1/8/18 - Luci - AMPS 283

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Luci

Very Active Member
Still reading many posts and web pages here. still feeling overwhelmed.
Luci's numbers are still higher than they used to be on the ReliOn meter. 283 this morning.
I think due to the DM dry kibble - but as one member said yesterday; better that she's eating something than nothing - especially prior to Lantus injection.
I've decided to go with 1 unit twice a day - one because the vet, although he recommended 2 units has agreed that 1 will do And secondly, because she WILL eat the dry kibble which I suspect is higher in carbs (says 18% on the bag)...her numbers are going to be higher and we will have to adjust insulin accordingly.
I can only hope this is the right decision. Sometimes you've got to follow your gut. I know that members said once you have a dose - stick to it - others say we're still stocking the depot - so I hope that the changes I've made in the last 3 days aren't detrimental to her overall progress toward remission!

Trying to do the best we can do here. Please see her attached spreadsheet for numbers.

For those who've asked, my back is still very still but the pain level has gone down to where it's tolerable. I'm taking Motrin and heating pad...and not bending over very much. Thank you for asking! Thank you for helping with Luci as we navigate this maze. Sometimes I fear that it's going to be just too much for us to handle...but we'll give it our best effort.
 
Still reading many posts and web pages here. still feeling overwhelmed.
Luci's numbers are still higher than they used to be on the ReliOn meter. 283 this morning.
I think due to the DM dry kibble - but as one member said yesterday; better that she's eating something than nothing - especially prior to Lantus injection.
I've decided to go with 1 unit twice a day - one because the vet, although he recommended 2 units has agreed that 1 will do And secondly, because she WILL eat the dry kibble which I suspect is higher in carbs (says 18% on the bag)...her numbers are going to be higher and we will have to adjust insulin accordingly.
I can only hope this is the right decision. Sometimes you've got to follow your gut. I know that members said once you have a dose - stick to it - others say we're still stocking the depot - so I hope that the changes I've made in the last 3 days aren't detrimental to her overall progress toward remission!

Trying to do the best we can do here. Please see her attached spreadsheet for numbers.

For those who've asked, my back is still very still but the pain level has gone down to where it's tolerable. I'm taking Motrin and heating pad...and not bending over very much. Thank you for asking! Thank you for helping with Luci as we navigate this maze. Sometimes I fear that it's going to be just too much for us to handle...but we'll give it our best effort.
I think you’re doing great! It IS difficult and so much to learn. Just keep doing what you’re doing and reading as much as you can. You’ll get there.
 
Here is yesterdays post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-7-luci-amps-291.189248/
I've linked it so that anyone looking in on you can easily look back through your history before giving you any advice.

How is her eating? She seem ok?

Hope your back is feeling better.
Thanks for asking! My back is pretty stiff, but spoke to one of the docs I work for this morning and he said at least I didn't blow a disc! Good news there! I'll be ok. Just takes time, patience.
Luci ate pretty well this morning; 1/2 can FF fish flavor early - and 1/2 c. MD kibble just before injection time. She seems to be doing well. I noticed she's drinking more water - and her numbers are still too high...but we're working on it. Hopefully we can maintain this routine long enough to start to see some improvement :)
 
Sorry your back is hurting. Hope you are having better luck testing Luci.
Back is stiff today, but at least not a blown disc (per a doc I work for - Neurosurgeon)...
Luci's BG testing going well - hubby was up really early today so held her for me. She had not peed on the plastic pebbles so didn't get to do the UA for sugar - BG more accurate anyway.
 
So glad to hear she is eating for you.

I know it’s so overwhelming in the beginning, we’ve all been there, but it gets easier, I promise. ;)

Hope your back heals up quickly and I’ll be following along excitedly to see Luci’s progress. :bighug:
 
Sorry to keep going on Sue, but do you think you could get one test mid cycle say +4 in the am cycle.
and one test in the pm cycle (perhaps just before you go to bed)?

