1/8 Ruby-starting to home test in the AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

lexiruby

Member Since 2010
Hi there,
My name is Jen. My kitty is Ruby. Ruby was diagnosed 5 months ago and is currently on Lantus, 2 units 2x's a day. She is now showing signs of diabetic neuropathy and it really worries me. Thanks to Lori and Tomtom we got her home testing kit in the mail yesterday. I have watched the videos and feel confident I can home test her.
She is a great girl and will let me do anything to her, she is a trooper!
Anyway, she is still on dry food (science diet w/d). I didn't want to switch her to wet food until I was home testing because I know her glucose numbers will go down.
Sorry, I am not up to speed on any of the Lantus language! Long story short, when I get her first reading in the AM I am going to post it on this link because I will need advice on what dosage of Lantus to give her. She was at the vet 2 weeks ago for her glucose curve and she was as low a 279 and as high as 330. I also plan to put her on methyl B12 if her hind legs don't seem to get better when I get her diabetes regulated.
I would really appreciate some advice anyone has to offer. I will also post if I have any problems getting a reading from her. I plan to test at about 9am central time.
In the mean time, if anyone would like to offer advice I will check this post when I wake up. Thank you and I am sorry I don't know the "language" yet.
Jan :?:
 
Hi Jen and Ruby,

I'm so glad you are going to start home testing, it has really helped Whiskers and I. I'm sorry Ruby is showing signs of Diabetic neuropathy. I don't have any experiance with that, but there are other who do. It is great that you got a newbie kit from Lori and Tom, we got one as well. We are relativly new still, so others with more experiance will be able to offer advise. One thing I do know is the dry food is a leading cause of diabetis in cats, but it appears you are aware of that. When switching to wet food you will need to monitor her blood glucose as soon as you switch.

take care it sounds like you are off to a good start :razz: .
 
Hi Jen and Ruby, welcome to Lantus Land. My cat, Simon, was only diagnosed in November of 2010 so I am still a newbie. When my cat was diagnosed, my vet put him on dry W/D and had me give him 4 units of lantus. Right after I started giving him the insulin, I found this site and also received a newbie kit from Lori. The first time I tested, it was 12 hours after I gave him his morning insulin so he should have been fairly high. At the vet he was in the 300's the last time they did a curve. He was only at 40! If I had not hometested him, I would have gone ahead and given him the 4 units of lantus and I'm sure he would have hypo'd overnight while I slept. So as you can see, the great people on this site probably saved my kittie. A couple of them even stayed up with me into the wee hours of the morning, helping me as I got Simon's numbers to go higher so he wouldn't hypo. I have switched him to all low carb canned food and immediately reduced his insulin to 1 unit. If you pull up his spreadsheet, you can see that I have never had to go up from the 1 unit and Simon is doing great right now on only .25 units. I have not brought Simon back to do anymore curves at the vets since his stress level is high at the vet which probably causes him to go high. Good luck with the home testing. It took me awhile to get used to doing it and don't feel bad if you waste alot of strips in the beginning, trying to draw blood. It definitely helps to warm his ear before you try to draw blood. Also, based on advice I got here, I hold his ear right below where I want to poke and put a little pressure on it. This somehow helps the blood to pool better. Also a little vaselin helps pool the blood so it doesn't go all over the ear, making it harder to get a sample. Once you start testing, be sure to do a spreadsheet so others can offer advice based on what numbers you are seeing. You might find that 2 units is too much. I found out most cats on this forum started around 1 unit of lantus. I am not a dosing expert, so hopefully someone with more experience can advise. Anyway, just wanted to welcome you -- you have found a wonderful site, full of caring individuals.
 
.

hello Jen and Ruby, welcome to Lantus Land (LL)

Important questions for you:
I took a peek back to your previous threads in the Health forum, and did not see any information on:
-Ruby's age and current weight.
-any history of ketones? Had your vet checked for that?
-are there any other health issues that have been confirmed besides the feline diabetes and neuropathy?


I'm adding a bunch of handy links here for you, my post to you may look long and overwhelming, but it's really not, it just looks that way :lol:
You may like to save them for printing and for future reference.
Take your time learning the lingo, getting to know the in's and out's of LL, we are here to help!

