1/8 Elmo AMBG 134 +6 99 +9.5 129 +11 108 PMBG 106 +2.5 83 +4 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth 73

Member Since 2016
:coffee::coffee:Good morning ....Elmo's +11 bit higher this AM....will be taking next BG in 45 minutes at regular PMPS time .....
 
Let' see where he is at, at amps.

Although his numbers look good, he could do better, I don't like these blues that keep cropping up......

Did you get a test last night before bed? just curious.
For the time being I would keep getting those +2/+3 just to check Mr P is still reporting for duty.
 
Good morning :):coffee::coffee:.....yes, +11 was 93...will get that on SS now...hope all is well with u and yours this morning :).
 
Let' see where he is at, at amps.

Although his numbers look good, he could do better, I don't like these blues that keep cropping up......

Did you get a test last night before bed? just curious.
For the time being I would keep getting those +2/+3 just to check Mr P is still reporting for duty.
Ah yes, good ole Mr P...
 
I don't see how you could start insulin with those numbers. He's brining himself down to green after eating which means his P is working. As mentioned yesterday, if he trends up over a few days, not just one cycle then I'd start. Certainly wouldn't think of starting on a day when you'll be out for most of it. Will be interesting to see what his AMPS is.
 
I don't see how you could start insulin with those numbers. He's brining himself down to green after eating which means his P is working. As mentioned yesterday, if he trends up over a few days, not just one cycle then I'd start. Certainly wouldn't think of starting on a day when you'll be out for most of it. Will be interesting to see what his AMPS is.
Good morning , Karen ....won't be able to check if Mr P has shown up til early afternoon when back home. I am ready, willing and able for whatever comes and so very grateful for all our FDMB family :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I don't see how you could start insulin with those numbers. He's brining himself down to green after eating which means his P is working. As mentioned yesterday, if he trends up over a few days, not just one cycle then I'd start. Certainly wouldn't think of starting on a day when you'll be out for most of it. Will be interesting to see what his AMPS is.
AMPS 134....hmmmmmm....
 
Will be gone today from +1.5 until about +6...will check BG at that time ...:).....Happy Sunday to all:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Unfortunately, both teams had absolutely dismal games so our competitions for this year are over but they had fun even if a bit discouraged. One team was missing one player who may have been able to make up for some of the less experienced but it's all a learning experience for them. Then we had to take a somewhat circuitous but very scenic route home because North America's busiest highway was closed due to over 100 cars being involved in collisions as a result of sudden snow squalls. Thankfully a friend gave me a heads up before we left for home! Saved our bacon or we might have been sitting in traffic for hours! :eek: Thank goodness the weather was good on the way to the event.
 
Hi Beth- Hope you had a good outing today. Ozzy and I are checking in on our big kitty brother to see how he's doing. Looks like he's still in normal ranges. This kitty is a rockstar!! So happy to see this. What is this OTJ trial day 4??? Looking good little buddy! :bighug::kiss:
 
Hi Beth- Hope you had a good outing today. Ozzy and I are checking in on our big kitty brother to see how he's doing. Looks like he's still in normal ranges. This kitty is a rockstar!! So happy to see this. What is this OTJ trial day 4??? Looking good little buddy! :bighug::kiss:
Awww, thank u Jo....don't know what to make of this really. I want any remission to be a strong one and am willing to do whatever it takes regardless. We r watching you and Ozzy closely..so amazed by all you do , really ,truly amazed. Ozzy has a wonderful momma and dad :bighug::bighug::):bighug:
 
Thanks! As does Elmo. I really think all the kitty parents on this site are amazing...everyone is going above and beyond to learn how to treat their kitty and I think that is just wonderful!
Jo, I know I've told you this but I have an extra amount of admiration for those who do this AND have jobs/careers....I sincerely am amazed :):):):):bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Have been watching your condo for the past few days (lurking) and cheering you on from the sidelines! It's strange, this is very reminiscent of what Flame did 8 years ago. After being on Lantus for a very short time (2.5 - 3 months) and weaning off Prednisone and changing to low carb food, Mr P just decided to make an appearance one day. I did exactly what you did... Yelled for help on FDMB, started skipping shots to see what he'd do and OTJ he went... for 8 years!! He's back now because of Pred use again for breathing issues. :arghh:

But geeze, all Elmo had to do was smell the Lantus!! Will be watching, sending OTJ vines and cheering on Mr P! Go Elmo!!! :D:bighug:
 
Have been watching your condo for the past few days (lurking) and cheering you on from the sidelines! It's strange, this is very reminiscent of what Flame did 8 years ago. After being on Lantus for a very short time (2.5 - 3 months) and weaning off Prednisone and changing to low carb food, Mr P just decided to make an appearance one day. I did exactly what you did... Yelled for help on FDMB, started skipping shots to see what he'd do and OTJ he went... for 8 years!! He's back now because of Pred use again for breathing issues. :arghh:

But geeze, all Elmo had to do was smell the Lantus!! Will be watching, sending OTJ vines and cheering on Mr P! Go Elmo!!! :D:bighug:
Oh, thank u so much,Donna....I am taking it one day at a time, trying to not get too excited at lows or upset when it rises. That is one rollercoaster I refuse to ride ! Thanks for your encouragement and watching over us !
 
