1/8 Blackie amps 260 +2 252 +6 211

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
Thank you for all of the info on pancreatitis and for your support. I read Jojo's post in total earlier this morning and I still have more reading to do. One of my questions about the pancreatitis is how do I know when the flare up has passed? Or will Blackie have to remain on pain meds for the rest of his life? I am experimenting with Buprenex today. I gave him .1 ml and we'll see what it does. Its very hard to know if he is in pain. Through all of this he never hid or meatloafed or got mad when you touched his belly. I'm also going to get more info on the antioxidants and lower fat foods. I'm also thinking about joining the pancreatitis yahoo group - like I need to join one more group. ohmygod_smile

Blackie also still seemed confused this morning about his LB. After he ate his +2 food, he went to the front door which we never use. It just wasn't normal for him, so I picked him up and put him in his LB and he immediately peed. I hope this resolves soon.

This morning was his 6th cycle on 2.25 and his numbers aren't terrible. I may increase it a tiny bit, but it looks like this might be a good dose for the DPS next week. Blackie is eating much better. I did have to tempt him with many sprinkles of Fortiflora to eat his food at shot time that had supplements in it, but he ate all of his food after fluids and at +2 without any Fortiflora.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33825
 
Re: 1/8 Blackie amps 260 +2 252

Hi Ele, I'm glad that Blackie is doing so well in many of his "categories". I'm no help with regard to knowing when a flare up is over, but since Blackie is responding well to his food and supplements and doesn't seem to be in pain, even when you prod him, that particular flare-up may be on the way out. I've forgotten how many days ago you had the test.
I hope that he gets over his litterbox "confusion".
When do you leave for your vacation? I'm sure that all will go well with the DPS (a relative, yes?) and that you will have a lovely time and come home refreshed and to a kitty who did well during your absence.
See you later,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/8 Blackie amps 260 +2 252

Ele & Blackie said:
One of my questions about the pancreatitis is how do I know when the flare up has passed? Or will Blackie have to remain on pain meds for the rest of his life?
i think it's subjective. ECID, just like signs of pancreatitis vary for different cats, so do signs of when the flare has passed. for some, lower BGs (not for us, because she ate much less and had lower BGs during her one of her flares - and we start her on pain meds right away, which helps). for others, return of a healthy appetite, normal-looking fur (winnie and settles get ruffly fur during flares), drinking less, more active. for Meowzi, return of her normal demeanour, no more faraway look in her eyes, no more hiding, more relaxed pose, takes interest in surroundings again, resumes grooming.

i have not heard of any CP kitties having to stay on pain meds for the rest of their lives. Donna's Shiloh has some of the worst CP flares i've come across on this board, and afaik he doesn't need pain meds and leads a normal, happy life when he's not flaring.

re: pain meds, one good thing about having done the spec fPL is that his vet now knows that Blackie gets CP flares. he should be willing, if he's a good vet, to let you have some pain meds to keep at home in case he flares again.

the yahoo pancreatitis group seems like a good group. i'm not an active member, but every now and then when i have time i stop in to see what's new. their link of the month archives is a great resource; i've printed several of those to give to our vet.

good luck with the buprenex experiment. we're trying 0.15 ml today and it hasn't zonked Meowzi, she was sleeping soundly as I walked past her earlier.
 
Re: 1/8 Blackie amps 260 +2 252

The pancreatitis group on Yahoo is a good group. I would join to at least read the files.

Glad Blackie is acting so well.
 
Re: 1/8 Blackie amps 260 +2 252

Morning Ele....I'm glad to hear Blackie is eating much better...that is great news. It is difficult to tell if they have a small degree of pain. When Gus had pancreatitis, he was obviously in pain. We can't tell how much pain he is in with his arthritis but we keep him on a maintenance dose of .1ml bupe bid. It does not make him drowsy at all...he functions very, very well on that (he weighs 10lbs). Hoping Blackie continues to improve.
 
Hi Ele - I am glad that Blackie is doing better. I can't answer any of the questions - never had any experience with any of it. It sounds like his appetite is returning - YAY! I hope things continue to go well for him. Paws crossed - you are in our thoughts daily.

hey Blackie - I hope you can come to the OTJ party today for Shadow! Thomas has an annifursary party too. Sweet, huh! Do you want a ride to Shadow's? I've reserved a seat for you at the bar - OK? We are having a huge BBQ - it should be fun. See you later!! ~~ Mannie
 
Hi Ele (and Blackie!!!),
Just catching up on things and see Blackie's tests came back. Im very sorry to hear you guys have yet another thing to deal with. On the other hand, I am REALLY glad you know whats going on. Knowledge is power, right? Not only that, but wasnt your vet hesitant to do the test? Maybe you taught him something - that its good to know whats going!

I think WCF answered your questions and explained things well. I dont think Blackie will need pain meds all the time. Just for the flares. Now that you know whats going on, you can keep an eye out and catch up on the pain sooner rather than later. That will help a lot! I had a hard time distinguishing when Latte was having a flare vs the crf, infection, ibd, etc. No matter, when she was off I would give palliative care and possibly run labs to confirm it wasnt the kidneys. Its a lot of juggling. What tough cookies they are to continue on, despite all the stuff going on in their bodies. I certainly hope I can be as 'tough' in the face of dis-ease.

Pat used to say to me (because Latte always had MAJOR issues when I had a few extra days or a week off), how lucky I was to have her going through that while I was home to care for her more. I would be frustrated because I had looked forward to DOING stuff, ya know? But really, it was lucky so she could be cared for the best way possible. Blackie pulled a similar stunt by going through this while you were home for the holidays. You cared for him well and he IS doing better (right???). He will feel fantastic by the time you leave for vacation. He wants you to enjoy yourself and rejuvinate, I just know it! :mrgreen:

p.s.- swung my ice tools for the first time in maybe 3yrs today! :mrgreen: had some friends in the competition at Ouray, who did really well too. THought that might put a quick smile on your face.
 
I don't know how i missed your condo today, Ele...

still sending healing and positive vines to you & blackie.
 

Attachments

  • hugs.jpg
    hugs.jpg
    24 KB · Views: 412
I missed your condo today too--So sorry that Blackie is going through this, but glad it is being treated--Sending Healing Green Vines to dear Blackie & hope he will be well real soon--My cats have both been on bupe & did very well--Big Hugs to you both!
 
At least from what we know with people, p'titis is very painful. I wonder if Blackie just his own way of letting you know he's in pain -- not that I want you to have a lot of data on this. Hopefully, this flare is on it's way out.
 
Hi Ele,
I hope everything is okay over there. We worry when you're not around. :cry:
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top