First stop: You will find these information stickies up top here in LL.
New to the Group How to post in LL, how to do a curve, syringe pics, the LL slang dictionary., etc...and great links too!

Lantus Land is a data happy forum.
We like data, as well as the very important questions:
Should I increase/decrease the dose?
Am I Data ready to Shoot Low Numbers

It would be helpful for others here if you had a spreadsheet in the works. This will also help you keep track of Ruby's progress. As well as, helping you make decisions on dosing. Data is key for this.
Follow the instructions in the link. How to Create & Publish Your Spreadsheet

Next stop: the protocol used here in Lantus Land: Others will be by to elaborate, but do read up on this for now.
Lantus & Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol

Very helpful links and good idea to print out:
Dealing With Low Preshots
Dont Panic! Or How to Handle Low Numbers

Very important links from the Health Links forum on the main board: print these for sure!
Hypo Tool Kit
How to Treat Hypo

And last but not least, the link for Dr Lisa's website and full of information on food transitioning.
Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition & How to Transition From Dry to Wet Food

Does your kitty like treats? These come in handy when home testing, positive reinforment for good behaviour when you are home testing cat_pet_icon
Low Carb Kitty Treats

One more! This is something you can do when you have lots of free time. Having a kitty Profile prevents the same questions asked over and over again about your kitty. How To Create a Profile

Hope to see you posting again, remember we are to help you along, ask all questions you may have.
 
You're doing fine with the language so far. I'm so glad you're going to start home testing, and you've received good advice.

I'm just popping in your condo to say "Welcome Jen and Ruby!" :-D
 
Hey Jen and Ruby,

Welcome. You are in good hands. Regarding the diabetic nuerapothy. My kitty was suffering from this problem too. I began adding 2-3 mg of liquid Methylcobalamin to his food daily, dividing the dose with each feeding. It's only been about a five weeks or so, but there has been MAJOR improvement. It can take several month before it reverses itself completely but B12 does seem to work to accelerate the process and you may even note some changes within the first few days.

You are on the right track.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm another Chicagoland person - so welcome on that account, too.

Answering the questions Ronnie outlined will be helpful - especially those questions about whether Ruby has ever had ketones or diabetic ketoacidosis or any other medical concerns (e.g., steroid use).

What foods are you planning on transitioning Ruby to? And do you know if she'll readily eat canned food? The Hill's W/D dry is 37% carb so it may make sense to drop Ruby's dose since you are just getting acclimated to home testing. You're right - switching to a low carb, canned diet can have a dramatic effect on numbers. I'm thinking that if Ruby will eat canned food without a problem, that you may want to drop her dose to 1.0u just to be safe.

In the link to the dosing protocol that we use, there are some general guidelines that I'd draw your attention to.
WHEN FOLLOWING A TIGHT REGULATION PROTOCOL WITH LANTUS OR LEVEMIR...

* Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir.
Blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9.
More monitoring may be needed.

* It will be necessary to test kitty's blood glucose levels multiple times per day.

* Learn the signs of and how to treat HYPOGLYCEMIA and prepare a HYPO TOOLBOX.

* Test regularly for ketones and know about DIABETIC KETOACIDOSIS (DKA).

* Use U-100 3/10cc syringes with half units marked on the barrel for fine dosing.

* Feed a high quality low carb canned or raw food diet.

* Feed small meals throughout the day. Some kitties adapt well to free feeding.

Especially if you are switching to a low carb (LC) diet, getting those tests in will be important. Likewise, if you can get some high carb (HC), gravy style food to help with managing lower numbers, that is essential. Many people here use Fancy Feast (FF) grilled or marinated style food or their "Gravy Lovers" variety. Basically, we consider any food that's above about 15% to be HC. LC is in the below 10% range, although most of us probably feed at around 5% or lower. Also, if Ruby is used to free feeding on dry food, putting out small amounts of canned food throughout the day will allow her to continue to graze. You just want to make sure she doesn't eat 2 hours prior to shot time so her pre-shot test isn't influenced by the effects of food.

If you don't already have syringes that are marked in 1/2 unit increments, that's another item for your shopping list. I don't know if there's a Walmart in your area -- there's not one in the city. If there is, their house brand, Relion, does come in 1/2 units. If not, Hocks (there's a link under the FDMB logo at the top of the page) is a good resource. I use their house brand -- GNP.

