1/7 Trixie's first condo! AMPS 161, +4 198, PMPS 289

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyPurry

Member Since 2014
My latest thread over on the main board.

Last night I think Trixie was really high because we had a bit of stress (both of us) getting the PMPS test. Today I came home over lunch to test at +4 fully whipped into a frenzy because I shot 0.25 in the morning when she was in the blue. I'm very new so that was super scary for me, thinking I had made a huge mistake. On my break at work I ran to Walgreens for hypo toolkit supplies. It was a huge relief to see she wasn't low at all. Going to give 0.25 tonight and try to test at +2 if possible.

Advice/thoughts/concerns welcome! I'm still quite new and need all the help I can get.

Edit To Add: Trixie is eating exclusively FF classic pates, a variety of flavors.
 
Welcome! Welcome! Welcome!

There is a wealth of knowledge here and you are in great hands.

Posting from my phone, so I do not see the signature line....do you know which of the two protocols you would like to follow? That will help ppl when giving dosing advice, etc.

Please ask as many questions as you meed to!
 
Hello Scarlett and welcome to you and sweet Trixie. I suggest that you read the notes on the top of this board - the Sticky Notes. I still read them over again occasionally, there's a lot to absorb and we don't expect it all to sink in at once. Feel free to ask any questions, we love to help.

The +2 test is a good one to get, as it's often an indicator how the cycle will go. If it's about the same as the preshot test, then you'll get a normal Lantus cycle. If it's lower, then it's likely to be a lively cycle requiring extra monitoring. A higher +2 means likely a quiet cycle.
 
Welcome, from one Trixie to another!! For some reason (Probably Google being Wonky), your SS is taking forever to load. But you are doing awesome so far, and this is the best place in the world for you to be!
 
I think it is just because I am viewing from my phone. ...when on a computer I can see them :)

Its nice to see her getting into blues already....home testing was difficult for me at first...oh the tears I shed! Lol

Most ppl go by the 3 strikes..if you dont get a good test in three tries, step away for a few and then try again...
 
Hmmm, if any techies know why it's slow to load let me know. I know it's not a "too many sheets/rows" issue considering we JUST started the spreadsheet.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Your spreadsheet loaded fine for me too...and congratulations on learning to home test!

I love getting a +2...it's like my "crystal ball" for what might be going on later in the cycle, so it's a great test to get...but it'll be important for you to get tests in somewhere mid-cycle on the AM cycle as much as possible (like +5 to +7) and then a "before bed" test on the PM cycle. Many cats go lower at night than they do in the daytime so it's best to get that one test in before bed so you know if you should set an alarm to get one later (and none of us likes to get up at 3am to test, but if it keeps our kitties safe, we do it!)

As you get better at testing, sprinkle your tests at different points. What we use as an example is a puzzle (and diabetes is very much a puzzle!)

If the only tests you get are pre-shot, it's like only having the edges of the puzzle filled in....if you have pieces sprinkled in throughout the puzzle, you can tell what the picture is!

You're doing great and keep posting! The people here love to help!
 
Really struggling to get that +2 test... I'm down to three test strips and I can't get more until after work. *tears* I'm so frustrated. She's pissed, I'm alone, etc.
 
Relax....you're never alone here

She started pretty high so most likely will be fine tonight

Watch for her to be looking for food...most cats will go looking for food if they're going low

If you can get a test later on in the cycle (like right before you go to bed) that's great, but it's more important for you to get a pre-shot test in the morning if you have no way to get strips

We keep a spare box of 50 in our "hypo kit" at all times...if it gets opened, it gets replaced the next day
 
It's right before bed right now... 12:23 am central. I can definitely try again in the morning, give us both some time to cool off :(
Getting more strips is a priority for tomorrow. Boyfriend says he will go while I am at work <3
 
They have a bit of a bond... he comes from a dog family and dog people and I don't think he ever expected to like the cats as much as he does. Trixie loves to sit on his chest when he's laying on the couch and sleep on him. One morning I overheard him baby talking at Trixie, calling her "little Princess"!! He's a big guy with a deep voice, it was so funny and so cute -- especially since that isn't a nickname I've had EVER used for her, it was his nickname for her :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top