1/7 Rosie AMPS 281, Lantus 2.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

robinshideler

Member Since 2013
I'm new to this site. I'm very bad at this. So please bare with me. Rosie is a great kitty. She is about to be 13 this year, exact bd unknown. She has been diabetic for a couple of years. At first I used diet changes to manage. Then she worsened. I prefer to keep paper and pen records. Rosie is using Lantus and recently her numbers have been trending upwards. I had the vet check he for a uti yesterday and the results haven't come back yet. and vet said I can increase her laxative to 1/8 tsp twice daily.
She gained a few ounces and the Vet saw that as a good sign that I've got her diabetes controlled well.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... sp=sharing
 
Hi Robin and Rosie, welcome.

Looking at her SS, I see that you think her Lantus is weak? How long since it was opened? What type of diet is she on? Any other health issues that you are aware of?

She seems to be pretty flat at the moment, in her numbers. Usually it is suggested that a curve be run to decide on dose changes, if needed. A curve, if you don't know, is a bg test every 2 hrs for the cycle of 12 hrs, if at all possible.

Since you're new here, it's going to take time for you to get the data needed for other, more experienced members to help you with dosing. Hang in there, you'll need patience, a lot of patience.

Rarely does a cat continue to drop in their numbers, it's mostly up and down, changing the dose, finding what works. It takes time. As Mel says, "It's a marathon, NOT a sprint."

If there is ever an issue that you need an answer to, RIGHT NOW, always go to the Tight Regulation board as there is almost always someone there that can help. This board is not as busy and it could be several hrs before help came. Just wanted to make sure you knew help is available, even if not on this board.

Hang in there hon, it's tough, but you and Rosie will be ok.
 
Hi Robin and Rosie and welcome from me too! I'm pretty new to Lantus and so don't have a lot of advice yet. Debbie has given you some great advice pointers. This web site and message board have been immensely helpful to me. The members are simply the best and so giving of their time and experience. They've really helped me turn things around for Max. Hang in there and be patient, and they'll be able to help you with Rosie has you get more info on BG #'s.
 
Good morning Robin and Rosie and welcome to the Relaxed Lantus Family!!

First sorry I wasn't around to welcome you yesterday but I messed up my back and hip on Monday and was pretty loopy on pain meds yesterday.

Being a pen and paper kinda girl is just fine with me as I'm the same way. I'm horrible about keeping my own spreadsheets up to date. :oops: The only problem with those type of records when working with an online forum is the others can't see what you're seeing. :lol:

So for us to help you to help Rosie we're going to need to figure out a way for us to see what you're seeing. The easiest is through the online spreadsheet, but I can also work with just getting the information through Rosie's daily condos. What I use to do is post daily in my condos then on the weekend when I had more time fill in the spreadsheet. Although now after 3 years and 4 sugarcats (3 that are still with me) I seldom update my spreadsheets. Dancing with a sugarcat I have down now lol.

Some quick questions that will help me fill in the blanks. And help us get caught up to date on you and Rosie.

When was Rosie started on Lantus?
Is it the first insulin she's been on?
How old is the pen/vial? (since you have a note about it being weakened)
What are you feeding her and how often?
Is she your only fur kid?
Then anything else you want to tell us about yourself or her to help us get to know you both. :-D

Like here I have 16 cats 3 of which are sugarcats, another one is deaf, one is epileptic, an two others are cardiac kitties. The rest are just spoiled rotten. I also have a 97lb drooler who thinks he's a clumsy kitty. lol But with my zoo I can't easily do some of the tricks that others can like playing with food brands or feeding times because I have lots of tummies I have to take into account. And all the cats have to agree on the menu. Things like number of animals and things like your health (I can't test a lot at night because of my evening meds) other family commitments and job all play a part in what is the safest way to manage Rosie's diabetes and keeping you both healthy and happy.