Ronnie is also correct in that the amount of information in the links she provided is daunting. It can make your brain hurt! So, please ask questions. The people here are very generous with their time and information. We're here to help. Please visit our condos (it's what we call our daily thread -- one condo per cat per day) and take a look at our spreadsheets (SS). It's a great way to learn. And please post regularly so we can help and so we can get to know Ruby.
 
Welcome Jen and Ruby!! Just dropping in to see what' s up. I see you have gotten lots of good information already. Glad you are starting home testing. Very very important! Good idea to wait until you start home testing to switch food. Dry food will really do a job on the bg's and you don't want to be giving more insulin when the numbers are lower on wet food.
Spot also suffered from neuropathy. The Methl-B-12 worked awesomely! If I were you, I would not wait to start Ruby on it. It will only do her good to get started.
Hope you guys have a great day and that your first home test goes w/o incident!
 
Well, after 2 pricks, and I did get blood. The meter had an error message both times. I don't want to try again at the moment because my Ruby seems to be mad at me:(
Should I give her the shot? Or should I wait 10 minutes or so and try again before I give her the shot?
I know everyone has posted more questions for me and throughout the day I will make Ruby a profile and answer the questions. At the moment I am concerned about getting her first reading a home!
I don't want to tramatize her!
Help!!
 
Hopefully, you have some low carb treats -- chicken breast or deli stuff (providing you know what's in it) will be fine if you don't -- around. Given Ruby a treat for being a good sport. I'd wait and try it again. It's easier if you warm the ear a bit. Sometimes just holding the edge of her ear in your fingers will be fine. Some folks here use a sock filled with rice that they warm in the microwave. It also takes a bit for the ear to "learn" to bleed.

You just need to display that your confident (even if you're not feeling that way). If you are anxious, you'll communicate that to Ruby. So.... deep breath and give it another try.
 
what meter are you using?
Sometimes you will get an error if you dont have enough blood on the strip. Could that be the problem?
Did the meter come with instructions?
Maybe take a break for 10-15minutes. Give ruby some good pets and kisses.
It will take some practice, but eventually it will become second hand to both of you.
 
I am using the onetouch ultra mini
Yes, I think the problem is not enough blood.
I will wait and try again in a bit.
Thanks for the help
 
Sienne's suggestion of using a rice sock (did it come with the kit?) and warming the ear up well is a good one. You could pet and knead it a little bit to warm it up and get the blood going, too. Its hard to get them bleeding at first. Once their ears get used to it, you shouldnt have a problem getting a good sample of blood nearly every time.

Good Luck! Glad you found the group for some guidance and support.
 
OK, got a reading, Finally! Not good. 396!!
She could be stressed because I had to try several times.
I am feeding her now, I will give her the normal 2 units of Lantus and I plan to test again in 2 hours.
Any other suggestions are more than welcome!!
I am going out today to get some wet food and treats for her. Any food suggestions would be very helpful.
Thank you to everyone for your support and help.
Ruby and Jen
 
Ya! You got the test! Nice Job! :mrgreen:

Here is a link to Janet and Binky's page listing carbs in canned food. You could print it up and bring it to the store with you.
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodNew.html
her main page:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/canfood.html

You will want the lowest carb foods you can get. Probably under 5
You will also want to pick up some cans or pouches in a medium range of carbs (5-8ish???), and some with a high amount of carbs. The gravy in these higher carb foods would be used if you catch Ruby too low. It should help bring her BG's back up. If you do not have Karo in the house, maybe grab a bottle as soon as you can.

Wellness, fancy feast, and sophistocat seem popular. If you are looking for grain free...wellness, some fancy feast, evo, merricks

Freeze dried chicken treats are very popular and low carb. :) You could do boiled chicken, too.

