1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax med?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329

Good morning, Cheryl & Whiskers.. not too bad of an AM #, I suspect with the new pen, vet visit & possible dosecrease that good #s will be seen ;-)
Hang in there... it is frusturating sometimes, but ALWAYS worth it cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329

Hi,

The vet's office can do the lab work in 20 minutes. I have to brush my hair brush my teeth and and rush out the door. More later bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329

Thanks. We just got back from the vet I'm waiting for a phone call with test results, and I have to rush off to work now in 5 minutes. I will post more when I here from the vet. bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT... Questions?

Ok, the vet called back this evening. Miss Whiskers has a UTI again, the vet says she continues to spill a lot of sugar into her urine. Hence the continuting UTI's. He prescribed Clavamox. Give 1 ml by mouth every 12 hours for 7 days.
We are currently at 1.5 units of lantus BID. He would like us to go up to 2 units bid, he said she has been at 2 units bid before. Thoughts, comments, ideas?

Ms Whiskers also had brown gunk in her ears, he took a sample and DX a yeast infection in the ears. He prescribed Mometamax. Apply 5-7 drops in each ear every 24 hours for 7 days.

I picked up the prescriptions on my dinner break from work this evening, and we will begin medications tonight.

I am really concerned about Whiskers ongoing diabetic symptoms, It has been 3 months since she has had any green numbers. I just don't think that is healthy for her, and worried about possible long term detriment to her health. She was diagnosed with Pancreatitis Dec 01, 2010.

I did get copies of the lab results from todays visit and also from her visit on Dec 01. What should we do? I am off this weekend and will be home to monitor Whiskers.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Hi, Cheryl.. good news here is now you know what is going on & then we can manage the #s.. I am bumping you because I do not have specific advice.. but a vet visit is just what Whiskers needed & now you know why!
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Evening Cheryl - sorry to hear about Whiskers. She has a lot of pink/red on her SS. That would be worrisome to me, too. I'll be interested to see what advice you get about a dosecrease.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Hi Cheryl,
I would think that the infections are driving up Whiskers' blood glucose numbers and that once the antibiotics get the infections under control the numbers will begin to come down. But please wait for one of our experts to advise you about whether or not you should raise the insulin dose and, if so, by how much.
Sending Whiskers lots of healing vines and I hope the antibiotics will do the trick. Don't forget that antibiotics kill off the "good" bacteria in the digestive tract, so you should add some probiotics to Whiskers' diet: Forti Flora sprinkled on the food (available at your vet's), or plain yogurt with live cultures (many cats like yogurt; the Greek style plain yogurt is ideal for this purpose).
Good luck!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

It doesn't sound like the vet did a cytocentesis -- he certainly wouldn't have the results of a culture & sensitivity back this soon. If a C & S isn't done, it's possible that Clavamox isn't the appropriate antibiotic to target the UTI. In addition, a free catch urine sample can be contaminated.

I believe that Mometamax has a steroid in it. Just be aware that steroids can raise BG. Some cats don't react to topical steroids, but there's no guarantee. Hopefully, this will be a short course of treatment.

A UTI and an ear infection will both have the effect of raising BG levels. I'm not comfortable suggesting a dose increase without some mid-cycle checks. It's quite possible that Whiskers is hitting lower numbers in the middle of the cycle and what you are seeing are the bounces at pre-shot times. IMHO, raising the dose by 0.5u with limited testing could be a set up for trouble. If you are going to raise the dose, I wouldn't raise by more than 0.25u and then only if you can commit to getting multiple spot checks.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

I would be inclined to go up to 1.75 *if* you can monitor like crazy this weekend. Whiskers has seen some fast drops and a fair amount of blue on this dose, and I think it is possible that there has been some green that you haven't caught. Overall, it looks like she has room for a small increase.

Here are some cautions to keep in mind. These are the reasons I think you should monitor like crazy, and the reasons I think going all the way up to 2u might be too much.

1. Whiskers has seen some fast drops on this dose. Some of those drops could have gone to green, especially at night.
2. If Whiskers has an infection and the AB starts kicking in, the numbers could drop quickly.
3. You don't have any tests after +3 for the past several days.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

I'd do a culture too.

I think a cat recently had a urinary infection of the same ingred. in fortiflora (Enterococcal urinary tract infection). Food for thought. I'd avoid it and chose a different probiotic. But thats just me. I think fortiflora is great for a healthy cat without issues but worry about it in a cat with current issues. Just being conservative.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Karrie & Maverick said:
I think a cat recently had a urinary infection of the same ingred. in fortiflora (Enterococcal urinary tract infection). Food for thought. I'd avoid it and chose a different probiotic. But thats just me. I think fortiflora is great for a healthy cat without issues but worry about it in a cat with current issues. Just being conservative.

I think this topic came up with Perry and Sooty. Perry spoke with his vet about the issue an enterococcal UTI and a probiotic. The bacteria in the intestinal track and what's used in FortiFlora would not cause a UTI. If anything, it may be the result of a kitty contaminating him/herself by licking various regions of their nether parts. This would not be the result of having ingested a probiotic.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Hi Sienna, Libby, karrie, and Ella,

Thank you for your advice. I appreciate it. I can't tell from our paperwork if it was actually a cytocentesis, but I believe it was. She always comes out from the back lab with a large wet spot on her abdomin, I was told the first time it was done that this was where the needle is inserted. I belive that is how the cytocentesis is done. Dose this sound right? This was the case today. But if it wasn't enought time than I'm not sure. I will call tomorrow morning and ask. We go to the VCA animal hospital.

