1/8 Michael pmps 170 +2 270 How can I prevent a bounce?Need more advice re: #'s

Status
Not open for further replies.
:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:....ths is the PERFECT example why home testing is so important!! Great work catching that steep dive, Paula! I'm glad to see he's startinig to come up...much better, Michael. Congrats on the reducie!!!
 
Yep, that is a reducie for sure.:D:D:D

You are seeing the Karo, so keep testing, it wears off quickly.

You can't stop a bounce once it has been triggered. The only thing is to try to slow a drop w/ food early on to keep Michael dropping too fast or too far. Once he's made the plunge you just have to wait it out. However, if he is way up by PMPS you can shoot through the bounce and give him his reduction tomorrow.
 
Just tested (amps + 6.75 66). Does the 2 consecutive #'s above 50 start with the 1st # above 50 because now I have 2 #'s above 50. This is sooo confusing.:confused::confused: Please look at Michael's SS.
 
The two consecutive numbers above 50 start with the next one after you stop feeding (ie - test and don't feed, then the next test starts the count). You want to make sure it isn't the food talking. I'm not going to attempt to give you dosing advice, though. Hopefully one of the more experienced advice givers will be along soon.
 
It helps that we get +10 or +11 test usually, but when I see Tess going up 100 points or more between tests I can see the bounce coming. It's a judgement call.
 
About the only way to stop a bounce from happening is lots of testing and feeding the numbers, say your preshot is 250 then +2 is 200, I would feed to get ahead of the drops, then verify with a +3 and so on.
Big hourly drops and low numbers cause the bounces, the only bounce I can see that we can control is the big hourly drops, this is achieved by using food to slow the drops.
I would really suggest that if you are going to keep gettinrg the 2nd test that it be between +3.5 - +5, his history shows this is when you have caught his lows, if you would have waited till +7.25 like yesterday, Michael would have been in a crisis. The early tests will give you a better idea where his numbers would be heading and you would have early warning sings that he is or could drop pretty low.
Great on catching the number.
 
I'm not sure I agree with Darin. Bounces happen until they don't. Sometimes, intervening with food, the way he suggests, works. Sometimes it doesn't. The problem is that what is a "big hourly drop" can vary from cat to cat. Sometime, dropping from 250 to 150 could trigger a bounce. A great deal depends on how long a cat has been dealing with diabetes prior to being diagnosed -- how used to high numbers the cat has become. If the kitty's body has gotten used to living in high numbers, even a small drop may trigger a bounce.

It helps to keep in mind, a bounce is a survival mechanism. It protects an animal from hypoglycemia. If numbers drop, the cat's body reacts by dumping a stored form of glucose and counterregulatory hormones into the blood stream.

My read on your SS is that Michael tends to have his nadir pretty close to mid-cycle. I'm a very big fan of a +2 or +3 test. If your +2 is considerably lower than your pre-shot test, there's a good chance it will be an active cycle.
 
Jill wrote a good explanation of feeding the curve here. Take a look at that and see what you think and if anything there would help you & Michael.

If he is into another bounce by pmps tonight, it's probably ok to shoot through the bounce. If he is not into another bounce, ie, if he's still under 150 or so, I wouldn't try shooting through the bounce.
 
Or maybe what would work also is splitting up his meals, give half at PS and other half at +2 or 3, charlie gets 3oz, PS 1oz, +2 test feed 1oz, and +4 test 1oz
 
Thanks for the replies. Very much appreciated.
I think Michael has started to bounce.(pmps 170) I gave him the earned reduction so now he is back to 1.5u.
Still confused.:confused:
Also, I am very ill. I have had a relapse. I have no strength . It's all I can do take of Michael and post his results. Maybe when I'm better I won't be so confused. I don't want to be hospitalized. There isn't anyone to care for Michael. If that were to happen, Any thoughts on how to get Michael cared for?
 
Also, I am very ill. I have had a relapse. I have no strength . It's all I can do take of Michael and post his results. Maybe when I'm better I won't be so confused. I don't want to be hospitalized. There isn't anyone to care for Michael. If that were to happen, Any thoughts on how to get Michael cared for?