If you have not looked at this website, it may help you with the transition to wet:
http://www.catinfo.org/

A +2 would be GREAT!!!!! :mrgreen:
 
lexiruby said:
OK, got a reading, Finally! Not good. 396!!
She could be stressed because I had to try several times.
I am feeding her now, I will give her the normal 2 units of Lantus and I plan to test again in 2 hours.
Any other suggestions are more than welcome!!
I am going out today to get some wet food and treats for her. Any food suggestions would be very helpful.
Thank you to everyone for your support and help.
Ruby and Jen


Hi Jen

I just wasted a strip cuz Luna didn't bleed enough, so it happens to all of us!
As for foods to try, remember, take your time with the transition, as numbers can drop when you remove dry food....I would suggest get several different types of brands and flavours, example, Fancy Feast, Whiskas etc. Wellness is a premium brand and available at independent pet stores and PetSmart I believe is now carrying them.
During food transitioning it can take a bit of coaching to try to get them to eat - whatever you do, don't buy a case just yet.

Here is another link for u, as if you didn't get enough already, lol! Janet & Binky's Food Charts
If you have a printer, print it out, it's rather long, or just jot down some brands, remember you want to look for LC (low carb %) typically under 10%, on the charts, again, with your data collecting you will see how each % of carbs affects Ruby and the numbers, it's gonna take a little time, but you will get there.

The actual cans themselves won't give you that information, so do take note on the charts which is considered LC.
You'll also want to stock up on some gravy flavours, as per the charts, those carb % will be a bit higher, those will be good to have in your Hypo Tool Kit.
(note: regular Fancy Feast is listed in the "old canned chart" list)

You are getting awesome feedback here, and lots to read and do...take your time k?
 
Ronnie gave you a link "New to the Group" above. If you click on that, you'll find another link to Janet & Binky's Food Chart. Look that over for low-carb options. There's a wide variety to choose from. Anything under 10% is considered low carb and a good place to start. Also, tho, pick up a few cans of high carb, preferably something in gravy, like Fancy Feast Gravy Lover's to have on hand in case Ruby goes low and you need to bump her up.

Great job on getting your first home test! And welcome to Lantus Land! Things are overwhelming at first, you've been given a lot of information to read thru. Hang in there, it will get easier!

Oh, Ronnie was posting same time as me, so some of this info is repeat :lol:
 
Welcome to lantus Land, Jen & Ruby!

i too have seen marked improvement with Binks' neuropathy since he has become better regulated.
we use MB12 also..

nice job on home testing!

Celi & Binks
 
Welcome to Lantus Land Jen and Ruby. You've gotten some great advice!! I use the one touch ultra mini and LOVE it..the strips don't take much blood but sometimes we waste a strip as well...nature of the beast in home testing. So glad you are doing the tests....you'll get a much better idea of what is going on with Ruby. Ask questions as much as you want...we're all here to help.
 
You are definitely in good hands with the folks on this board. Their knowledge is incredible! About two months ago I transitioned Casanova from dry to wet and he's doing great! I will tell you the change in food will make a huge difference in BG numbers! Before switching to all wet, he was getting 10 units twice daily which in retrospect is crazy. He's currently getting 4 units but I do have to make an effort to test often because his numbers do flucuate. It is not always easy but believe me it does get easier and the piece of mind you get from knowing the BG numbers is worth it. I know the prick on the ear hurts a little but Casanova is so used to it now, when he sees me coming he just lays down and lets me do my thing. Good luck and don't hesitated to ask questions-everyone is sooooo helpful.

Laura
 
Welcome to Lantus Land! Willie was diagnosed one month ago, and this place has been a godsend. Glad that you're having good luck getting started on home testing... it will make a huge difference in getting Ruby's numbers under control. In addition to your pre-shot pokes, try to get in some spot checks when you can... will help you to paint a picture of what Lantus does for Ruby.

Great start so far! Good luck with the diet changes! You'll see a difference!
 
