1/8 Boomer AMPS 112 PMPS 86 +3 76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Judy and Boomer

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Good morning!
AMPS 112 shooting .25u

This is driving this bean and DH absolutely crazy.

Looking back at his ss for the last few weeks:
1. He's had some normal curves although nadir seemed to be around +3 instead of the normal +6ish
2. He's had some flat curves
3. He's had some reverse curves
4. He's had quite a few double curves

5. He's had more blue numbers since the increase from .1 to .25

Other info:
--As far as I know there have been no fur shots
--Food is given every 3 hours; all meals are basically the same size, and this routine rarely varies
--I had brief success lowering his levels when I increased the carbs to about 4% but that didn't seem to last.
--He had better levels at AMPS when he was not eating his overnight +6
--In the past (not recent past) when he was on larger doses I found giving a snack instead of a meal at +9 brought him AMPS/PMPS down. When he was receiving very little insulin, I found giving a meal instead of a snack brought his AMPS/PMPS down.

I've decided to do a curve today with testing every hour. I hate the thought of poking his poor little ear that many times and I'll try to do it on the other ear but I never seem to have success getting blood out of his left ear:rolleyes:

Any insight/suggestions would be appreciated because I'm really at my wits end right now....if his curves were abnormal but all the same I might be able to figure this out but it seems that each day brings something new and there are a lot of days where it seems the insulin has no affect whatsoever or seems to drive his level up. I'm seriously considering dropping him back to .1 to see what happens.

Sigh

Oh and we're under a snow squall watch with 7-8 inches expected today and about the same tomorrow :eek::(
 
I don't think testing him every hour is necessary. Maybe start with a +2 and test every 2 hours as this will give you different numbers than what is usually tested. It is enough to drive you crazy. Hang in there Judy.
 
Oh, Boomer....what are you doing? Confusing momma bean may seem like a fun game to you, but it really is not fun at all.

I hope others will have some insight for you Judy.

Super yuck on the snow!!!!
 
I don't think testing him every hour is necessary. Maybe start with a +2 and test every 2 hours as this will give you different numbers than what is usually tested. It is enough to drive you crazy. Hang in there Judy.
I actually started testing every hour and am just reading this and other postings now.
 
Hmmm Boomer was just in the litter box and I hear a little cry. Just one. He had a poop....pretty soft but not like a pudding poop.
ETA and now he's actually batting his new squeaky mouse around which he played with a lot Christmas Day and the following day but hasn't paid much attention to since.
 
I wish I had any suggestions - Boomer is so close, but it seems like he needs those last few drops of juice a little bit longer.

...and of course he is producing a textbook curve for you today. :rolleyes:
 
GRRR so I forgot to set the alarm to get Boomer's +7 test.

AMPS 112 and food
+1 119
+2 108
+3 76 and food
+4 85
+5 79
+6 79 and food
+7.5 106
 
i think the +6 snack is causing him to loss some momentum?? at least looks like it today ... wondering if you could move snacks back to +2, and +5?? just a thought... im pretty new so i might be way out of left field with it... wondering if we had more +8s if we would see that more then just in todays info
 
i think the +6 snack is causing him to loss some momentum
Yes I agree and I had also noted in my condo earlier that his AMPS numbers were better when he didn't eat his +6.
I'm not sure about the +2 and +5? Would feeding him earlier when the insulin was supposedly stronger help get him through the later hours? Or would the +5 put an earlier stop to the insulin? IDK.

I know a lot of people feed the most calories in the first 6 hours and fewer (or none at all) calories in the last 6 hours. The +6 food has never affected Boomer negatively before (that we've noticed) but it could be now. I did have to play with the +9 food last time he was on the juice and found that a meal rather than a snack actually helped his PMPS number when he was receiving just a wee bit of juice.

So here's what I'm thinking of trying.....a good size meal at +3 during his onset. A wee snack at +6. A regular size meal at +9. Regular size meals at AM/PM PS. So basically I'll move some food from +6 into his +3. Although to be honest I think he's gaining weight so I may have to reduce his meals all around lol.
 
AMPS 112 and food
+1 119
+2 108
+3 76 and food
+4 85
+5 79
+6 79 and food
+7.5 106
+9 94 and food
+10 101

PMPS 86 shooting .25u
Not sure what just happened here but I sure wasn't expecting that 86!
So I gave a regular meal for PMPS, a slightly larger meal for +3, a snack for +6 and a regular meal for +9.
 
i was told that for some it was better to eat earlier on... all before +4 if you could... that did not work for the Lincoln!... so i asked again and was told some gave a +5 and +9 so that is what i have been doing... a meal at shot time, one at +2/3, one at +5 and one at +9.... seems to be the best for lincoln... when i miss those on that schedule his curve definitely goes wonky...

im just curious as to why he is getting these numbers... any testing and trying is worth it i think
 
Hi Judy,
I really don't know what to say except that what happens on any given day can be different from the next day. There are the known factors (specific foods; specific meal times; size of portions; litterbox habits etc.) and then there are the unpredictables: just like people, cats don't feel the same way every day at any particular time; we all have good days and bad days, blah days and weird days. I think you just have to go with the flow. You'll drive yourself crazy by over-analyzing everything, and any "tweaks" you make in Boomer's schedule on one day may not work the next day. After a week or so you may wind up with a half dozen "variants" to try to reconcile. Just my opinion, but I think that a more generalized approach will lead to far less grief and anxiety.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
p.s. why don't you try going back down to the lower dose and doing less micro-managing.
 
Good luck with what ever you try for the feeding schedule. It is all so trail and error as Bubba was always a late nadir cat and this time around on the juice he is more mid cycle :rolleyes:
 
Hmmm, I don't think I would call this micro managing. Not sure how one would even do that with FD
It's all trial and error to find out what works best. And what has worked in the past with him isn't working this time so I'm just trying to figure out what will work.
Judy, I still think this is an inverted curve, @Marje and Gracie , what do you think? I know in a previous post you said that if it continues....
 
Hmmm, I don't think I would call this micro managing. Not sure how one would even do that with FD
It's all trial and error to find out what works best. And what has worked in the past with him isn't working this time so I'm just trying to figure out what will work.

I hope you find the magic solution. I am reminded of a comment that one of our members made years ago: the only thing predictable about FD is that it is unpredictable (!).
 
Judy, I still think this is an inverted curve, @Marje and Gracie , what do you think? I know in a previous post you said that if it continues....
I'm seeing a pretty flat curve with a food spike at +1 but the midcycle is the lowest point on this cycle, as it should be.

A good example of an inverted curve is yesterday's a.m. cycle. See how relatively flat that is?

But, as Jill and I have discussed previously with Judi about Boomer, for a cat returning from the Falls, especially several times, it's best to hold the dose until he earns a reduction by going below 40 or you see all green for a week or just about every cycle is inverted. I'm not seeing the latter quite yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top