Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
Pumbaa's last thread on 1/5 can be viewed here.
For anyone catching up, Pumbaa is still on 2.75U and is starting his 14th cycle. He already had one out of three BG readings of under 50, but won't get a dose reduction until he has gone under 50 three times.
I was very pleased that, after his 47 on 1/5, he didn't bounce up to pink in response. Yea, Pumbaa!
I love seeing flatter numbers!
His PMPS of 89 tonight concerns me, but I didn't stall and wait for his numbers to start coming up because the shed is going to direct this evening anyway. So, I gave him 9% carbs food instead of the normal 5% he would have received. I thought about giving him 13%, but I want him to go under 50 naturally, and earn another point towards getting a dose reduction. I'll watch him closely, and once he drops below 50, I will break out the higher carbed food and steer him up.
So far, I've only used up to 19% carbs food to steer Pumbaa, but checked out Dr. Lisa's food chart this morning, and realized that there are foods WAY high in carbs (like the 32% range) that I could also use. I don't want to have to resort to that, if I don't have to, as one of my concerns is that both Pumbaa and Larry will start enjoying this higher carbed food too much and won't be happy eating their normal low-carb food. I think that is a valid concern.
I haven't done anything yet to change Pumbaa's injection times. I still have a lot more thinking to do about this before I make drastic changes. I do remember that, when Pumbaa and Larry were moved to 9 am/pm due to stalling and late shots, they weren't happy.
Here's a Pumbaa funny I have to share. A few days ago, I was frustrated by Pumbaa being able to dart between the love seat, the end table and the recliner on one wall in my living room. He had figured out that, due to the set up of my living room, he could dart under the end table and behind the recliner, ad nauseum, without me being able to catch him. So, I pulled the recliner out and gave myself room to get between the recliner and the end table. Pumbaa still darts behind the recliner to play the "stay away from Mom" game, but now, as soon as I walk behind the recliner, he freezes, and thinks "Oh ****. I might as well give up now." And I am able to grab him for testing. This makes me laugh and laugh every time! (Or it will, until Pumbaa figures out how to outsmart me, once again. Which he will. *LOL*)
Suze
For anyone catching up, Pumbaa is still on 2.75U and is starting his 14th cycle. He already had one out of three BG readings of under 50, but won't get a dose reduction until he has gone under 50 three times.
I was very pleased that, after his 47 on 1/5, he didn't bounce up to pink in response. Yea, Pumbaa!
His PMPS of 89 tonight concerns me, but I didn't stall and wait for his numbers to start coming up because the shed is going to direct this evening anyway. So, I gave him 9% carbs food instead of the normal 5% he would have received. I thought about giving him 13%, but I want him to go under 50 naturally, and earn another point towards getting a dose reduction. I'll watch him closely, and once he drops below 50, I will break out the higher carbed food and steer him up.
So far, I've only used up to 19% carbs food to steer Pumbaa, but checked out Dr. Lisa's food chart this morning, and realized that there are foods WAY high in carbs (like the 32% range) that I could also use. I don't want to have to resort to that, if I don't have to, as one of my concerns is that both Pumbaa and Larry will start enjoying this higher carbed food too much and won't be happy eating their normal low-carb food. I think that is a valid concern.
I haven't done anything yet to change Pumbaa's injection times. I still have a lot more thinking to do about this before I make drastic changes. I do remember that, when Pumbaa and Larry were moved to 9 am/pm due to stalling and late shots, they weren't happy.
Here's a Pumbaa funny I have to share. A few days ago, I was frustrated by Pumbaa being able to dart between the love seat, the end table and the recliner on one wall in my living room. He had figured out that, due to the set up of my living room, he could dart under the end table and behind the recliner, ad nauseum, without me being able to catch him. So, I pulled the recliner out and gave myself room to get between the recliner and the end table. Pumbaa still darts behind the recliner to play the "stay away from Mom" game, but now, as soon as I walk behind the recliner, he freezes, and thinks "Oh ****. I might as well give up now." And I am able to grab him for testing. This makes me laugh and laugh every time! (Or it will, until Pumbaa figures out how to outsmart me, once again. Which he will. *LOL*)
Suze