1/7 Todd AMPS 218 (Question/Glucose in Urine?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddyTiger

Member Since 2010
an ok number this morning. Certainly not super high, but still high.

Waiting on any results for the urine test. Will post once I get something.

Lets hope for a great day!

Sarah

Yesterdays: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33772

*Question below
 
Re: 1/7 Todd AMPS 218

Hi, sarah...
nice amps for Todd!

hoping for the best of results on the test...

celi & binks
 
Re: 1/7 Todd AMPS 218

Hi, Sarah & Toddd.. not a bad # for the day.. Todd is doing better, just part of the surgar dance. Dropping through to see if there are any test results yet & praying for the best ;-)
 
Re: 1/7 Todd AMPS 218

Ok, I have what I suppose could be a dumb question..

While I was in the shower, the vet called and left a voice mail. No signs of infection in the urine yet, but they are doing TWO cultures.. one in house and one at the lab, just to double check. Those won't be back until Mon-Tue next week.

She said his urine was very dilute, like they would expect due to the diabetes and kidney issues. She also said the test showed a considerable spillover of glucose into the urine, so she feels that it is a very good idea to up the insulin dose as we had talked about yesterday. Here is the dumb question.. what does it mean when glucose is spilling into the urine? Is that ketones? Do I need to freak out?.. what do I do?.. I'm very worried now. I have to be away from the house for a couple of hours tonight and tomorrow I will be away from the house for about 4 hours in the early afternoon.

Should I go ahead and up his dose tomorrow morning to the 2.5u from 2.0u?

Thanks,
Sarah
 
hi
no dumb questions here!

unfortunately, I cannot suggest much, I'm with Jill and Libby (from previous condo) more data to determine dosing would really help.
a couple of curves or so on days you are home, and evenings too, you want to try to get nadir checks...will help you see what is happening with current dose and it will be a lot easier for others to advise.

but I do have a couple of questions, do you check for ketones at home?
did your vet actually check for ketones?
do you give extra bit of water mixed in his food? (soupy/mushy)
 
Hi Sarah....

Here's a few answers, I'm sure others will chime in too:

what does it mean when glucose is spilling into the urine?

That means the glucose is high enough to be above the renal threshold of the kidneys.

ie)the concentration level up to which a substance (as glucose) in the blood is prevented from passing through the kidneys into the urine http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/renal+threshold


Is that ketones? No.


Do I need to freak out? And no.


.. what do I do?.. I'm very worried now. Don't worry. Spilling glucose just mean the dose isn't right yet. If you're really worried you can test the urine yourself at home using Ketodiastix available at any drugstore. No prescription needed. In fact if you purchase the ketodiastix...you can even check for the dreaded ketones too in one test. One container will have multiple test strips you can use and I think are worth the purchase price.

Should I go ahead and up his dose tomorrow morning to the 2.5u from 2.0u? With Lantus we usually like to only go up in 0.25u units on good SS data. So the dose would be somewhere between the 2.0 and 2.5 mark on your syringe. Just because he is spilling glucose doesn't necessarily mean and increase is needed. The urine glucose is only a snap shot of the past few hours. If he ate a lot of kibble it could have skewed the result.

Generally an increase won't see a change until the "shed" is full. How long that takes is different between cats.
 
There's nothing to freak out about. The technical term for glucose in the urine is glycosuria. Since Todd isn't yet regulated, insulin isn't transferring all of the glucose in his blood into the cells where it can be effectively metabolized. Instead, it's floating around and the kidneys have to excrete it. As a result, you find glucose in the urine. Obviously, glucose isn't supposed to be there but all it tells you is that Todd isn't regulated.

Do you think you could get some spot checks tonight before you do anything with the dose?
 
He gets 150ml of Sub-Q everyday, and he drinks a lot of water throughout the day. I give him dilute tuna water as well. So he gets a pretty good amount of water each day.

I did just buy some ketone test strips. I just have to wait for him to pee.. he's kind of sneaky about it, so I've been having a hard time catching him. Doesn't help having 5 cats either. heh

I don't know if they checked for ketones. Since it was a voicemail, I couldn't ask. They usually do, so I would find it odd if they didn't.


Thank you Blue and Sienna. I wasn't sure at all what this meant, so I wanted to get answers. I'm a HUGE worrywart and little things get me freaked out. It's that worry everyday that if I don't do something, he could die tomorrow. Even if he is having a good day, which he seems to be today, as he's snorring away in his heated bed next to my desk. I won't up the dose yet, I'll do several spot checks over this weekend to get a good answer before upping the dose.

Thank you, thank you!!

Sarah (trying to calm down now)
 
Sarah:

What does worry ME is that you want to raise dose without very many spot checks. Lantus dosing is based on nadir. I have had days (not recently), where at AMPS and PMPS, Gabby was in the 400s. However, if I didn't have a spot check, I would never have known that Gabby was in the 40s at nadir and earned a dose reduction. If Todd is dropping low at night, you could easily see very high numbers at AMPS. Even if all you can get is a before bed check, it will help. If you can do a full curve over the weekend, it will begin to flesh out what is doing on during the day cycle. You really need to have the data to know when Lantus onset is, where nadir is, and the duration of Lantus for Todd. Right now, if you were to increase dose by 0.5u, with no knowledge of where Todd's nadir is, and with limited spot checks, you could be setting yourself and Todd up for trouble.
 
ToddyTiger said:
I did just buy some ketone test strips. I just have to wait for him to pee.. he's kind of sneaky about it, so I've been having a hard time catching him. Doesn't help having 5 cats either. heh
Sarah (trying to calm down now)


He sounds like he is getting plenty of fluids. And those fluids too can affect the BG. I agree with Sienne there seems to be a lot of variables and a solid curve with readings done every two hours would really help. This is just like what would be done at the vet office. How much information is that to work off of!!! :razz:

I am glad to read you're going to wait on raising the dose just yet.

As far as the waiting to pee goes...I have two litter boxes in my den where I spend most of my time working. Waiting to pee....becomes you pee in front of meeee.... :lol: The real trick is to have the test sticks right there too!
 
Chances are when the vets did they urine check in house the strips would have checked for ketones as well I was the lab tech for my vets until just recently and I did the urine testing on my days there and we would do a specific gravity test its a meter that tells how concentrated the urine is so when they told you his was diluted that meant his specific gravity was low just says he is peeing a lot normal for many un regulated FD cats and glucose is pretty much in I bet most FD cats unless they are super regulated Do Lou always has glucose in his urine. Anyway the strips we use at our practice test for about 10 things in the urine glucose and ketones just being 2 of them http://www.peteducation.com/article.cfm ... 3&aid=3136 this tells pretty much what I did in house at our clinic it tells you a bit more about urine testing in house
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top