Beth:

I'm wondering if anyone has mentioned giving Elmo a snack somewhere between +8 and +9? It looks like Elmo's pre-shot numbers are higher than desirable given his numbers during the rest of the cycle. When a cat's pancreas is healing, food will stimulate it to produce its own, naturally occurring insulin. By giving a small amount of food later in the cycle, it may pull the pre-shot numbers into a better range. I know this could be challenging with your work schedule. If Elmo will eat from an automatic feeder, it will solve the problem during the day and you won't have to disrupt your sleep.

 
Oh, thank u so much,Donna....I am taking it one day at a time, trying to not get too excited at lows or upset when it rises. That is one rollercoaster I refuse to ride ! Thanks for your encouragement and watching over us !
Also I am so sorry after 8 years you are going thru it again. I know sometimes it's all that can be done to use predict...we have had several experiences and I really detest it. Praying for your fur baby to be whole and well soon:bighug::bighug:
 
Beth:

I'm wondering if anyone has mentioned giving Elmo a snack somewhere between +8 and +9? It looks like Elmo's pre-shot numbers are higher than desirable given his numbers during the rest of the cycle. When a cat's pancreas is healing, food will stimulate it to produce its own, naturally occurring insulin. By giving a small amount of food later in the cycle, it may pull the pre-shot numbers into a better range. I know this could be challenging with your work schedule. If Elmo will eat from an automatic feeder, it will solve the problem during the day and you won't have to disrupt your sleep.
Thank you, Sienna for that knowledge ....I have to feed him now before he chews off my leg but I know I'll have questions about your post. Again, thanks a million !!!!
 
George and Gills mama gave similar advice on feeding at the end of yesterday's condo. Hope this helps too:

of course that varies from cat to cat and depends on how the CG can feed.

You will have seen that folk recommend feeding every 3-4 hours, and that is what I do with George, the difference being that he is off the juice now, and that's what is easiest on his pancreas, also when folk are approaching remission a small snack at +9 can stimulate the pancreas and help bring the numbers down, but we are talking about cats here that are on micro doses and who are holding their BG in the normal range for a healthy ca but popping up to over 100 for PS, then the small snack late in the cycle can help to drive those preshots down. The assumption is that the pancreas is starting to work at this point.

With Kitties just starting out a feed in the latter part of the cycle can have he effect of boosting the PS numbers, since we know that Lantus does better at grabbing onto lower numbers and then running away with nice flat cycles, it makes sense to try to avoid boosting those PS up.

If you look at Georges ss, we changed his feeding schedule as we went along,
first we started with amps meal +5 meal and pmps and +5 meal (four meals a day am and pm cycle the same)

But we found that with that schedule, he had a tendency to drop hard and fast at the beginning of the cycle.

So then we changed that to more regular feeds in the early pat of the cycle.
The intention was to give him a snack at
+2 +4 +6
Though I did vary it from day to day, depending on a number of factors, including if I had to be out, if he was begging for food (often if he was begging it was a sign that his BG's were going to drop). But if you look at his ss, you will see that nearly always his feeds were done before +7, on the occasions that I fed after that was because I got a later test that was low and I was concerned that he might be too low to shoot, so I would give him a little LC snack to tide him over a small teaspoon or two of LC. Equally if I had to go out and I was worried I might feed him more snacks in his morning cycle to be sure he had enough food in him.

Then later as we got down to 0.25u, that's when we started the feeding schedule that he is still on, main meals at amps and pmps with snacks every 3 hours, so that it's easy on his pancreas, also he has early CKD, and as CKD cats can have problems with acid tummy I implemented this regime to try to prevent any issues with that.

Having said all that, I know that Ozzy has had problems with DKA and ketones, so as well as wanting to get his numbers down , you also need to be sure that he is getting enough food into his system, and that may well be why you have been advised that 3-4hrs is a sensible schedule for Ozzy, just going to tag @@Marje and Gracie I'm sure she'll know if it's preferable to keep to a 3-4hr schedule in Ozzy's case. (I haven't had personal experience withDKA and/or ketones)
 
Also I am so sorry after 8 years you are going thru it again. I know sometimes it's all that can be done to use predict...we have had several experiences and I really detest it. Praying for your fur baby to be whole and well soon:bighug::bighug:
Pred ....drat on spell check :(
 
Beth:

I'm wondering if anyone has mentioned giving Elmo a snack somewhere between +8 and +9? It looks like Elmo's pre-shot numbers are higher than desirable given his numbers during the rest of the cycle. When a cat's pancreas is healing, food will stimulate it to produce its own, naturally occurring insulin. By giving a small amount of food later in the cycle, it may pull the pre-shot numbers into a better range. I know this could be challenging with your work schedule. If Elmo will eat from an automatic feeder, it will solve the problem during the day and you won't have to disrupt your sleep.
Wonderful news... I am semi retired so am home most of the time...very flexible and lots of freedom ...
 
