? 1/8 Karamelle AMPS 361 +5 306 +9 61 PMBG 46 +.5 97 +1 77 +2 80 +3 92

JoM

Member Since 2023
1/7 Karamelle AMPS 312 +4 416 +8 317 PMPS 435 +2 459

Horrible day yesterday. Increased to 0.25 last night. Hopefully she will start to come back down. I weighed her this morning because she seems a bit boney and she was 10.8 lbs, a whole pound less than 2 months ago at the vet. And shed actually lost weight at that visit. Back in June last year she was 13lbs!! So shes losing weight on top of this craziness with the BG numbers. Shes eating a LOT!! I guess its time for more testing. 🏥
 
Last edited:
1/7 Karamelle AMPS 312 +4 416 +8 317 PMPS 435 +2 459

Horrible day yesterday. Increased to 0.25 last night. Hopefully she will start to come back down. I weighed her this morning because she seems a bit boney and she was 10.8 lbs, a whole pound less than 2 months ago at the vet. And shed actually lost weight at that visit. Back in June last year she was 13lbs!! So shes losing weight on top of this craziness with the BG numbers. Shes eating a LOT!! I guess its time for more testing. 🏥
I hope he weight loss isn't anything serious. It's so scary how we watch everything so closely and monitor all details.
Good luck with the increase, come on down Karamelle! But calmly and safely 🌊 🏄‍♂️ ❤️‍🩹 :bighug:
 
  • Love
Reactions: JoM
I hope Karamelle comes down nice and easy today! ❤️

I know weight loss can be scary ... Gen lost a pound in about two months at the end of last year (between his dental specialist screening and his aborted surgery appointment). You say she's eating a lot; I've realized very recently how varied the calorie counts between some of Gen's new and old food have been, which definitely can be deceptive. Are you looking at those numbers at all?

I realize not everyone gets the kind of joy I do from spreadsheets (as a general thing, I mean, not BG spreadsheets), but I think tracking caloric intake and weight together is going to help me understand some things better. Might be worth a try?
 
I hope Karamelle comes down nice and easy today! ❤️

I know weight loss can be scary ... Gen lost a pound in about two months at the end of last year (between his dental specialist screening and his aborted surgery appointment). You say she's eating a lot; I've realized very recently how varied the calorie counts between some of Gen's new and old food have been, which definitely can be deceptive. Are you looking at those numbers at all?

I realize not everyone gets the kind of joy I do from spreadsheets (as a general thing, I mean, not BG spreadsheets), but I think tracking caloric intake and weight together is going to help me understand some things better. Might be worth a try?
Yes, I write down all her calories every day. They are in the notes on the SS. But I hadnt been weighing her, which I should have been. As much as shes been eating she really should have been gaining weight not losing. And this morning, she just felt boney. I feel bad I missed this. Shes having a GI panel done later today. I know they are supposed to fast for 12 hours for this test, but the vet said it was ok. I hope so. It will be 6 hours since she ate when they do the test.
 
Yes, I write down all her calories every day. They are in the notes on the SS. But I hadnt been weighing her, which I should have been. As much as shes been eating she really should have been gaining weight not losing. And this morning, she just felt boney. I feel bad I missed this. Shes having a GI panel done later today. I know they are supposed to fast for 12 hours for this test, but the vet said it was ok. I hope so. It will be 6 hours since she ate when they do the test.
Oh, I'm sorry I missed the kcal notes. 😅

I only thought of weighing Gen myself a few days ago (instead of just having it done at the vet), and only started tracking his daily caloric intake yesterday! I understand how you feel; back when he was first diagnosed in 2021, one of the biggest symptoms was weight loss, but it took me going away on a week-long trip and coming home to notice how bony he'd gotten. I felt terrible. I think it's worth trying to be kind to yourself, though, really! There are so many variables to keep track of, and our cats can't tell us themselves how they're feeling, for the most part, and they don't exactly come with a manual either. You're working hard at taking care of Karamelle, and there's always more to learn. Give yourself a little grace. ❤️

You probably know this, but fasting rules are usually different for diabetic cats (I know I saw someone talking about this yesterday--maybe it was in your thread, apologies for not remembering for sure--and it also came up when I was looking into anesthesia protocols awhile back), so I'm sure that'll be fine. I hope the testing goes nice and easily today, and that your vet has some ideas about the weight loss.
 