That will give you some indication of how she is doing with the dose.
Getting the amps and pmps readings is great, but on their own they don't tell you much about how she is doing in the dose.
Some cats have a habit of giving us quite big swings in BG, especially in the beginning when they are not regulated, in order to keep Luci safe, its really important to know how low the dose is getting her, and if she is getting enough insulin.
They are perfectly capable of starting of in yellow dropping to a nice green and then back up to yellow by next PS. If you don't see the green you might take her up when in fact you should be holding the dose or even reducing it if she drops low enough. You need to have at least some idea of how low the dose is getting her in order to dose effectively and safely. The pre shot test isn't always a good indicator of how low the dose is taking your cat.
Relying on a curve once a week, is of limited use, as cats often bounce, when they start on insulin, and if you run the curve on a bounce cycle it offers no valuable information.

I think Sienne suggested you took a look at her kitties spread sheet, here is the link
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AjkQ3TXLNUptdGZLM1Z1dFpLUVdXbzVvYzNmaUtmZEE&hl=en#gid=12
She was known to start of at 400 and plummet to green in the first few hours of the curve.



I'm sorry to ask, as I can imagine how difficult things are with your back pain.

From new to group sticky
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Sorry to keep going on Sue, but do you think you could get one test mid cycle say +4 in the am cycle.
and one test in the pm cycle (perhaps just before you go to bed)?

That will give you some indication of how she is doing with the dose.
Getting the amps and pmps readings is great, but on their own they don't tell you much about how she is doing in the dose.
Some cats have a habit of giving us quite big swings in BG, especially in the beginning when they are not regulated, in order to keep Luci safe, its really important to know how low the dose is getting her, and if she is getting enough insulin.
They are perfectly capable of starting of in yellow dropping to a nice green and then back up to yellow by next PS. If you don't see the green you might take her up when in fact you should be holding the dose or even reducing it if she drops low enough. You need to have at least some idea of how low the dose is getting her in order to dose effectively and safely. The pre shot test isn't always a good indicator of how low the dose is taking your cat.
Relying on a curve once a week, is of limited use, as cats often bounce, when they start on insulin, and if you run the curve on a bounce cycle it offers no valuable information.

I think Sienne suggested you took a look at her kitties spread sheet, here is the link
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0AjkQ3TXLNUptdGZLM1Z1dFpLUVdXbzVvYzNmaUtmZEE&hl=en#gid=12
She was known to start of at 400 and plummet to green in the first few hours of the curve.



I'm sorry to ask, as I can imagine how difficult things are with your back pain.

From new to group sticky
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Ok, thanks for the information about taking 'another' BG test. The reason for the quotes..OMG - how many times a day do we need to stab this little girl in the ear? Hourly? Heck I thought once a day was pushing it...once a week was doing good for us...now multiple times a day? :( :( :(
Not intended for you personally and I understand now why this has to be - what's going on after the dose and later on after the dose. Apparently not much - her reading was 253 at noon - 4 hours after her Lantus 1 unit. So it's not doing much at this point in lowering her BG.

However, with that being said, she is eating another one of those FF gravy pouches (her treat for going thru yet another poke)...and she was looking for food anyway - she won't eat the remainder of the FF fish pate offering from this morning...likely that will lay there all day...

So again, I ask, is the food that she WILL eat - higher in carbs than what she was previously eating - causing her numbers to be so high?

Please review my spreadsheet, if I'm looking at this correctly the 4+ is for the 4th hour after receiving insulin? Right? If not, please advise and I'll move it to where ever.
I looked at the other spreadsheet...so she's poking her kitty hourly to get these values? OMG :(
 
Ok, thanks for the information about taking 'another' BG test. The reason for the quotes..OMG - how many times a day do we need to stab this little girl in the ear? Hourly? Heck I thought once a day was pushing it...once a week was doing good for us...now multiple times a day? :( :( :(

I know it seems jarring, but you have to look at it a different way: we are not out to torture them, we are monitoring their numbers, like Gill said, to keep them safe and to see what the dose is doing so that we can help them feel better. Parents would have to do this with their human diabetic children, and I imagine it's not very fun, but the bottom line is the horrid parts of this disease are not the tiny pricks and needle jabs, and that's why we check their blood, we are trying to prevent the bad things from happening.

Regarding cats, specifically, many aren't bothered with the blood checks, you can look at Asia's SS in my signature, I have to test her a fair bit because she does some funny things. Asia doesn't flinch and I give her lots of love before and after. Some people give special treats at test times and some cat's even ask to be tested to get treats! Seriously!

