , then fast, then slowing down to nothing.
Absorption and duration aren’t the same. :p

Absorption can affect duration but they are different. Absorption is how much insulin is available to the cat and depot from a shot. Duration is how long that insulin influences the cycle.
 
Absorption and duration aren’t the same. :p

Absorption can affect duration but they are different. Absorption is how much insulin is available to the cat and depot from a shot. Duration is how long that insulin influences the cycle.

I realise the difference in the meaning of the words but it is helping get the whole thing to stick for me and him. My brain hurts. :smuggrin:
 
I realise the difference in the meaning of the words but it is helping get the whole thing to stick for me and him. My brain hurts. :smuggrin:

Had to run before finished . I forgot to put one of the litter trays into the shower room and so Ty peed all over the floor.
See what happens when paying attention to lessons Juliet. *giggle*

Anyway @Marje and Gracie . I wanted to write thanks so much for taking the time to try & bring more clarity to this class of three. I've copied and printed .
 
Ok girls. This duration thing just went completely over my head! :banghead: when he's flat Myagi's would be almost 12 hours. But when he's dropping/ improving (which is what's wanted), he doesn't go back as high as that shot number. So what's the duration?

@Juliet @PussCatPrince
So it turns out the +2 pearls of wisdom were spread out over many conversations. The gist was it's our best time/tool for seeing where our kid is likely to go on the cycle. You directly compare +2 to pre shot as an indicator (not a guarantee) of the cycle. These notes were specifically for Myagi so I deleted what wasn't relevant to the generic explanation for us.

"By and large, if his +2 is less than his PS, he’s going to have a pretty active cycle. If you look on 1/5 when you didn’t test until +3, he took a substantial drop. Most likely, he was dropping by +2 but you want to try and catch the drop early enough to just slow it down a bit and flatten him out.
  • Controlling the drop with LC food can also allow you to hold the dose longer.....keep the nadir up a bit. Keeping the nadir = holding the dose (if it gets him into green) = healing pancreas
  • A very good technique is “getting them on a surfboard”. We want to teach the liver to like green numbers. To do that, at the first green number, be sure and feed him a couple tsp of LC food and see if he will get on that surfboard and stay on it for longer periods of time. You don’t have to overfeed him but the goal is to teach the liver that “green is good” . This goes back to bullet 2 above.
  • Like many FD cats, a flat yellow cycle, often is followed by a bounce break."
Yeah. It this is so impractical. “As soon as he hits green feed him a couple teaspoons low carb”. This presumes you can. This whole thing seems geared to stay at home people who can test often, feed HC LC whatever whenever and doesn’t take into account that people actually have to have jobs.
 
Had to run before finished . I forgot to put one of the litter trays into the shower room and so Ty peed all over the floor.
See what happens when paying attention to lessons Juliet. *giggle*

Anyway @Marje and Gracie . I wanted to write thanks so much for taking the time to try & bring more clarity to this class of three. I've copied and printed .
You’re welcome. And I haven’t forgotten about you and Ty. ;)
 
Yeah. It this is so impractical. “As soon as he hits green feed him a couple teaspoons low carb”. This presumes you can. This whole thing seems geared to stay at home people who can test often, feed HC LC whatever whenever and doesn’t take into account that people actually have to have jobs.
That advice was given to Heidi for Myagi. It wasn’t intended for Silver.
 
Well it’s a bit confusing when it lands up in Silver’s condo.
I didn’t post it in Silver’s condo. Heidi was just trying to help you. She also wasn’t indicating it was something you needed to do.

It’s not necessary to take every bit of information given to you so literally. Take the opportunity to learn from it and if it doesn’t work for you and Silver, don’t do it. But please be kind to those trying to share information. Heidi and M have the very best of intentions, as does everyone on the board.
 
Blame your fellow classmates. We were unruly after you went to bed.

Forgive us.
Sorry Juliet. I thought I noted it was written fur Myagi and I tried to delete cat specific comments. On a day when you are home doing your curves it would apply. We were all working together yesterday. I did not mean to unduly distress you further. Again, mea culpa. :bighug:
 
Sorry Juliet. I thought I noted it was written fur Myagi and I tried to delete cat specific comments. On a day when you are home doing your curves it would apply. We were all working together yesterday. I did not mean to unduly distress you further. Again, mea culpa. :bighug:
No worries. I’m reading half asleep. One of those days. My stress levels are waaay too high.
 
I didn’t post it in Silver’s condo. Heidi was just trying to help you. She also wasn’t indicating it was something you needed to do.

It’s not necessary to take every bit of information given to you so literally. Take the opportunity to learn from it and if it doesn’t work for you and Silver, don’t do it. But please be kind to those trying to share information. Heidi and M have the very best of intentions, as does everyone on the board.
I don’t believe I was unkind. Wow. Tone is so misinterpreted in the written word. Bowing out of this condo.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top