The Mometamax for the ears is a 7 day course. 5-7 drops in both ears every 24 hours. I will inquire if it contains a steroid when I call tomorrow, as I am leary of steroid use as well.

I would like to try the 1.75 units bid, I will wait until tomorrow when I am at home to monitor. How often should I check her BG every hour, every 2 hours, every 3 hours?
:?:
Thanks again.

P.S. I do have some greek yogurt in the refigerator, should I give her some of that, if so how much? I wasn't sure if the advise on FortiFlora is go ahead and try it, or not try it?
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Cheryl....it sounds like they did cystocentesis (same as cytocentesis) but I'd double check to make sure. The Fortiflora should be fine; I use little acidophilus perles and give them in pill pockets but if she will eat the Fortiflora, that works and is a good suggestion. The greek yogurt works but I don't know how much or how often. I would also check the topical; it was a topical eye steroid that was the icing on the cake for Gracie.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Just give a little yogurt and see if she will eat it: start with 1/2 measuring teaspoon. You don't want to give much in any event, just a dollop. I think that the consensus is that it is safe to give FortiFlora?? In any event, just sprinkle a little on her food, not the whole packet at once.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

I'm so sorry to hear that Marjorie, and I definatly understand. I am an asthmatic and was initially put on steroids, but it kept getting worse not better. I finally did my own research and got my doc's to prescribe med's other than steroids, they weren't to keen on it, but I really gave them no choice. That was 10 years ago, and I am still doing well today. That said when I have a severe asthma attack (which is rare now), I have to go on a 5 day course of oral prednisone (steroids), nothing else will do as untreated asthma can kill, I'm never happy about it, but it is rare, once every couple years.

I will check with the vet tomorrow as I share your concern about steroids.

I hope you are doing well, take care, and thanks again!

P.S I've been wondering is that a picture of a tiny Gracie on someones finger? Soooo cute!
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

If anything, it may be the result of a kitty contaminating him/herself by licking various regions of their nether parts.

This is what I meant but you said it better :) I think it is fine for most cats but wonder about a cat that's experiencing issues like this if it is wise if there is something else equally effective for a probiotic? Or for a severely ill kitty - maybe a different choice would be best but for 99% of kitties I expect its completely fine.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

sending healing vines for Whiskers hope she has a fast recovery I do doubt they did a C&S cysto since its urine culture that has to be ran and almost always takes 5-7 days turnaround time our vets sent it to a micro lab.... anyway hope she feels better soon I also use activia yogurt plain for my cats here and have great results for those who do not like the forti flora
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

It's good to know they got a sterile sample. I think if they can grow the culture, it can take 3+ days in-house. Otherwise, if they send the sample out, it will take longer. The vet may have started an AB with an eye to having to change it if the culture came back indicating a different AB was needed.

FWIW, Gabby won't touch yogurt. If you don't want to use FortiFlora, there's another probiotic I've used, ReNew Ultimate. I've gotten it at Whole Foods in the refrigerated supplement section. I think some other folks here have used Culturelle.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

IIRC, you also recently started a new pen/cartridge/vial/whatever, so be careful about adding a dose change to your current mixture of variables.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 VET VISIT....Questions?

Well, Whiskers is down a little tonight. PMPS 267, strange you'd think with the stress of the vet visit she might be up.

I administered clavamox 1ml oral. I stayed with our regular dose of 1.5 units bid lantus tonight.

doing some internet checking about mometamax, not sure if I want to use it. It is a corticosteroid prescribed for use in dogs!
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 VET VISIT....Questions?

Well I think I have my answer, not to us mometamax, this is what I found online:

• Mometamax Otic Suspension is used in dogs only. Do not use in cats.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax

It sounds like your vet did do a cystocentesis to get the urine and then ran an in house test, rather than a C&S which would take several days. My vet will run an in house test which can show presence of infection but not what bacteria. If clear then no need for the more expensive test, if infection is present then it is sent out to see what the proper AB is. Check you bill, the C&S is usually over $100 and it should be on there if they sent it out.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax

Hi WCF and Ann,

Thank you for the link on mometomax. It does appear a couple people have used them in cats. Now I'm not sure what to do.

My bill says urinalysis complete $58.05, so it does appear they ran an inhouse test. They are mindfull of helping me keep costs down, as we are regulars at the vet. I'll call the vet tomorrow, to see how they determined the use of AB.

They also checked for ketones. No ketones :mrgreen: .
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax

Baby had an infection in her ear as you know & she was given Zymox HC that might be an option for Whiskers
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax

I would discuss options for clearing the ear infection with your vet. It does sound like he examined what is in your cat's ears. It may be that the Mometamax is the best choice. However, sometimes, we need to remind our vets that our cats are diabetic and that we're working very hard to get their numbers under control and you want to work together toward that goal. Not every cat will respond to a topical steroid -- you just don't know. There are also cats here that get daily systemic steroids that do effect their numbers but the medication is absolutely necessary. We work the insulin around the steroid.
 
Re: 1/7 Whiskers AMPS 329 PMPS 267 Question about mometamax

Hello,

Hi Nicole and Sienna,

I new that Baby had an infection in her ear as you know & she was given Zymox HC that might be an option for Whiskers. I wasn't sure what she was give, and was going to go and search your condo, thanks for providing it. I'm going to call the vet shortly, my regular vet is off this weekend, so I'll have to talk to someone else, we'll see what they have to say. Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top