1/8 Eddie PMPS = 431, +3 = 214, +6 = 178

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's convo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=111459

Recap:
AMPS = 161 (1.5U)
+2 = 302
+ 5.5 = 183

PMPS = 431
+ 3 = 214
+6 = 178

We had a late shot yesterday, at AM +14 (8PM)
At PM +7, Eddie was at 152 after eating a 1/2 can of FF at +6
DH tested him at approx. +9 (5AM), and the reading was 161, and he shot 1.5U at approx. +10(6AM)

I hadn't gotten far enough in teaching DH that below 200 is no shoot, or ask me first. :YMSIGH:

At AM +2, Eddie is at 302. I double checked this reading, and it was 303 on the second test. I checked with DH and he did not double check the +9 reading.
Thoughts? Think the AMPS was incorrect? Is the 302 a bounce in response to insulin on a lower number? I have to leave for work shortly, but can come home and check him around noon or before, if necessary. When might be the best time to check him? nailbite_smile
 
Re: 1/8 Eddie AMPS = 161, +2 =302

Hmmm. Muddy picture. The 161 (if it was sure a good test) was at least rising. And you shot an hour after that? Was the 161 truly 11 hours after last night's shot - since it was late - or is it early?

I can't explain the 3O2 - food rise? Quick bounce from 161? But it does complicate the cycle. Can you leave out some food (if they feel themselves dropping low,they will usually eat to bring themselves up.)
It looks like his nadir has been about +6 so I would try to get home around then.

So yes, refresher course for DH. No shot under 200. If there is a way to test right before the shot, that is much better than an hour before (if there was a 250 at shot time to offset that 161 earleir, we wouldn't be worried)
 
Re: 1/8 Eddie AMPS = 161, +2 =302

Thanks Sue.

The AMPS test was approx. 9 hours after the PM shot. Hubby tends to take his time and let the cats eat before shooting, and I'm working on speeding up the process on that with him :). I texted him to confirm the time of the shot, but I believe it was about +10, since last night's shot was later than usual. We are trying to get the shot done at 6AM/PM but have struggled the last couple days with timing issues which complicates the picture. There was a little food left from breakfast, so Eddie can nibble if he feels like he's getting low. I've noticed that he tends to get hungry when he's dropping - not necessarily when he's at nadair. He was sleeping but seemed normal when I left. I will be able to leave and go check on him around +6. nailbite_smile

Will keep this posted.

***Edited: DH confirmed the shot took place at +10 (6AM), an hour after the test, and after he ate.

Thank you!

Worried Jen and Eddie
 
Re: 1/8 Eddie AMPS = 161, +2 =302

So the other thing to put in your tool box is that an early shot (before +12) should be treated as a dose increase. Lots of people shoot early (up to an hour early) on ProZinc - it's one of the advantages- but you need to be sure the number is rising and above 200. It is usually done if the schedule is an issue or if the cat is rising and way above good ranges.

He should be okay if he has food. He has not been in the greens much yet. And sometimes a messed up cycle is just that - a mess - filled with odd numbers that don't make sense and can run higher than expected.
 
Re: 1/8 Eddie AMPS = 161, +2 =302, + 5.5 = 183

Checked Eddie at +5.5, and he's at 183. PHEW! So these wonky numbers could represent a lot of different stuff, i.e., incorrect reading at AMPS, a big spike between test and shot, or maybe even a bounce. Fed approx. 2 Tbsp. of LC FF to calm my nerves and give him a little fuel to cover him till we get home. He tends to continue to go down through about +7 but at a less dramatic pace.

Eddie's acting normal. Was sleeping when I got home. Tested, and had a little lunch, and is now grooming himself and his civie roommates.

Thanks for the tip on shooting early, Sue. That's good to know if he's running high. A more consistent cycle will help us get a better idea if the lower dose is having its intended effect of less bouncing. We'll just have to chalk this cycle up to a learning curve and not focus too much on trying to see a pattern.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top