Oh, I'm sorry I missed the kcal notes. 😅

I only thought of weighing Gen myself a few days ago (instead of just having it done at the vet), and only started tracking his daily caloric intake yesterday! I understand how you feel; back when he was first diagnosed in 2021, one of the biggest symptoms was weight loss, but it took me going away on a week-long trip and coming home to notice how bony he'd gotten. I felt terrible. I think it's worth trying to be kind to yourself, though, really! There are so many variables to keep track of, and our cats can't tell us themselves how they're feeling, for the most part, and they don't exactly come with a manual either. You're working hard at taking care of Karamelle, and there's always more to learn. Give yourself a little grace. ❤️

You probably know this, but fasting rules are usually different for diabetic cats (I know I saw someone talking about this yesterday--maybe it was in your thread, apologies for not remembering for sure--and it also came up when I was looking into anesthesia protocols awhile back), so I'm sure that'll be fine. I hope the testing goes nice and easily today, and that your vet has some ideas about the weight loss.
Im usually good about checking weights, but Ive been slacking terribly with this lately. Anyway I canceled the appt for today. I read that the TLI test in particular absolutely needs a 12 hour fast as enzymes can raise the TLI count, which would defeat the purpose of the test. Karamelle has Pancreatitis so the TLI results should be high but I really need to make sure because EPI, the illness that TLI tests for, is life threatening if not treated. And with two strikes against the pancreas already (diabetes and pancreatitis), its very possible she might have EPI, although I hope not because then you have to put enzymes in the food every meal and they need to be in wet food I believe. This would be disastrous for Karamelle since she will only eat dry consistently.
I switched the appt to 10am tomorrow, so no food after 10pm tonight. She'll be ok. She goes 9-10 hours without eating a lot of times, but still manages to eat the right amount for the day.
The GI panel also tests B12, Folate and the spec fPL test for pancreatitis (which I already know she has). The vet was mixed up and thought I wanted a T4 test, which is why they didnt insist on the 12 hour fasting. I'll have to make sure they are running the right test tomorrow.
 
Last edited:
Well lookie here! +9 !!! I guess the increase worked! Hmmm. 🙄 Id taken her food away for a few hours because I thought I was going for the blood test, but decided to do it tomorrow morning when she can fast the required 12 hours. Doesnt make sense to not follow the fasting time. The test may not be right and those GI panels are expensive. Shes been quite vocal today. No idea why. And she was sneezing earlier and last night, but I havent heard that in a few hours now.
Question, if anyone sees this. If shes this low or lower at PMPS, do I still give the 0.25? I just raised it last night. Also what about the shot in the morning since she will be fasting? I know with Levemir the nadir is late in the cycle, like Im seeing today.
@Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick
 
For the morning shot, what + time is the appointment? I'd be tempted to shoot a smaller dose, so 0.1 units in the morning if she's going that long without food.

Let's see the PMPS before deciding on it.
 
So you might be home before Lev onset? Or you can take food to feed her as soon as the blood draw is done. That makes it easier to shoot.
 
So you might be home before Lev onset? Or you can take food to feed her as soon as the blood draw is done. That makes it easier to shoot.
Oh yes, probably way before.
So we have a 46 at PMPS. I didnt shoot. But I did give her 5 grams of HC dry. I dont want to be up all night. Do I try and retest and still shoot tonight or shoot in the morning even tho I cant feed her, or just cancel the appt altogether because this just isnt working out too well. sigh.
 
I think I'm just going to cancel the appointment. This is just too much to deal with. I skipped the shot tonight and will give her a reduced shot in the morning ( the one I draw up for tonight which was a little less than 0.25.) I guess we'll try this again next week.
 
Back
Top