It's not as bad as you think it is, it's trickier in the beginning for you and for your cat, but once you get your technique down and establish a routine, it will be no big deal. :bighug:
 
Good morning (afternoon for you)! Glad to hear back will mend soon. You and George are doing great with Luci! Hang in there and remember to breathe (And smile, you're giving Luci healing love). :bighug:
 
I know it seems jarring, but you have to look at it a different way: we are not out to torture them, we are monitoring their numbers, like Gill said, to keep them safe and to see what the dose is doing so that we can help them feel better. Parents would have to do this with their human diabetic children, and I imagine it's not very fun, but the bottom line is the horrid parts of this disease are not the tiny pricks and needle jabs, and that's why we check their blood, we are trying to prevent the bad things from happening.

Regarding cats, specifically, many aren't bothered with the blood checks, you can look at Asia's SS in my signature, I have to test her a fair bit because she does some funny things. Asia doesn't flinch and I give her lots of love before and after. Some people give special treats at test times and some cat's even ask to be tested to get treats! Seriously!

It's not as bad as you think it is, it's trickier in the beginning for you and for your cat, but once you get your technique down and establish a routine, it will be no big deal. :bighug:
I will do my best - testing is a two person job in this household. Holding Luci on the counter requires my husband; and then I get her ear prepped on the warmed rice filled sock; he does the poke and I touch the meter to blood drop - which is sometimes quite small - but we push the blood up to the poke area and lo and behold there's the tiniest little drop - which is all it takes for the meter to suck it up - thankfull!

Luci flinches each and every time we poke her...sometimes she squeaks...and the same for the insulin shot - I pinch up a pile of flesh and fur behind her shoulder and every time I put that little needle in - she flinches...so even with that tiny thing she feels it...and lets me know...I usually try to rub that area and pet her...but she's off and gone...trying to get away (for both of these events)...Luci isn't one to sit on our laps or take a lot of petting. She'll come over to be combed occasionally...she likes the comb...but when she's had enough of that - which isn't long - she stalks off and flops down...just out of reach. Sometimes when I see her sleeping, she looks so cute, I'll go over and pet on her a bit, rub her head around her ears - and after a few seconds - she'll start to lean back and then swats me with her paw - next thing coming is a bite - so I'd better back off...she's had enough socializing.

Anyone else love such an aloof cat? I figure it's just her nature...she comes to me in the middle of the night - purring - I mean it's 3 a.m. and she'll lay down whichever way I'm facing so I can pet her - If I'm tired and fall asleep, she leaves...or if I've just rolled over she goes to the side where my hands are - ok, you can pet me NOW...it's only 2:30 or 4 am. - otherwise she keeps her distance...

I wish she was one of those cats who doesn't seem to mind getting attention, a treat, etc. for a little poke...but she seems to mind every time. Although - I'm happy to report - she does not hide from us or run away when we ask her if she'll come up for a poke...she lays there - waiting? At any rate, she usually gets a snack or food after every poke (such an injustice)...at least she seems to act like that's what it was!

I did manage to get one reading today around noon - but had an appointment in the afternoon so didn't get home until nearly 6 - time to make dinner and then we'll be getting her ready for her next injection at 8 (poke, feed, shoot)...I'll be lucky to be up till 9 - so trying to get more readings later in the evening...I can try for one at 9...but that's iffy...

We'll work on getting some more readings when we're both home to take them...
 
Good morning (afternoon for you)! Glad to hear back will mend soon. You and George are doing great with Luci! Hang in there and remember to breathe (And smile, you're giving Luci healing love). :bighug:
Thank you! We're hanging in there...all this regimen is new and is certainly disruptive and stressful. I hope it won't be like this forever...hope she'll get better and we'll be able to back off on some of this poking...
 
Thank you! We're hanging in there...all this regimen is new and is certainly disruptive and stressful. I hope it won't be like this forever...hope she'll get better and we'll be able to back off on some of this poking...
Honestly Sue, it gets less stressful pretty quick because things that are brand new and scary become routine. But it will always be disruptive to a certain extent. These new daily obligations are the new the normal. It just gets easier to manage! :p
 
Honestly Sue, it gets less stressful pretty quick because things that are brand new and scary become routine. But it will always be disruptive to a certain extent. These new daily obligations are the new the normal. It just gets easier to manage! :p
I guess I worry because my hubby goes biking for a half day at a time - so we won't be getting multi-readings during those times. (like just about every day of the week).

