1/8 Elmo AMBG 134 +6 99 +9.5 129 +11 108 PMBG 106 +2.5 83 +4 65

Status
Not open for further replies.
I quit working (not retired) 12 years ago, and I was here all day to take care of my FD kitties when that curse came along. I was run off my feet and cannot imagine doing it with even a part time job. The people here that work demanding jobs and still keep their kitties safe amaze and inspire me every day. Actually, pretty much everyone here amazes and inspires me!

One thing to keep in mind about Elmo's BGs is that some kitties just run a touch higher than the "normal" range naturally. Because we never checked them before they were diagnosed with FD, we don't know for sure what was normal for each cat. As long as the numbers are close to "normal" and come down after he's eaten, we know the pancreas is working.
Amen !!! All ya'll are my heroes !!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
One thing to keep in mind about Elmo's BGs is that some kitties just run a touch higher than the "normal" range naturally. Because we never checked them before they were diagnosed with FD, we don't know for sure what was normal for each cat. As long as the numbers are close to "normal" and come down after he's eaten, we know the pancreas is working.
All too often cats who are continually throwing numbers over 100 and especially over 120 are the first ones to cut their honeymoons short. This is why we like to see kitties mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

If BG numbers continue tending upwards, you may want to start thinking about shooting a very tiny dose... less than 0.1u to see if it helps. Currently (sans insulin), the lows are not too low. There's some wiggle room there...

Just my thoughts...
 
All too often cats who are continually throwing numbers over 100 and especially over 120 are the first ones to cut their honeymoons short. This is why we like to see kitties mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

If BG numbers continue tending upwards, you may want to start thinking about shooting a very tiny dose... less than 0.1u to see if it helps. Currently (sans insulin), the lows are not too low. There's some wiggle room there...

Just my thoughts...
Thank u for input, Jill...I am willing to do whatever is best and needed by Elmo...was advised by vet to start at .25...we were dosing .25 minus a drop when stopped vetsulin...how do u dose a 0.1 ??? I know it's done, I've just not gone down that minuscule with him ....
 
Thank u for input, Jill...I am willing to do whatever is best and needed by Elmo...was advised by vet to start at .25...we were dosing .25 minus a drop when stopped vetsulin...how do u dose a 0.1 ??? I know it's done, I've just not gone down that minuscule with him ....
Unless he starts throwing higher numbers... greater than 140 or 150mg/dL, I'd start with less than 0.1 unit... just to test the waters. Basically all you'd do is push in the syringe plunger firmly, insert the syringe into the pen, and then release the pressure you have on the plunger. All you'd be doing is sucking up "some" insulin (less than 0.1 unit).

There are pictures of small doses including 0.1 unit in the Syringe & Insulin Info: Handling, Drawing. and Fine Doses" sticky.
 
Unless he starts throwing higher numbers... greater than 140 or 150mg/dL, I'd start with less than 0.1 unit... just to test the waters. Basically all you'd do is push in the syringe plunger firmly, insert the syringe into the pen, and then release the pressure you have on the plunger. All you'd be doing is sucking up "some" insulin (less than 0.1 unit).

There are pictures of small doses including 0.1 unit in the Syringe & Insulin Info: Handling, Drawing. and Fine Doses" sticky.
Thank u, Jill ...sounds almost like dosing Lantus scented air :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top