So once again welcome to the family and I'm looking forward to getting to know you both. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I just posted a long post and it seems to be missing. I will just answer these questions and see if I mess this up again.
Thanks for all the welcomes,
I get overwhelmed and forgetful. I am in treatment for Lyme disease and co-infections. I have been ill for 20 years. I am finally improving after 2 years on meds and vits.
When was Rosie started on Lantus? December 2012?
Is it the first insulin she's been on? Yes
How old is the pen/vial? The pen is only about 3 months and I believe it was unopened, but It may have gotten too cold in my minifridge??
What are you feeding her and how often? I feed her fancy feast classic. Chicken, chicken and liver and turkey flavors only. I feed her almost exactly every 4 hours depending on my schedule. I often give her a freeze dried chicken snack after shots and during the night if she is begging.
Is she your only fur kid? I just lost my 18 year old to Kidney failure this past November. I have Rosie's brother, Tiger, no illness, (knock on wood).
I also have a 13 year old with chronic Lyme, and a 17 year old who drives me a little nuts. I am married and also have two little dogs.

Thanks for all the kind words. This should be fun.
 
Oh I'm the queen of forgetfulness, my husband swears I single handly keep Post-it notes in business and my favorite feature on my new smart phone is I have unlimited alarm clock settings. lol

I'm so sorry to hear about the Lyme disease. That's a nasty disease my Step-father suffers from it as well. So I understand it somewhat. And that on top of trying to keep up with kids especially a teenager should earn you a Super Mom badge.

I've told my kids many times God knew what he was doing when he made babies cute because if I would have known what they turn into as teenagers I would have become a nun. lol Right now I have a 21 year old step daughter that seems possessed about self destruction. She's been in and out of jail, lost her kids to the State and is a Meth and prescription pain med junkie. Just kills me to see such a beautiful and talented young lady h*ll bent on destroying her life before she's even had a chance to live it.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Sorry to hear about your step daughter, that's very tragic. My 17 year old girl is a step too but I've been married to her dad for 15 years. So far she just is lazy and has a bad attitude. Luckily, she's a very nice girl otherwise. No babies or drugs, thank GOD. Knock on wood!
Sorry to hear about your step father and Lyme disease. It's a horrible disease and I had it for many years without any diagnosis. I felt like I was losing my mind and I hated docs they were all so judgmental.

Anyway, Rosie is on Amoxicillin for UTI. I'm watching her carefully. Her numbers are weird and she filled ther litter box over night with pee. Putting a call into the vet.
I thought there might be sugar in meds but ingredients not listed.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... _web#gid=0

Thanks
 
:roll: If its the pink liquid its chalked full of sugar since its exactly the same as they give human children...That nasty sticky bubblegum flavored stuff. When Autumn had her dental they sent her home on it as well. I had them change it to baytril. It amazes me how many vets prescribe it for diabetics :roll: I guess its because they get use to prescribing it for UTIs in general and forget about the flavorings when dealing with a diabetic cat.

I'd rather pill any of my cats including my ferals than use that liquid. I've never been able to give it to any critter without wearing more than I get in them. And it shoots Autumn through the roof.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Just went and looked at her spreadsheet and there is nothing recorded for a pm dose on the 8th, did you not shoot? or just forget to record the dosage?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Sorry I meant to stay up and check her again but I fell asleep early by accident. Yes, its the pink stuff and I will speak to the vet tomorrow to get something sugar free. I can't believe the Vet would be so thoughtless.
 
Ah I just figure they don't see that many diabetics and so they just don't think about the inactive ingredients like we do. Kinda like until my mom was diagnosed as a diabetic I didn't realize ketchup had sugar in it. I mean how often didwe really read the fine print ingredient list on cat food before we had a sugarcat?

Ah that explains her numbers...The skipped shot alone probably would have given you those yellows. Then you add the Amoxicillian and really her numbers aren't to shabby :-D I actually would have expected her too possibly been nosing into the pinks.

She'll come back down again. At least you know she can at least go blue on this dose. Just hopefully next time she throws you a lower than normal preshot it will be when you can stay with her to monitor. But the way she straight lined down on the 8th if she was mine I would probably drop her dose down to 1.75u. That type of drop makes it look like it might be a touch to high.

Also remember as the antibiotics do their job you will need to be ready to decrease quickly.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
My Rosie is a tricky one. She will get those low numbers when she poops.
I will keep your suggestions in mind. I don't mean to be brief but Rosie seems to be very adaptable and her numbers are very stable in general.
Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top