JacksonCatson
Member Since 2012
Jack is at 119...thoughts?
Thanks for the advice re: tomorrow morning. I think I'll likely stick with f1u just to keep things stable, esp. since I have an obligation tomorrow evening. Talked to his vet today, and she'd like him back to 1.5 u, and he make likely end up there, but that 327-->74 scared me.
Thanks,
Sarah
ACK! With all the hub-bub today -- low numbers, stalled shots, talking with the vet, etc., PLUS doing some calculations to move his shot up 15 mins b/c tomorrow I need to leave home early in the evening, I accidentally gave Jackson his PM shot 1 hour and 10 mins early (so 55 minutes earlier than I intended)! Where is my head?! Poor kitty.
The good news is that I don't think there's too much risk of his dipping too low as his numbers are fairly high and I gave him a 1.0 (fat) dose (vs. 1.5) to stabilize him a bit. But then I went and messed with the timing. Ugh.
Everything is in his SS, but to recap (also see the rest of the thread):
+11 (from last night's shot) 146
AMPS: 183
+2.5: 234
+4: 252
+6.5: 228
+10.5: 280
I'm thinking that the most dangerous time would be in the next few hours? I'm planning to do +1/+2/+3 tests, but can anyone advise as to what else to look out for?
Thanks,
Sarah
Hi all,
Newbie here with my cat Jackson, a sweet 4.5-year-old 13.2-lb neutered male. He was diagnosed just before Thanksgiving. Transitioned to wet food (currently 2.5 cans of FF classic) before insulin and currently at 1.5 u of Lantus.
A few days ago, he had a very unexpected dip -- 327 at AMPS and 74 at +11 -- I didn't do any mid-cycle testing, so I'm not sure how low he dropped, but he didn't display any symptoms. We had recently switched (within about four days) to a slightly different food routine, but it would surprise me if that's the reason.
I was away for the next day so I greatly reduced his dose (.5) so that I wouldn't worry all day. A few cycles later and he seems to be re-adjusted now, but now I'm faced with lower numbers than I'm used to shooting and I don't have much data to go on. I'm nervous to give his normal 1.5 u dose given that 327-->74 drop he had a few days ago, but I'm not sure how much to cut back to keep things manageable.
I will get used to shooting at lower numbers -- I'm just not there yet! Thanks in advance for any advice.
Sarah and Jackson
Thanks for the advice re: tomorrow morning. I think I'll likely stick with f1u just to keep things stable, esp. since I have an obligation tomorrow evening. Talked to his vet today, and she'd like him back to 1.5 u, and he make likely end up there, but that 327-->74 scared me.
Thanks,
Sarah
ACK! With all the hub-bub today -- low numbers, stalled shots, talking with the vet, etc., PLUS doing some calculations to move his shot up 15 mins b/c tomorrow I need to leave home early in the evening, I accidentally gave Jackson his PM shot 1 hour and 10 mins early (so 55 minutes earlier than I intended)! Where is my head?! Poor kitty.
The good news is that I don't think there's too much risk of his dipping too low as his numbers are fairly high and I gave him a 1.0 (fat) dose (vs. 1.5) to stabilize him a bit. But then I went and messed with the timing. Ugh.
Everything is in his SS, but to recap (also see the rest of the thread):
+11 (from last night's shot) 146
AMPS: 183
+2.5: 234
+4: 252
+6.5: 228
+10.5: 280
I'm thinking that the most dangerous time would be in the next few hours? I'm planning to do +1/+2/+3 tests, but can anyone advise as to what else to look out for?
Thanks,
Sarah
Hi all,
Newbie here with my cat Jackson, a sweet 4.5-year-old 13.2-lb neutered male. He was diagnosed just before Thanksgiving. Transitioned to wet food (currently 2.5 cans of FF classic) before insulin and currently at 1.5 u of Lantus.
A few days ago, he had a very unexpected dip -- 327 at AMPS and 74 at +11 -- I didn't do any mid-cycle testing, so I'm not sure how low he dropped, but he didn't display any symptoms. We had recently switched (within about four days) to a slightly different food routine, but it would surprise me if that's the reason.
I was away for the next day so I greatly reduced his dose (.5) so that I wouldn't worry all day. A few cycles later and he seems to be re-adjusted now, but now I'm faced with lower numbers than I'm used to shooting and I don't have much data to go on. I'm nervous to give his normal 1.5 u dose given that 327-->74 drop he had a few days ago, but I'm not sure how much to cut back to keep things manageable.
I will get used to shooting at lower numbers -- I'm just not there yet! Thanks in advance for any advice.
Sarah and Jackson