1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; PMPS 242; +3 209 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60311&p=656025#p656025

Morning ~O) ~O) all seems well today with Maggie. Appy sure is good, and I did hear some noise at night and came out to the living room and saw Mags with the mouse toy in her mouth. I picked her up and took her to bed and with only ten minutes to appease me, back out to the living room to her security post by the patio. I was about to increase Maggie's dose by a drop, but now with the CRD and phosphorus levels, I'll be changing her food from NV Instinct Chicken to a lower phosphorus food. I'm thinking I should remain on the two drops til we see how she reacts to a new food. They all seem change sensitive when it comes to new fuds with their numbers. I've been studying the foods list on the Phosphorus link that Linda and Bear Man provided, and also Ann & Tess have a great list under her ss tab. I do have the Friskies SD Turkey & giblets on stock and some of the Merrick. I saw where the Merrick Grammys Pot Pie and also Cowboy Cookout met the phosphorus levels, although they are both too high in carbs for Mags. I also have a few cans of Wellness chicken. I am about to also order some strips for testing glucose in Maggie's urine when she gets a high number to try and learn her renal threshold.
Any thoughts on adding a drop.
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156 Question/dosing ATrak

I can see where you would want to add a drop. I also think she is well controlled, and if you want to wait a couple cycles after the food change to add a drop, I think that would be okay, too. That's just MHO. When does the food change happen?
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156 Question/dosing ATrak

Hi Dyana, thanks on your thoughts. I was thinking the same to wait it out a few cycles. I have some Friskies Special Diet turkey & giblets, which is within range for phosphorus. Next meal I am going to give her a little and see how it goes. I'll gradually take away the NV Instinct. Yes, I don't want to see her with those highs when glucose seems to spill over to her urine.
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156 Question/dosing ATrak

I think it's your call. Most cats, if they react to a food change at all, will do so with a couple of days of higher numbers. (Of course, ECID so Maggie will probably prove me wrong!)
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156 Question/dosing ATrak

I think it's your call. Most cats, if they react to a food change at all, will do so with a couple of days of higher numbers. (Of course, ECID so Maggie will probably prove me wrong!)

Thanks Sienne, I think I will give it a few cycles before I change. I may even find the new foods may agree more with her numbers than the Instinct chicken.
:lol: Laughing at the ECID, as they always keep us guessing!
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219 dosing ATrak

+3 219

Back up to the yellow floor so fast! I checked it against the Relion Micro, and it tested 206, not much variance.

Good news on a food change just now - I gave the Princess some Friskies special diet turkey & giblets, just a little and CPC status! :-D It's not FF T & G, as Rusty and Mags prefer, but she ate it!
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

Mags!!! I lubs the Friskies Special Diet Turkey & Gibo..Gibe...umm... parts!
Binks
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

+8 257

I am rethinking and instead of waiting a couple cycles, will add a drop, not sure if I'll do it the pm cycle or wait til morning. She did have a little of the Friskies Special diet T & G, so not sure if it's the new food! She was starting to climb at the +6!
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

Hi Celi, is the Friskies special diet T & G one of the foods Binksy eats while he's OTJ? I loved that pic yesterday of the kitty at the beach in Zener's condo.
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

Hi Ann - good luck with the new fuds. I hope Maggie does well with it. High +8 for her though. What's up with that? I wonder if it is the food? At least she is eating it! Well good luck to if you decide to add a drop with the PM cycle. I too think it really is your call. Maybe see how Maggie does the rest of this cycle. Come on down Maggie - back to the blue floor!
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

Good luck with the food change!!! I know a lot of kitties don't do well with new foods. Champ, of course, will eat just about anything....except Wellness!!! Also, good luck when you decide on that dosecrease. A drop will probably do her some good!!
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257 dose ATrak

Good luck w/ the food change. Tess loves the Friskies T&G too. At 5% carb it is the highest I give her, and it does seem to bump her numbers up a bit, so it may be more than the 5% listed. Let me know if you can find the Wysong anywhere. Have you considered the raw NV, the numbers look pretty good on those.
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257; PMPS 242 AT

PMPS 242

Thanks Michelle, yes it must be the change of food with the high number.

Patty, thanks, I think the added drop is what she needs.

Ann & Tess, I bet the Friskies SD T&G will bump Maggie up with her bg, as she's very carb sensitive. I saw the raw NV on your food chart, and I'm going to check it out at Petco where they sell it. Do you know if the raw NV they sell is ready to eat or does anything in addition need to be added.
 
Re: 1/8 Maggie AMPS 182; +3 156; +6 219; +8 257; PMPS 242 AT

Good luck with the extra drop! Maggie is so food sensitive. I understand your concern. Tarragon won't eat anything but FF classic and flaked chicken.

Have a great night Ann!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top