1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118 +4 117 +7.5 147

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Well, there it is. The bounce I've been waiting a few days for. But, it's not as high as it could be, so I'll take that!!

Thanks for all the visits last night!! Cobb and I appreciate knowing there were others looking out for us as well.

Here's a recap:
PMPS: 168
+1: 171
+2: 201
+3.5: 187
+7.5: 241
+10: 290
AMPS: 315

Cobb seems to have handled the low numbers pretty well. He slept on the rocker in our room last night. Another first for him. And this morning when I sat down to rock Matty he relinquished a bit of space and let Matty pet him. We're still working on being gentle with the baby.

Anyway, all 5 P's in place. The change in the litter box is astounding. We were going through 2 40-lb boxes of litter a week!! Now it isn't even a full box a week. Astounding.

And, of course, it is nice to see those lower numbers too. Hopefully Cobb can shake this bounce quickly and get back down...maybe even dabble in a little green. :lol: :cool:

Stay warm everyone!
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315

What a great day yesterday for Cobb. Yay for letting the baby pet. That is a huge accomplishment. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315

Very nice Cobb (and Matty) report!!! Goooooo kitty and baby!!!!!

Have a great day, guys!
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315

a taste of blue is so delicious . . . she finds her self wondering what the yummy green might be like! :lol:

i'm teasing, of course! LOVING seeing Cobb responding! we're nearing in on dose - which is fantastic to see!

have a great day - what could be better than a day spent in a warm home with a baby and your cats! :-D
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315

julie & punkin (ga) said:
a taste of blue is so delicious . . . she finds her self wondering what the yummy green might be like! :lol:

i'm teasing, of course! LOVING seeing Cobb responding! we're nearing in on dose - which is fantastic to see!

have a great day - what could be better than a day spent in a warm home with a baby and your cats! :-D

I WANT IT ALL!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268

Hi guys .. Not a bad bounce at all and Cobb is making it a short trip too! Good job Matty and Cobb .. a lifelong friendship beginning? Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268

It's nice to see a good report on Cobb!! He's already heading back down the ladder...nice short-lived bounce!!!

Hope your day is wonderful!!
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +5 276

I hear you on the litter! We went through tons, it felt like. I'm sure the garbage guys thought so too :shock: Now that we are back there is some more litter being used...not as bad as first Dx tho. You reminded me that I need to go buy some more :lol: I hope Cobb slides down from that bounce quickly, and that you all have a great day! :cool:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +5 276 +6.5 257 +8.75 159

Welcome back Cobb! It's BLU-TIFUL!!

I check because...shock...Cobb came downstairs and hopped up on the sofa while the baby was napping in my arms and we were watching TV. :lol: :cool: :lol:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +5 276 +6.5 257

Ohhhh. . .Bright in here again today :cool:

I know you are searching for a vet to work with you and Cobb and running into challenges.
Since it's kinda quiet here at the moment, I thought I'd share some of the 'highlights' of my search for a vet for BK.

We too had a heck of a time finding a vet. Although the first vet we took BK to was handy in that he was less than a mile away and able to get us in quick like a bunny, his knowledge had serious limits. That and the fact that whenever there was a crisis (which was day 1 and what seemed like every other week following) he always suggested euthanasia. An example can be seen on BKs ss, tab labeled Prognosis 6-2008 (I believe Libby/Lucy remembers that day). I saved it as a memento of how wrong he was. Nearly 6 years later BK is still going strong.

The last straw was the Acro test. I brought the vet the info, he drew the blood. We were all anxiously awaiting the results, especially Jojo/Bunny. After a couple weeks I called to see if the results had come back yet, only to find out he never sent the blood to MSU. That was the last time I took BK there.

I had a cat with crazy high bgs that would not budge. At that time BK was up to 7.5uBID Lantus with ~16u of R sprinkled in throughout any given 24 hours. All the vets I brought BK to thought I was crazy - shooting this 9lb cat with all that insulin. They kept trying to get me to switch him to Prozinc. I was fortunate to find a vet, Dr. K, who although she too thought I was crazy, was willing to take us and try to help. It was the monitoring & the ss that reassured her enough to work with me. So we did the Acro test and when that came back negative we did the IAA test.