Thank u, Jo..I know I am ..and when I read what you and others go thru emotionally, having to figure and schedule , I can feel a bit guilty :(....my heart goes out to you all and makes me proud to know you...you are all do outstanding care for ur fur babies. You have my deepest admiration:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Beth- I was just being silly and a little envious! I am certain you have worked very hard in your life and paid your dues and are reaping your rewards now. Most well deserved I am sure. I am still a little bit of a youngin' and am paying my dues now. My day will come too. So is the cycle of life!! :bighug: Don't ever feel guilty for what you have worked hard to earn!
 
:bighug:
Beth- I was just being silly and a little envious! I am certain you have worked very hard in your life and paid your dues and are reaping your rewards now. Most well deserved I am sure. I am still a little bit of a youngin' and am paying my dues now. My day will come too. So is the cycle of life!! :bighug: Don't ever feel guilty for what you have worked hard to earn!
Oh I know u were kidding, sweet Jo:). But I have been feeling guilty when I follow what u and others choose to lovingly do for ur kitties when I am blessed with the luxury of time . Actually my life has been ,for the most part , very blessed..we moved to our small town from St Louis and I was a first grade teacher here for 10 years before having our son and daughter on in our 30s ....teaching first grade was our early birth control:)..Now that they are grown and gone our lives are simple and mostly quiet, except when my 94 year old scrappy momma needs us...now she is one hot mess:eek:.Thank u for the kind words...it is amazing that we have each other to understand the devotion and selflessness it takes to do what we do. Hoorah for each and everyone .Proud to be part of this wonderful group :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug:
Oh I know u were kidding, sweet Jo:). But I have been feeling guilty when I follow what u and others choose to lovingly do for ur kitties when I am blessed with the luxury of time . Actually my life has been ,for the most part , very blessed..we moved to our small town from St Louis and I was a first grade teacher here for 10 years before having our son and daughter on in our 30s ....teaching first grade was our early birth control:)..Now that they are grown and gone our lives are simple and mostly quiet, except when my 94 year old scrappy momma needs us...now she is one hot mess:eek:.Thank u for the kind words...it is amazing that we have each other to understand the devotion and selflessness it takes to do what we do. Hoorah for each and everyone .Proud to be part of this wonderful group :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Beth, you are so cute!!!
 
teaching first grade was our early birth control:)
Hahah!! This is so funny!!!
Living in a small town sounds so nice and peaceful.
I'm just 15 mins outside of Los Angeles...life is fast and hectic here. Everyone is so busy and bustling...everyone wants to make money and keep up with the jones'. Most folks are too busy most of the time to care about what really matters...and so judgmental. In my next life, I'm going to move out in the country and have a big farm full of animals, bake pies, knit blankets, and grow all my own food. Now that sounds wonderful! :p:D:joyful:
 
I just want to say that I too am semi retired because my 89 year old mom living with us And while it has it's merit ( in the FD dance ) it also comes with not the same monies you are accustomed too .......... a double edge sword . Ying and Yang.
 
Hahah!! This is so funny!!!
Living in a small town sounds so nice and peaceful.
I'm just 15 mins outside of Los Angeles...life is fast and hectic here. Everyone is so busy and bustling...everyone wants to make money and keep up with the jones'. Most folks are too busy most of the time to care about what really matters...and so judgmental. In my next life, I'm going to move out in the country and have a big farm full of animals, bake pies, knit blankets, and grow all my own food. Now that sounds wonderful! :p:D:joyful:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:....you are one special lady, Jo :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I just want to say that I too am semi retired because my 89 year old mom living with us And while it has it's merit ( in the FD dance ) it also comes with not the same monies you are accustomed too .......... a double edge sword . Ying and Yang.
Amen, hear that ....my momma still lives in St. Louis on her own.:eek:we would love to have her here but she won't hear of it. She's an independent cuss :) but it has kept her going, I'm sure :)
 
I quit working (not retired) 12 years ago, and I was here all day to take care of my FD kitties when that curse came along. I was run off my feet and cannot imagine doing it with even a part time job. The people here that work demanding jobs and still keep their kitties safe amaze and inspire me every day. Actually, pretty much everyone here amazes and inspires me!

One thing to keep in mind about Elmo's BGs is that some kitties just run a touch higher than the "normal" range naturally. Because we never checked them before they were diagnosed with FD, we don't know for sure what was normal for each cat. As long as the numbers are close to "normal" and come down after he's eaten, we know the pancreas is working.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top