1/8 Charlie amps:hi...UGH!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
Amps: hi (>500), 5u

What the hell? This had better be a bounce. That's the only reason I can think of that would make an otherwise healthy-seeming cat have numbers that get worse as his dose is increased. I was feeling better about this for a while when all my ps's were in the pinks. Then yesterday's red. Now a black. :evil: not a happy mama bean.
 
I'd be tempted to do larger increments or faster changes.

Faster changes = 3 cycles unless no improvement.

I see this breakthrough then rising thing potentially happening frequently. And thought I've never had to deal with it I think you may need to develop your own mechanism for dealing with it. "Dealing with it" I think might somehow be a more efficient way top break though the resistance.

As I understand another insulin would take you a while to [raise doses] break though levels of resistance. But while you are with PZI - anything that you can do to capitalize on the flexibility should probably be pursued. So I guess I'm just encouraging you to be more aggressive within the confines of what you feel comfortable with. :smile:
 
If you have an acro on your hands, your current insulin will only make the resistance worse.
You won't be able to fight a resistance with an insulin that is not long lasting.
At the dose you're at now, switching to Lev would be a very good idea.
And within days, you will see results, even if it's more smoother curves, mainly due to Lev's longer lasting type of insulin.

While you may not break through a resistance for awhile, if you have an acro cat, you will have a happier and healthier cat if the insulin is even and lasting right through the entire cycle.
 
hi claudia, been a while since i visited you ss, gonna take a look and offer any thoughts i have k?
 
well the ss say amps in the reds so it must not be updated.
sorry.
the only 2 cents i can put in was those rather large dose drops for reason's i could not see, (not for that large a dose drop) back a month or so ago.
but that is now ancient history.
your chart does say 1/8 but it's a number in the 400"s
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
And within days, you will see results, even if it's more smoother curves, mainly due to Lev's longer lasting type of insulin.
I can attest to that. If you look at Cindy's SS, she has fewer reds and the curves are flatter. Heck, she has even had two days with yellows...a first!
 
I had just mislabeled yesterday on the ss. All fixed up now. That dose drop in the beginning of Dec. was something you helped me with, Lori. It was based on a couple lower preshot numbers and that weird 89 midday reading on the 9th(?). All of which obviously were just some sort of fluke...cuz here we go, up, up, up again.

Edited to correct my goofy phone's autocorrect.
 
Ok, I'm not sure what you meant in the last post, but I'm pretty sure it needs an edit. ;-) Too many jokes come to mind to even pick out which one to type up.

:dizcat
 
Good catch, Joanna! My dumb phone has autocorrect, and it seems to be a bit vulgar at times. For instance, whenever I type "preshot" it tries to change it to "pre-sh*t"! I guess it has an off-color sense of humor! :lol:
 
looks good to me. and i missed the typo...sorry i missed it i think!
claudia looking at those dec. drops in dose that does not look like the advice 'lori' would give :lol: but it definetly looks like gator or robin style advice. if i did, sorry. but you get to recognize different styles of dosing and that just does'nt look like me. now of course you'll show me what i said and i shall hide my head in :oops:
 
pmps:344, 5u

Not as bad as I was expecting, especially since his shot was 1.5 hours late cuz we were out. So I think I'll still increase to 5.4 tomorrow unless his amps is something to write home about.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top