Even Dr. K had her limits. She had a very hard time watching BKs dose go up to 13.5u Lantus, along with all the R. It was to the point where she was no longer going to renew his Lantus prescription. We were on the last vial when BK turned the corner. After that I didn't appear so crazy. I switched to Costco to save on Lantus and the pharmacist called Dr. K with some dosing question - Dr.K referred him to me telling him to give me whatever I wanted. :lol:

When I brought BK in and announced he went OTJ, she looked at him, astounded, and said "He is amazing"
Thank goodness our paths crossed when they did.

A couple years ago I brought BK in for an annual exam and pre-dental BW. I found out Dr.K was moving back to her home state of Kentucky and that was her last day.
I cried.

Somewhere in Kentucky there is a lovely vet, that works well with crazy people :cool:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +6.5 257 +8.75 159 +10.5 153

Cat on bed, human on floor. Sounds about right.
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    36.2 KB · Views: 418
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +6.5 257 +8.75 159 +10.5 153

Lookie there!! Cobb is clearing that bounce in great time and is back in the BLUE!!!!

Love the picture too Suzanne, and yep, looks about right...cat on the bed, baby bean on the floor :lol:

At least Matty will know who's boss...lol
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +6.5 257 +8.75 159 +10.5 153

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
:lol: :lol: :lol:
I wonder what Cobb has in mind for todays PMPS. . . :cool:

I think you're gonna like it!!!! 143!!!! :-D :-D

I told Cobb he was clearing this bounce quickly and he was like, "I got this." :cool: :cool: :cool:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +8.75 159 +10.5 153 PMPS 143

Hmmm. Miracles do happen! That's why we hold this dose a bit - it's looking GREAT! Go Cobb!!

Love hearing how he's feeling so much better and interacting more. :-D
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +8.75 159 +10.5 153 PMPS 143

Safe to assume...if he continues like he is, hold the dose tomorrow morning? Until otherwise noted?

Again, since this is the lowest ever I'll get a +1 and +2 tonight and see what direction we're heading in.
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +8.75 159 +10.5 153 PMPS 143

From the protocol, relevant bit highlighted:
Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb AMPS 315 +2.5 268 +8.75 159 +10.5 153 PMPS 143

cobbsmom said:
Safe to assume...if he continues like he is, hold the dose tomorrow morning? Until otherwise noted?

Again, since this is the lowest ever I'll get a +1 and +2 tonight and see what direction we're heading in.
Yes, and Yes :cool:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118

Ok...so, of course that night I'm exhausted and got the baby down NOT in bed with me, Cobb decides to start dropping.

I have the +1 and +2. He doesn't usually drop at +2. When should I test him again?
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118

WOO HOO!! Look at that BLUE!!

Cobb may even see green tonight! (anti jinx)

Come on down a little more Cobb and then hop on that surfboard!!!

He's still in safe numbers Suzanne and not dropping too fast. I'd get a +4 and see where he's at and try to get a nap in now if you can
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118

Cobb, you are really something!!! Cleared that bounce like a pro, and now just absolutely beautiful numbers!!!
Wow Suzanne! This is so exciting to see :-D And with all the baby bean interaction and socializing...he's feeling AWESOME :-D
I am so happy for you! Surf safe Cobb sweetie.
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118

cobbsmom said:
I have the +1 and +2. He doesn't usually drop at +2. When should I test him again?
Being that 10u is a high dose and that we don't yet know why Cobb is such a big gulper, I recommend a +3. :cool:
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118 +4 117

Ok. At +4 Cobb is 117. Looks like he's surfing blue. Matt will check again in 3.5 when he gets up to go to work.
 
Re: 1/8 Cobb PMPS 143 +1 138 +2 118 +4 117

Sleep well - happy dreams! This is a normal BG numbers surf. :cool:
 
The protocol quoted does not apply to high dose cats.
Cats at doses above 10u will need increases in full units, so increasing from 10u to 10.5u is too small to really make much of a difference for numbers such as Cobb is having.
Sure, the glimpses of blues or even greens are nice, but the resistance pulls back from them.

Now that you are above 10u, your increases can be 1u until you are getting consistent cycles in numbers under 200, and not just a part of one cycle. Once you reach a dose of 20u, the increases will be 2u until you are under 200s most days.

It may be an idea that you get ahold of some R insulin so that you can add a bolus to your routine.....your insulin will work better on lower numbers, so at shot time, you can give your usual 11u and also a shot of R, with some supervision from others here. The R will pull your high 300s down a good amount, maybe close to 100 points in the first few hours, then your basal insulin will kick in and take over. ...... think of it as a relay race - you put the fast guy up front to get a head start and that guy hands off to your next guy.

Gayle
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top