1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51 +14 46

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70

Sorry, no real advice for you, I can't figure out what the heck you are doing with the dosing. It is way too erratic to be able to evaluate, even if it were a regular insulin on a sliding scale. It appears kinda dangerous to me. Maybe that sounds harsh, but how do you know:

what is consistently working,
what is a panicky liver response,
what is a hold the dose
and what is truly an overdose?

One of these times you or someone here is going to "guess" wrong or advise wrong.

Is there anyway of convincing you to settle on a dose and stick with the protocol? That is my request and advice.
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33

Are you feeding HC and using a 1/2 tsp karo to get this number up?

Test again in 15 minutes, please.
 
Blue said:
Sorry, no real advice for you, I can't figure out what the heck you are doing with the dosing. It is way too erratic to be able to evaluate, even if it were a regular insulin on a sliding scale. It appears kinda dangerous to me. Maybe that sounds harsh, but how do you know:

what is consistently working,
what is a panicky liver response,
what is a hold the dose
and what is truly an overdose?

One of these times you or someone here is going to "guess" wrong or advise wrong.

Is there anyway of convincing you to settle on a dose and stick with the protocol? That is my request and advice.

I will not shoot when he is too low if that is against the protocol so be it!
Could you elaborate on what is so erratic? He was on 3.4 units for 7 days then reduced to 3 units 3 days ago. What are you talking about??
Regular insulin sliding scale you can shoot as soon as number is above certain points. You can shoot 5 or 6 or 10 times a day if necessary.
I'm confused as what is your point lady?!
When you talk make sure you can back it up don't just shoot your mouth without any back up!!!!!
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33

Shawn did you retest the 33? Sometimes when you get a drop like that it is good to retest right away to make sure it is not meter error.
Like said in the post before this you can feel a little HC....about a tsp.
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33

Are you taking care of your low numbers right now or just storming about angry on the keyboard.

According to your spreadsheet you have dosed at one time and then not dosed and then dosed ....inconsistently for the last week.

There is no way to tell if the 3.0 is now an overdose ....

Now are you dealing with your low numbers?
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51

Miriam and Putty said:
Shawn did you retest the 33? Sometimes when you get a drop like that it is good to retest right away to make sure it is not meter error.
Like said in the post before this you can feel a little HC....about a tsp.

Yes I did, at 8:03 meter read Lo then 8:04 was 33.
Now is 51 after some HC food.
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51

Shawn I suggest you skip the shot this morning. I think you need a dose that you would be comfortable shooting twice a day and would keep Tubby in safe numbers.
Let me see if I can get some other's input as to what would be a good dose.

You will at some point have to get comfortable shooting low (obviously not a 33) but it will be better for Tubby if he did not go so low then so high all in one day. A lot of cats do that naturally (like Putty) but it does look like Tubby is doing well on Lantus so if you can avoid the big highs and lows of a missed dose it would give a much clearer picture of how Tubby is reacting to the Lantus.
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51

Good morning guys .. no dosing advice here, but I tend to agree with miriam .. but anyways, I hope tubby is able to surf just a little bit higher for you today ...
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51

Shawn --

I want to put the ball in your court. I think I commented a day or two ago that we need to find a dose you're comfortable with that so you are able to shoot twice a day without needing to skip a shot. I suspect that you would agree that it's hard to really know how effective a dose is if Tubby is going low, you need to skip, and then his numbers are high, you shoot your regular dose, Tubby goes low and you then have to repeat the cycle.

There are pros and cons (as with most things). If you drop the dose, say to 1.5u (you can pick whatever dose seems right), Tubby may go through a period of high numbers. I know that makes you concerned about Tubby's overall health. It will, however, be safe and you can systematically work the dose back up and get more comfortable dealing with lower numbers in a gradual fashion. If you keep the dose higher (where you are or in that general neighborhood once you take the earned dose reduction), you will need to aggressively manage Tubby's numbers with food. It will mean more testing to stay on top of the numbers. It has the advantage of earning Tubby more dose reductions but it can take a lot of work and if you're not used to it, dealing with those low numbers can be unnerving.

There isn't a "right" answer here. Many people feel far more comfortable starting lower and working the dose up. The goal, regardless of the path to get there, is to find a dose that you can shoot twice a day. Just let us know what you think is the best strategy for Tubby and we'll help you get the details sorted out.
 
Re: 1/7 Tubby +12 70 +12.5 33 +13 51

PeterDevonMocha said:
Good morning guys .. no dosing advice here, but I tend to agree with miriam .. but anyways, I hope tubby is able to surf just a little bit higher for you today ...

Thank you Peter, he is doing fine !
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Shawn --

I want to put the ball in your court. I think I commented a day or two ago that we need to find a dose you're comfortable with that so you are able to shoot twice a day without needing to skip a shot. I suspect that you would agree that it's hard to really know how effective a dose is if Tubby is going low, you need to skip, and then his numbers are high, you shoot your regular dose, Tubby goes low and you then have to repeat the cycle.

There are pros and cons (as with most things). If you drop the dose, say to 1.5u (you can pick whatever dose seems right), Tubby may go through a period of high numbers. I know that makes you concerned about Tubby's overall health. It will, however, be safe and you can systematically work the dose back up and get more comfortable dealing with lower numbers in a gradual fashion. If you keep the dose higher (where you are or in that general neighborhood once you take the earned dose reduction), you will need to aggressively manage Tubby's numbers with food. It will mean more testing to stay on top of the numbers. It has the advantage of earning Tubby more dose reductions but it can take a lot of work and if you're not used to it, dealing with those low numbers can be unnerving.

There isn't a "right" answer here. Many people feel far more comfortable starting lower and working the dose up. The goal, regardless of the path to get there, is to find a dose that you can shoot twice a day. Just let us know what you think is the best strategy for Tubby and we'll help you get the details sorted out.


Good morning,
I did write something before your post but somehow it didn't go through. I said clearly that Tubby's next dose will be 2 units and even that will be reduced soon after.
Maybe 1.5 or even 1 unit would do him better as you suggested. However I believe Tubby will go insulin free in reasonably a short time. I know because Tubby and I went through the whole nine yards before.
But the next shot will be either 2 or 1.5 units. And I do thank you for sticking around regardless of our or better to say my "ERRATIC" behavior!
Have a nice weekend.
 
My only thought is that you pick a dose that you can stick with. The key to getting Tubby to the lowest possible dose (and tightly regulated) or OTJ is to keep systematically chipping away. It allows his system to adjust to the change in insulin as his hopefully functioning pancreas starts to kick in. The insulin offers support to his pancreas as it is healing.
 
Hi, Shawn & Tubby.. Happy Friday to you both.. how exciting to get a dose soon, shoot consistently & let the healing begin :mrgreen:
I am excited to see Tubby in healthy #s & I hope you both have furbaby fabulous weekend!
 
Nicole & Baby said:
Hi, Shawn & Tubby.. Happy Friday to you both.. how exciting to get a dose soon, shoot consistently & let the healing begin :mrgreen:
I am excited to see Tubby in healthy #s & I hope you both have furbaby fabulous weekend!

You are very kind and I sincerely thank you, like wise Tubby and I wish you a wonderful weekend!
 
After lots of thinking and research I decided to go down to 1.5 units on his PMPS tonight and work our ways up.
I do have a strong feeling this would be a right dose!
Wish you all my best and a nice weekend.

Shawn & Tubby
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top