1/8 Mikey PMPS HI (AMPS +208, +2 58!!!!) PM+2 477 +4 298

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Just shoot me! This morning when we got up, Mikey was at 208. We shot .25. I decided to test him at +1 before I ran out the door. He was at 170. That wouldn't be a horrible drop, except that's when he should've had a food spike. I fed him some 12%, and went to work. My class had music, so I ran home and got a +3. It was 58!!!! Since I had to get back to work, I dished up some HC. 15 minutes later, he was 59. I called work to get someone to cover my class for a few minutes, and dished up more HC, but with honey in it. 15 minutes later, he was 60! I filled his timed feeder with HC mixed with about a gallon of honey, and went back to work. The feeder should've gone off in 30 minutes and 60 minutes. I ran home at lunch, and the second compartment hadn't opened. I think I made a mistake in setting it. He was at 159, so I pulled up the food and went back to work. After school at +9.5, he was HI, and he remains HI at PMPS.

Needless to say, the dose increase is off! The question is what the heck do I do now! Clearly he's bouncing and over carbed, so we shot .25 tonight. But I have to work tomorrow and can't get home until about +11! I imagine he'll still be bouncing, so that might not be a big deal. I know reductions are for when they go under 50, and he didn't, but that took a whole lot of HC and honey. Do I need to reduce? I really hate to do that looking at his spreadsheet? I am baffled, confused, and exhausted. I'm also buried in school work that didn't get done, because I was busy running home. How do I keep this stinker safe???
 
I would look at it, that if you would not have intervened with food he would have earned the reduction.
I would take the reduction at this point since you will not be home till +11, I aways take the safe route, hopefully others will chime in in.
 
I think it's also ok to take the dose reduction, given that it was obvious that he would've gone below 50 if you hadn't intervened.

The way he moves we don't know if he's done this every day this week. He's able to dive and zoom back up in short order.

Is there any way at all you can get DH on board with testing? That's the most obvious solution, but i don't know him and don't know if it's possible or not. My husband used to come home at +3 if punkin was lower at preshot, test and load up the feeder, then i'd come home in another couple of hours. Have you read people's tips on the sticky post about working full time?

For tomorrow . . . you have to go with safety first. I'm just not certain what the best route is going to be. I'd definitely get the feeder in play again. It's probably fairly likely he'll have a bounce cycle tomorrow, since he appears to mostly be taking a couple of days to clear his bounces. I think if you reduce the dose + a bounce cycle, chances are pretty good that he'll be on the high side tomorrow. Of course, no one has a crystal ball, so we can't be sure. But that's my guess.
 
I tend to be conservative about reductions. If I don't see the number, then I don't reduce. Given that this is Mikey, I would see what this cycle looks like and where his AMPS is tomorrow -- and even better, can you get a +11 and an AMPS test. If it looks like you've got a dropping number, it may make sense to reduce the dose.
 
So, we agree that the dose increase is out. That much is clear! lol

Darin, I agree that keeping Mikey safe needs to be the priority. He's so sensitive and unpredictable, that's extra hard to do. I shudder to think what would've happened, if I hadn't listened to my instincts and come home, or if it was a day that I couldn't get home.

Julie, Don tests, but unfortunately, it's even harder for him to get home during the day than it is for me. He works quite a ways away. Neither of us can take Mikey along to work either.

Sienne, getting an AM +11, isn't doable, but getting an AMPS, then stalling for half an hour without feeding would be. (Mikey won't like it, but he'll get over it.) Do you think that would be a good idea? My though is that if he's super high, we could just shoot the .25, but if he's pink we could stall. Yellow or lower, we could take the reduction. That's the general thought, you and others my want to recommend some tweaks.

Meanwhile, he's down to 477 at +3. That's high, but this is down from "HI" which is 600 or over. Obviously he's safe at the moment, but that's a big drop, and bears watching. I'm going to be heading to bed in a little while. I'm thinking of grabbing a test first. His poor ears are so red and sore, but I think we need the information. My sister the school nurse says that Mikey needs an insulin pump! :)
 
ECID!

He sure is breaking that bounce fast!

Hopefully it won't set him up to bounce again....Mikey, Mikey, Mikey!! You're driving your mamabean crazy! (you're not doing much for any of us either....lol)
 
I suspect he's still in a bounce. When a cat is bouncing the numbers aren't necessarily flat while they're high. Meters have that 20% variance, meaning even if the cat's BGs are exactly 400, the meter might read 480 - 400 - 320 - 400 - 320 etc. It's all the same, essentially.

I don't think stalling for a half hour would accomplish anything except to decrease the overlap of his shots. that's not likely to be helpful. I think shooting on time would be better, but that's just my 2 cents worth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top