I worry about what we're going to do about social obligations? We have to be home at 8 o'clock to take care of our cat...nor will we be leaving the house before 8 in the morning - what do people do when those 12 hour times just don't work out? There are times when work or other events will get in the way - what does anyone do then?

I know we're new to this and getting adjusted...but how does a person sort out the timing later on? If we're out and don't get home till 10 p.m. and we do testing, feeding shooting...then the whole schedule collapses the next day...can't get a shot at 8 a.m. after getting one the night before so late...

I'm concerned...and a worry wort...what can I say?
 
Here's the result of Luci's recent Urinalysis at the vet.
 

Attachments

  • Luci UA 01-05-18.jpg
    Luci UA 01-05-18.jpg
    84.8 KB · Views: 82
I guess I worry because my hubby goes biking for a half day at a time - so we won't be getting multi-readings during those times. (like just about every day of the week).

I worry about what we're going to do about social obligations? We have to be home at 8 o'clock to take care of our cat...nor will we be leaving the house before 8 in the morning - what do people do when those 12 hour times just don't work out? There are times when work or other events will get in the way - what does anyone do then?

I know we're new to this and getting adjusted...but how does a person sort out the timing later on? If we're out and don't get home till 10 p.m. and we do testing, feeding shooting...then the whole schedule collapses the next day...can't get a shot at 8 a.m. after getting one the night before so late...

I'm concerned...and a worry wort...what can I say?
Its ok and natural to worry and to want answers all at once. It'll be easier for you though if you can try to focus on one day at a time. Some of those scheduling issues you won't be able to answer till they come up. You may cancel. You may have a vet tech or friend give shot. Too early to even know what Luci is going to do on insulin. There are all sorts of ways to adjust for required absences, and kitties have proven very forgiving! It's super early! Breathe, practice testing and getting her easier with it and take it one step at time. And btw, lots of people test 3-4 only because their life won't allow otherwise. It is what it is and you makes the very most of what you're able to do to help Luci!:bighug:
 
Its ok and natural to worry and to want answers all at once. It'll be easier for you though if you can try to focus on one day at a time. Some of those scheduling issues you won't be able to answer till they come up. You may cancel. You may have a vet tech or friend give shot. Too early to even know what Luci is going to do on insulin. There are all sorts of ways to adjust for required absences, and kitties have proven very forgiving! It's super early! Breathe, practice testing and getting her easier with it and take it one step at time. And btw, lots of people test 3-4 only because their life won't allow otherwise. It is what it is and you makes the very most of what you're able to do to help Luci!:bighug:

Thank you for your reassuring words...I do get ahead of myself and sometimes it's 'crushing'...if you know what I mean.
 
Anyone else love such an aloof cat? I figure it's just her nature...she comes to me in the middle of the night - purring - I mean it's 3 a.m. and she'll lay down whichever way I'm facing so I can pet her - If I'm tired and fall asleep, she leaves...or if I've just rolled over she goes to the side where my hands are - ok, you can pet me NOW...it's only 2:30 or 4 am. - otherwise she keeps her distance...

I wish she was one of those cats who doesn't seem to mind getting attention, a treat, etc. for a little poke...but she seems to mind every time. Although - I'm happy to report - she does not hide from us or run away when we ask her if she'll come up for a poke...she lays there - waiting? At any rate, she usually gets a snack or food after every poke (such an injustice)...at least she seems to act like that's what it was!

I had a cat like you described growing up, he was a beautiful, silky black panther of a cat; and you of course would want to pet him, but you learned quickly it was only possible to do that on his terms. :rolleyes: You sure don’t love them any less though, just from afar sometimes! :joyful:

I really hope once it becomes routine over there, it will be a non issue. I’m sure you’re by far not the first person on this board, or even currently active on this board, with a less than cooperative kitty friend. If you ever want to poll about that in he future (I know you are currently pretty overwhelmed), just edit the title of your current condo and change to a ? and say something like “tips for uncooperative cat that flinches with shots and testing” or something like that, and I’m sure you’ll get a lot of advice from caregivers in a similar situation and what has worked for them. :bighug:
 
Thank you for your reassuring words...I do get ahead of myself and sometimes it's 'crushing'...if you know what I mean.
Only too well! If you ever look over Myagi's threads, you'll see some of my melt downs and utter confusion no matter how hard I try to understand. That's why you focus on the basics - so when you're overwhelmed, you can still function for Luci's care.
You're already doing great! :bighug:
"If one spends the time to learn the basics...
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose,
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle,
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose,
observes kitty's response to food, and understands the reasoning behind the choices... rather than immediately stressing over a choice between TR or SLGS and having someone tell you every move to make... things tends to fall into place."
 