Welcome Jen and Ruby,
I won't add to the wealth of info. you've received already. Just want to tell you you've come to the right place. Congrats on your first successful ear test!!! (it will get easier)

Ella & Rusty
 
I hope that things do get easier. Why does it hurt me more to see her go through this?
I just tried to get another reading, just to check on things, and I whimped out :sad:
I will try again in a couple of minutes. The problem is that when I get close to the ear, she lets out this little, tiny meow that sounds so sad.
It gets to me! Do they really get used to this? should I be rotating the ears?
Thanks in advance,
Jen
 
lexiruby said:
I hope that things do get easier. Why does it hurt me more to see her go through this?
I just tried to get another reading, just to check on things, and I whimped out :sad:
I will try again in a couple of minutes. The problem is that when I get close to the ear, she lets out this little, tiny meow that sounds so sad.
It gets to me! Do they really get used to this? should I be rotating the ears?
Thanks in advance,
Jen

Hi Ruby,

Yes, it does get easier. First make sure she gets a treat for the test. This trains her to look forward...past the ouchie. Second try your lancet on yourself...you will then know how it feels. Many folks start out using the most pokey level in an effort to get the drop, but it is really a techique issue and a training the ear to bleed issue. If you get a drop/spot of blood...massage the ear first to get a bigger drop...less pokies that way. Lastly, make sure you are not actually piercing all the way through the ear, this contributes to the blood pooling under the skin and not on top of the ear.

I hope that helps some. Put a littel neosporin on the ears too. and yes rotate if you can sometimes one ear is easier than the other.
 
Thank you, I will keep all of that in mind.
I am now trying to do the spreadsheet, so confused. But I gotta tell you, I am stressed.
 
A few slow breaths and step away from this stuff for a few minutes to clear your head. No one expects you to understand everything all at once. We've all been newbies and we understand.

What many of us find is that one ear bleeds easier than the other. You may find it's easier for you to test one ear. Beth (aka "Blue") mentioned using the lancet device. I have always free handed my pokes. The device never felt comfortable in my hand and I felt like I had more control just holding the lancet. It's all very individual.

It really does get easier. I promise. I test a lot. Gabby rarely puts up a fuss. Many cats will be waiting at their testing spot because they know the routine and they know they get treats. As long as you don't communicate your stress to Ruby, it will be fine. Testing is a time for treats, affection, and praise. It may sound silly at this point, but it is a bonding experience. Ruby will understand that what you're doing will help her to feel better.
 
Welcome, Jen and Ruby! I'm also in Chicagoland.

You're doing great with Ruby. You'll both get used to the routine. Try to stay relaxed yourself. I still get all anxious when I know I didn't get enough blood and the meter is going to beep at me. I've started singing to Johnny really quietly. It probably relaxes him a little and it keeps me from feeling frustrated because I'm distracted. I find it soothing. lol
 
Hi I just wanted to say welcome.

You really are doing great! It will get easier each time you test. My routine is similar to the rest that have posted here. I have Mannie on my lap, talk to him, and pet him prior to testing. We have our little routine. He now purrs anytime I test - often he is waiting at his test spot when it is time to test. he gets his treat afterwards. I also do not use a lancing device - i free hand poke. The device just never felt comfortable in my hand - too big, awkward etc. The lancet is small enough that I can handle it easy enough on its own. I so agree with Sienne - it is a bonding experience. I truly believe that my kitty knows that I am trying to help him, and he no longer fusses. I am sure Ruby will get used to the pokes. She will know that you guys are a team.

So - breathe deep, keep trying, and know that each day it will be better.
 
Hi and Do Lou and I want to welcome you to LL :mrgreen: and its so great you are home testing I gave up in my first home testing days because I was unable to get Do Lou to let me touch his ears he HATES his ears touched and it was 4 months later before I returned to this wonderful board when he was put on lantus from being on N and I just knew we had to learn somehow my cat is one of the very few whose testing is done on paw pads it still took us a while to get the routine down but he is great now and purrs the entire time and gets a treat afterwards. And getting off dry really made such a difference in his numbers. Just take your time and read all the stickys at the top of this page more then once when you have time. Its overwhelming at first all the things to learn about but this board is a life saver and you have sooooo many great people here to help you and Ruby :mrgreen:
 
Welcome to LL. It is overwhelming but you have so many people supporting you through this now. Ear pricks will become just the norm and Ruby will adjust. Especially once she knows the treats and attention go along with it.

The rice sock really helped Maverick's ears bleed the first couple of weeks. I would rub him all over with it to make him love it lol. And told him how beautiful he was - until his ear was good and warm.

You prick on the outer edge but more often than not in the beginning we had to milk the blood spot out so it was more than a speck.

