1/7 Pumbaa - AMPS/194 PMPS/89

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa's last thread on 1/5 can be viewed here.

For anyone catching up, Pumbaa is still on 2.75U and is starting his 14th cycle. He already had one out of three BG readings of under 50, but won't get a dose reduction until he has gone under 50 three times.

I was very pleased that, after his 47 on 1/5, he didn't bounce up to pink in response. Yea, Pumbaa! :-D I love seeing flatter numbers!

His PMPS of 89 tonight concerns me, but I didn't stall and wait for his numbers to start coming up because the shed is going to direct this evening anyway. So, I gave him 9% carbs food instead of the normal 5% he would have received. I thought about giving him 13%, but I want him to go under 50 naturally, and earn another point towards getting a dose reduction. I'll watch him closely, and once he drops below 50, I will break out the higher carbed food and steer him up.

So far, I've only used up to 19% carbs food to steer Pumbaa, but checked out Dr. Lisa's food chart this morning, and realized that there are foods WAY high in carbs (like the 32% range) that I could also use. I don't want to have to resort to that, if I don't have to, as one of my concerns is that both Pumbaa and Larry will start enjoying this higher carbed food too much and won't be happy eating their normal low-carb food. I think that is a valid concern.

I haven't done anything yet to change Pumbaa's injection times. I still have a lot more thinking to do about this before I make drastic changes. I do remember that, when Pumbaa and Larry were moved to 9 am/pm due to stalling and late shots, they weren't happy.

Here's a Pumbaa funny I have to share. A few days ago, I was frustrated by Pumbaa being able to dart between the love seat, the end table and the recliner on one wall in my living room. He had figured out that, due to the set up of my living room, he could dart under the end table and behind the recliner, ad nauseum, without me being able to catch him. So, I pulled the recliner out and gave myself room to get between the recliner and the end table. Pumbaa still darts behind the recliner to play the "stay away from Mom" game, but now, as soon as I walk behind the recliner, he freezes, and thinks "Oh ****. I might as well give up now." And I am able to grab him for testing. This makes me laugh and laugh every time! (Or it will, until Pumbaa figures out how to outsmart me, once again. Which he will. *LOL*)

Suze
 
I agree with your thought that the higher carb foods will make the low ones less appetizing... less edible...
Who wants healthy vittles all the time if you can hold out and get whipped cream. I sure don't... :lol:
(as I sit here eating my homemade ice cream.... :roll: )

I have a dog doing the same thing with the furniture....
but she runs faster and I still can't catch her.... :lol: :evil:

hope you get your third drop...
 
Rhiannon, thank you for making me laugh. I'm picturing you running around your house chasing your dog while holding a big bowl of ice cream! :)
 
Nice on the 49. Ouch on the 276 bounce. But he did the same thing the last time he touched the upper 40s, (47/266), so at least he's being consistent.

Carl
 
We used to feed Zener 17% when he was low and then had a hard time getting him back on the 8 to 12%. His appy was rather poor back then so it might work better now. I know Sienne just adds a drop or two of honey or karo syrup to the regular food to make high carb and it tastes the same to Gabby. I think you just have to try stuff and see what works.
Liz
 
Carl & Bob said:
Nice on the 49. Ouch on the 276 bounce. But he did the same thing the last time he touched the upper 40s, (47/266), so at least he's being consistent.
The 276 didn't hurt nearly as much as the 336 PMPS tonight. *sigh* Pumbaa hadn't hit pinks in over 5 cycles. I was so tickled about that!

Suze
 
Same pattern to the cycle though. (AM cycle on the 6th). Numbers are just a tad higher. If it continues, you'd see a mid blue at +5ish...
Pink, meh, it's just one number.

Carl
 
Liz:

I thought Sienne was steering via higher carbed food, but I may be wrong?

I agree...this is like a long-term science experiment, and I just have to figure out what works for Pumbaa (and me), whether higher carbed foods that might cause Pumbaa and Larry to reject their normal low carbed food, or waiting and adding honey/Karo syrup to the food when necessary, like I did in the early days, and testing more because the honey/Karo syrup wears off quicker than food.

A friend of mine came over today for a few hours. He had a diabetic cat, and never home tested, and doesn't remember what insulin the cat was on. He's known Pumbaa for years, was amazed at how hardy/healthy/active Pumbaa is, and how he never would have guessed that Pumbaa has FD. That told me a lot, and makes all of my efforts at testing/feeding correctly/shooting correctly have some meaning. No matter how tired I am. :)

Suze
 
Carl & Bob said:
Same pattern to the cycle though. (AM cycle on the 6th). Numbers are just a tad higher. If it continues, you'd see a mid blue at +5ish...
Pink, meh, it's just one number.
I hate pink! *LOL* And I was so hoping that Pumbaa was going flatter in his numbers, overall, and that we would never see pinks again.

Yes, we might still see blue or green later tonight, based on his past history. I wish I could just go to bed and sleep and not worry about a dive to a low green tonight. But I never know how Pumbaa is going to respond to the insulin. And he could still drop low as I stated in his SS.

*sigh*

Suzzzzzzzze
 
Suze,
Just looked at the SS and saw your comments re: "he could also dive like back on 11/28"....

Don't borrow trouble, hon. If you look back far enough on anyone's spreadsheet, you can play the "what if" game all night long. Pumbaa was a different cat on 11/28 than he is today. Yes, I look at patterns and waves, but don't go too far back. ;-)

If your +4 is someplace north of 180, give him a snack and get some sleep.

Carl
 
Carl, PM +4 was 190, but PM +5 was 109...even though it wasn't a full moon last night. :)
I did give him, and leave out, 19% carbs food, in case I didn't wake up again to test him. Which I didn't. I woke up via the alarm, turned it off, and went back to sleep. :(

His AMPS was 113 this morning, so I know he went green last night, I just don't know how low he went.

On the plus side, he cleared that bounce really fast this time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top