1/7 Thomas AMPS 378

Weird. I was writing AMPS and it created the post. I was going to write in this post that I was having issues with logging in. plus I never got a response to my post yesterday.

Thomas AMPS was 378. That number seems so high as he hasn't had that for a while. Gary also woke up to tell me that he pooped in the corner of the kitchen (same place as the peeing) (Thomas, not Gary LOL) but he has never pooped before. He also said he threw up. The only thing different last night was that I was up later so I fed him instead of leaving a couple spoonfuls of food in his auto feeder. I also left the cats out together because they were actually playing with a ball. I noted on the spreadsheet that Thomas was doing that. He has not done that for a year! I thought he was doing so much better. Until this morning. Now I am concerned. The only other change was I went potty before I went out to do Thomas BG. Which as soon as all the animals hear my alarm they are expecting me to do my routine. (I usually wait to go potty until after, because my German Shepherd is jumping around all the way to the door to go outside and potty and the cats are at my feet)
 
Is there something going on with the board? I just scrolled down to see if I could find my post that didn't get a reply. I thought maybe it was my computer having the issue. Then I saw a post from Diane that evidently was not current.
 
I stayed logged in. I am sorry I don't have any info for you.

I'm so happy Thomas was playing. Hope you enjoy your day today. Hopefully you have it off.
 
I am off! and I got all my errands cleaning done yesterday...... I am going to sit back and do nothing!! it has been a while since I have been able to do that! I am worried about Thomas tho, I am 1 day away from. having 7 days to do curve. I cannot do it tomorrow so would it make a difference if I did it today?
 
Looking at his recent numbers, I'd say doing a curve today would be fine. I think you'd have to wait until the 7th day for the actual increase. I really don't know though. Tag some mods or others that always help you and ask. Try not to worry on your only day to relax though. You should change the day of the week to when you do his curves if you are typically home on Sundays. That's what I would do anyway.
 
It's fine to do a curve today. Just because SLGS says to do a curve once a week doesn't mean you can't collect test data at other times. My thoughts on testing is always that more is better than less.

To my eyes, Thomas needs more insulin. He's been hovering in the 200 - 300 range for a while now. Getting his numbers in a better range sounds like a good idea.
 
Thank you for all the replies..... I laid back down and figured my son would have me up and of all mornings he was quiet..... good I guess but now I lost a testing time for a curve. now what. I do feel more rested however my poor kitty. arrrgh.
 
I know this is happening at the first cycle of the day. Look at what happened on 12/24 pm cycle and then look at 12/25 AMPS. Keep checking his BGs throughout the night since you are off. He throws you random blues every now and then. Today he has been a little lower than average. Improvement.

What did you find out about the libre?
 
I am going to call the vet tomorrow to see if I can get a rx for the libra. I think it would be easier to get him level, or hopefully off insulin. He is mellow but a scaredy cat. He jumps at everything, if I sneeze and even more so if my son flies by on roller blades.... he is obnoxious 24/7. I bought the pheromones plug in but it doesn't seem to be helping unless that is why he is playing with his ball.... idk.
 
Poor guy. I'd say he was less stressed today if he was playing. Most cats don't like quick movements or loud noises. Neither of mine do. They growl if someone rings the doorbell. They don't like company. Moonie will stay out and socialize sometimes, but Basic doesn't at all.

You're putting the cart before the horse, friend. May want to take that pressure off of you both (remission). Keep in mind, some cats don't get regulated. I was making myself crazy until I stopped making either my goal. I just focused on getting his numbers to a point that were out of the 400s, then the 300s, then the 200s, etc. It helped remove unnecessary pressure that I put on us both.

Libre would certainly give you more readings because it is always monitoring. You may be able to switch his dosing protocol if you have the numbers. It can be a little scary. I think time will tell with him if that would be an option for you or not.
 
Last edited:
If he wasn't to go into remission I would definitely want the libre just for the ease of getting readings and the comfort (or maybe not??) of not having his ear stuck all the time.

I only say remission because since February to November, I often wondered if he was even diabetic. We had rescued a German shepherd and I was trying to change him to wet food in which he was so mad, lost so much weight, started peeing on tile after a year of stopping. at that same time he was diagnosed, he was put on dry rx food and went up to 12 units with in 7 months. I was completely stressed out. He wasn't acting any different so I figure he wasn't feeling any better, and I was spending a load of money! Every 2 weeks taking him to vet to get curve, buying that food going thru insulin in about a week. I started this board in November and everything has changed dramatically!
 
Back
Top