Only too well! If you ever look over Myagi's threads, you'll see some of my melt downs and utter confusion no matter how hard I try to understand. That's why you focus on the basics - so when you're overwhelmed, you can still function for Luci's care.
You're already doing great! :bighug:
"If one spends the time to learn the basics...
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose,
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle,
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose,
observes kitty's response to food, and understands the reasoning behind the choices... rather than immediately stressing over a choice between TR or SLGS and having someone tell you every move to make... things tends to fall into place."
Good Morning! From foggy Naples, Florida!
Just wanted to let you know I was able to do some reading this morning - your post/your SS contained a link to this info: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/ - I found it amazingly reassuring to read how others deal with schedules. I too have a full time job - however I work from home. And you say, wow! That's great! You can test anytime...well, not exactly. but short of a lengthy conversation - sometimes my work involves intense hours of programming - minimal to no interruptions (I can barely get to the bathroom or the kitchen to grab something to eat sometimes!)...getting a BG test - might be stretching it a bit...but many days I work at my own pace - so it's completely doable. I also see that others have auto-feeders with timers (we actually have those at home in Michigan)...so that might be helpful when/if necessary. We'll have to see about that later on down the road.

At this point I'm still feeling overwhelmed - and I feel badly for Luci and her ears...we poked her (I thought) a lot yesterday...and she squeaks/flinches every time. Hubby holds on so she won't run off...and we got numbers (all too high) every time...so we're going to try getting some more readings after the AM insulin; that poking late at night..after 8 PM just isn't happening. He's up late...but I'm in so much pain I HAVE to take meds and go to bed...it's the only place I get any relief. I dont know if I could talk hubby into trying to get a BG reading later at night or not...so far it's a 'TWO PERSON' job getting her BG.

So I just wanted to say THANK YOU for your patience and understanding. I still feel like a square peg in a round hole...all of this is new and scary and I feel my heart ache every time I stick her - with the Lancet or the Insulin needle. Last night she actually stopped in her tracks after her insulin and tried to lick her shoulder where I'd jabbed her...I thought that needle was so fine that they didn't notice...it couldn't be any worse than a fleabite??? Could it? Is she super sensitive or what? Have you heard of a cat that's sooooo sensitive? Everyone here says they don't feel it...but I swear she does...every time...
 
Good Morning! From foggy Naples, Florida!
Just wanted to let you know I was able to do some reading this morning - your post/your SS contained a link to this info: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ion-possible-with-a-full-time-job-yes.129378/ - I found it amazingly reassuring to read how others deal with schedules. I too have a full time job - however I work from home. And you say, wow! That's great! You can test anytime...well, not exactly. but short of a lengthy conversation - sometimes my work involves intense hours of programming - minimal to no interruptions (I can barely get to the bathroom or the kitchen to grab something to eat sometimes!)...getting a BG test - might be stretching it a bit...but many days I work at my own pace - so it's completely doable. I also see that others have auto-feeders with timers (we actually have those at home in Michigan)...so that might be helpful when/if necessary. We'll have to see about that later on down the road.

At this point I'm still feeling overwhelmed - and I feel badly for Luci and her ears...we poked her (I thought) a lot yesterday...and she squeaks/flinches every time. Hubby holds on so she won't run off...and we got numbers (all too high) every time...so we're going to try getting some more readings after the AM insulin; that poking late at night..after 8 PM just isn't happening. He's up late...but I'm in so much pain I HAVE to take meds and go to bed...it's the only place I get any relief. I dont know if I could talk hubby into trying to get a BG reading later at night or not...so far it's a 'TWO PERSON' job getting her BG.