Paula, I am so sorry to hear you are not well- Darin made a very generous offer to assist in Michael's care, what a great neighbor he is! If that doesn't work out for whatever reason, does your vet have boarding services? I am very concerned for you, if you feel that you need to be hospitalized(and I understand that you live alone), then please take care of yourself first and foremost. :bighug:
 
Michael is bouncing (pmps +2 270) He jumped a 100 pts. How do you ever find the right dosage? At 1.75 he took a big dive and at 1.5 his #'s are increasing. Previously with the 1.5 he stayed pretty flat but his #'s were relatively high.
 
Last edited:
Paula, I am so sorry to hear you are not well- Darin made a very generous offer to assist in Michael's care, what a great neighbor he is! If that doesn't work out for whatever reason, does your vet have boarding services? I am very concerned for you, if you feel that you need to be hospitalized(and I understand that you live alone), then please take care of yourself first and foremost. :bighug:
Thanks, Ruth
I hope to get better fast! Michael needs me.
He knows I'm not well. He has been kinda mopey all day.
He doesn't like it when I cough.
 
For some it seems like a game of back and forth with the dosing, Charlie just failed a reduction, we were at 1.5 took reduction, could not get to green, so now back to 1.5.
As far as the numbers rising tonight, that is the bounce, tomorrows numbers may be higher then tonights +2, Charlie's 6.5 last night of 179 was starting of a bounce, his amps this am was 400.
 
For some it seems like a game of back and forth with the dosing, Charlie just failed a reduction, we were at 1.5 took reduction, could not get to green, so now back to 1.5.
As far as the numbers rising tonight, that is the bounce, tomorrows numbers may be higher then tonights +2, Charlie's 6.5 last night of 179 was starting of a bounce, his amps this am was 400.
I increased M's dose from 1.5 to 1.75. He was at 1.75 for only 1 cycle and earned a reduction. So now he is back to 1.5. It is so hard to tell if he is failing the reduction. Soooo confusing:confused:
 
(((Paula))) I'm so sorry you aren't feeling well. Sending many prayers to you for healing.

Sometimes a dose that didn't work before will work now. He's doing just fine because of you. Try not to worry right now. He will be fine and even if he runs a bit higher on the 1.5u, it might be better for you both right now while you are sick.
 
i agree with marje's comment about it being ok for him to be running a little higher while you are sick. He'll be ok - you take care of yourself.

Darin, you're an angel. Paula, take him up on his kind offer if you need the help! I hope you're feeling better and have alittle more energy soon. :bighug:
 
Michael is bouncing (pmps +2 270) He jumped a 100 pts. How do you ever find the right dosage? At 1.75 he took a big dive and at 1.5 his #'s are increasing. Previously with the 1.5 he stayed pretty flat but his #'s were relatively high.
I did not realize that you increased to 1.75, he was clearing a bounce with the increase, that is why he dropped so low, just keep doing what you are doing, I would try to get your 2nd test around +4, that way you can catch him going lower sooner.
I hope you feel better soon.
 
(((Paula))) I'm so sorry you aren't feeling well. Sending many prayers to you for healing.

Sometimes a dose that didn't work before will work now. He's doing just fine because of you. Try not to worry right now. He will be fine and even if he runs a bit higher on the 1.5u, it might be better for you both right now while you are sick.
Thanks, Marje for your kind thoughts & prayers
I will try not worry.
 
Paula, missed this thread yesterday. Just want to pop in a little late to throw some hugs and vines your way. Light and prayers for feeling better soon.

I agree. Chasing blues and greens isn't the top priority right now. There will be time for that later. Keep Michael comfortably safe and focus on you!

Isn't Darin a great friend. To you. To Michael.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Paula, missed this thread yesterday. Just want to pop in a little late to throw some hugs and vines your way. Light and prayers for feeling better soon.

I agree. Chasing blues and greens isn't the top priority right now. There will be time for that later. Keep Michael comfortably safe and focus on you!

Isn't Darin a great friend. To you. To Michael.

Marilyn and Polly
Thanks for your prayers and get well wishes.
Yes, Darin, is great. Michael and I are very fortunate that he lives so close.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top