I found this light at walmart/ace hardware and it lights up the vein (which you don't want to hit directly) and provides a firm backing. We don't use the lancet that came with the kit but freehand it. Just a tiny prick not hard enough to pierce the ear. And we hold the spot firmly between tissue papers for 20 seconds to prevent bruising. I think my first post on here I was most worried about the ear pricking. I was thinking his ear would look tattered and mangled and you can't even tell without the light that we test his ears. Just like everyone said.

Here are pics:

DSCN0312.jpg


DSCN0315.jpg


The group here is amazing.
 
And oh...one more thing about the ear poke...

try doing it just above the ear flap...it seems the initial "sweet spot" is easiest there.
 
:YMHUG: Jen :YMHUG:
This was your first day testing, yes??? And no one to SHOW you??? Nice job!!!!!!! You are doing F I N E! It really does get easier. You have been given so many great tips already today. I do hope you find them useful.

Dont stress about the spreadsheet. If you need any help with it, someone Im sure would be able to help guide you.

How did food shopping go? Sometimes it can be kind of fun (in a weird way, LOL).

Hang in there! You are going to be okay, really!
 
Hi everyone,
Food shopping went wonderful! I found about 5 cans that I got her, all different flavors. Just did the second test of the day, her bg is 391! So high!
I think I am going to give her the canned food tonight. I think because her bg is so high, I can just give her the canned. I guess I will give her the
normal 2 units, I don't want to over do it! I will test again when I get up. Any other ideas?
 
hi there, just wanted to repost what Sienne mentioned about your dose and changing to the wet food diet:

What foods are you planning on transitioning Ruby to? And do you know if she'll readily eat canned food? The Hill's W/D dry is 37% carb so it may make sense to drop Ruby's dose since you are just getting acclimated to home testing. You're right - switching to a low carb, canned diet can have a dramatic effect on numbers. I'm thinking that if Ruby will eat canned food without a problem, that you may want to drop her dose to 1.0u just to be safe.

This may also be very helpful for you since you are new to hometesting.

When you have a chance, I hope you can help answers these questions, this will help others with further dosing suggestions:

Important questions for you:
I took a peek back to your previous threads in the Health forum, and did not see any information on:
-Ruby's age and current weight.
-any history of ketones? Had your vet checked for that?
-are there any other health issues that have been confirmed besides the feline diabetes and neuropathy?

Hoping you have a good day, when you are ready, you'll want to begin a new topic (new thread/condo) for the day.
 
Hi!!! I know testing is scary and while it seems like you are hurting your kitty, you are helping your kitty so much! There is no feeling in the world like the one when your kitty gets regulated and starts feeling and acting good again!!!!

Here is a list of foods I use:

The Expensive Side

Merrick BG
Beef*
Chicken*
Turkey*

Wellness
Beef & Chicken*
Chicken*
Turkey*

Merrick
Cowboy Cookout*

Evo
EVO 95% Beef*
EVO 95% Chicken & Turkey*
EVO 95% Duck
EVO 95% Venison*

Nature’s Variety
Raw beef*
Raw Chicken & Turkey*


The Cheaper Side

Fancy Feast Classic only
Chicken
Beef & Liver
Turkey and Giblets
Beef
Beef & Chicken
Chopped Grill

Special Kitty (Walmart)
Mixed Grill
Prime Entrée
Super Supper
Turkey & Giblets

Sophisticat (Petsmart)
Beef & Liver
Beef Stew
Country Style
Elegant Entrée
Mixed Grill
Turkey & Giblets

Sophisticat Adult Supreme (Petsmart)
Supreme Beef & Chicken
Supreme Beef
Supreme Gourmet Chicken
Supreme Turkey & Giblets

Friskie’s Classic Pate
Country Style Dinner*
Liver & Chicken Dinner
Poultry Platter
Supreme Supper
Turkey & Giblets

Friskie’s Special Diet
Beef & Chicken*
Beef & Liver*

* also lower in phosphorous (<250 mg) (important for kitties with chronic kidney disease)

Note that I do not use any fish flavored cat foods. Polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) are flame-retardant industrial chemicals. PBDEs are found in particularly high concentrations in fish that are high up the food chain and, therefore, in sea food flavor cat foods. Could be linked to feline hyperthyroidism.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top