So I just wanted to say THANK YOU for your patience and understanding. I still feel like a square peg in a round hole...all of this is new and scary and I feel my heart ache every time I stick her - with the Lancet or the Insulin needle. Last night she actually stopped in her tracks after her insulin and tried to lick her shoulder where I'd jabbed her...I thought that needle was so fine that they didn't notice...it couldn't be any worse than a fleabite??? Could it? Is she super sensitive or what? Have you heard of a cat that's sooooo sensitive? Everyone here says they don't feel it...but I swear she does...every time...
Morning hugs! Soon enough you and George will probably be able to do it solo. In the meantime, if you guys can have fun together, pick a fave song and sing it while you're working with Luci (maybe one with her name in it). It will calm you both and hence calm her. It will greet better. Promise! You're doing great!:bighug::bighug::bighug:

And btw, Myagi flinches left ear which is hard to bleed and not at all right eat which bleeds easy! Only shot flinches are when I do it when he's not eating. No issues when he's "busy" lol. Make sure you're only going under skin and not into muscle and that the syringe has sat out for couple minutes so insulin not cold. They say it stings more if still cold.
 
Last edited:
We use 31 gauge syringes, even smaller. These ones:

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/6941/bd-ultra-fine-insulin-syringes

Also use 30 gauge lancets, the vets usually start you off with 28 and those poked a hole clear to the other side on Asia’s ear :( we got rid of those quick:

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product...ncets-30g-universal-twist-top-100ct-pack-of-6
I'll have to see if I can order them...or buy at Walgreens?
I have a whole bunch of the other; 29 because Walmart was sold out of 30 (insulin needles and lancets) when I first shopped for all the supplies...everything it seems is so 'up hill' with this process!
 
I'll have to see if I can order them...or buy at Walgreens?
I have a whole bunch of the other; 29 because Walmart was sold out of 30 (insulin needles and lancets) when I first shopped for all the supplies...everything it seems is so 'up hill' with this process!

My vet started me with a different kind too that I stopped using after a week or two. I still have them, they are my emergency syringes (and I might have to use them if my snow delayed shipment doesn’t get here soon)!

Yes, it’s a steep learning curve at first, I promise it gets easier. You can go find early threads from just about anyone on here that look like they have it all together and you will find a very different picture in the first weeks of this crazy dance. I cried a lot. I cried, I got over myself, I powered through the next day, cried again, rinse, repeat.

You’re doing great, just take each day as it comes and if you celebrate the little successes (no flinch on test today, she ate her food, she played with a toy, yay I got a green number today), you will find they take up more space than the big ones when it’s all said and done! ;)
 
My vet started me with a different kind too that I stopped using after a week or two. I still have them, they are my emergency syringes (and I might have to use them if my snow delayed shipment doesn’t get here soon)!

Yes, it’s a steep learning curve at first, I promise it gets easier. You can go find early threads from just about anyone on here that look like they have it all together and you will find a very different picture in the first weeks of this crazy dance. I cried a lot. I cried, I got over myself, I powered through the next day, cried again, rinse, repeat.

You’re doing great, just take each day as it comes and if you celebrate the little successes (no flinch on test today, she ate her food, she played with a toy, yay I got a green number today), you will find they take up more space than the big ones when it’s all said and done! ;)
Where did you get your syringes from? I've looked around a big (on line)...am trying to work today...I found lancets, but no syringes...everyone seems to have syringes WITHOUT needles on the ends...useless to me...do I have to go back to drug store? Walmart? Online would be much simpler. THANK YOU!
 
Where did you get your syringes from? I've looked around a big (on line)...am trying to work today...I found lancets, but no syringes...everyone seems to have syringes WITHOUT needles on the ends...useless to me...do I have to go back to drug store? Walmart? Online would be much simpler. THANK YOU!

The link I sent you in post #25 is where I get them, and they have needles on them. Some states require a prescription for syringes and some don’t, that’s probably why you are having trouble online. ADW has great prices, customer service and they ship from Florida, so should get to you rather fast. I order everything I can from that website (minus insulin).
 
Luci’s vet said in response to my note this afternoon where I said ‘I’m not seeing much change in her numbers’ ..
His reply ‘I’m not surprised due to low dose’

So the members here recommended starting her at .5

I went to 1. Vet recommended 2..

Based on her numbers do you all still think we’re doing ok? At what point will I start to see her BG coming down?

Will try for another BG later this afternoon...

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top