1/7 Phoenix +12 103 +13 AMPS 336 +1 213, +2 165, +3 161, +5 254, +8 283, PMPS 278, +2 159, +4 127

Status
Not open for further replies.
I hope she gets to that point! Sorry was dealing with another emergency. Just as I posted her +3 my husband called and his grandfather, who has been sick with the flu and pnemonia, was feeling really weak again and was going to the hospital. I had to run to their house to get him in the ambulance. My father-in-law will meet them at the hospital. Oh the first big snow of winter.... well big for this area of WV. Phoenix is excited about the break, she is chasing toys around the kitchen :)

Thank you again for your help!!
 
Sorry to hear about your husband's grandfather thank sucks. It will be safe to leave her for a bit longer if you need to go to the hospital for a bit or anything like that. I figured while we're here we may as well collect some good data but she could go to +6 or perhaps even +7 if you need to do the family thing. Let me know what you decide so I know when to set the alarm for.
 
My father-in-law was there to meet them at the hospital so, unless they need something, I should be here the rest of the day. I will still plan to do a reading at +5 so that we can see where her numbers are. Thank you!
 
+5 is 254. Is that odd? This one was pretty easy too. I brought her in about an hour ago and got her to lay with me. I had all the equipment ready and while she was not happy about it, she didn't squirm too badly.
 
Nope. She has no access to any food. Her testing treat is plain canned chicken which says it has no carbs.
 
hmmm I was hoping for a nice blue surf but it appears she has other ideas! It does seem a little odd looked at in isolation but we're missing half the picture for her at the moment (PM cycle tests). Those numbers may make more sense as part of a complete picture. I would get another test at around +8. Not because I think she'll be low but for data collection purposes. What do you think?
 
I was thinking the same thing just to see if she stays in the 200s or if she climbs up to the 300s like she has been. Then I'll get the PMPS and try to get more readings for the evening. Shooting her while she is sleeping seems to go fairly well, so I may just take all the stuff to bed with me tonight.
 
Excellent plan. I will leave you to it then :cat: good shooting tonight :cat::cat:

ETA - today I mean (for you) it's tonight here
 
Yes, you're going to get some evening tests tonight aren't you - I would check at +2 and see where we go from there. As it happens I can keep my eyes on you through this cycle too if needed
 
Thanks! I wasn't sure if you were up. I went ahead and gave her the 1.25. I can do +2 pretty easily because she gets an evening snack so her sister can get her medicine mixed into her food. There would be great protest if one was fed without the other. Then i'll get one before I go to bed at +4. I will try to get another reading around +7 to see where she is. I am interested to see where she is at night. I didn't know nights could be lower. She is protesting a little more to poking now. I think her poor ears are getting sore :(
 
Hey, it's still Serryn but in disguise as my mum because I just posted Purrdy's condo.

I can imagine the uproar if one got something the other didn't!

Your testing plan sounds good - always unless the numbers tell us to do something different of course...

After you test are you putting light pressure on the spot that you've just lanced for a little bit. I was just thinking that might be difficult with a squirmy kitten but it helps stop any bruising. Also there's a product called neosporin you can get from the chemist that is reported to be very effective for healing the ears. It's not available here so I've never used it but I have seen people say very good things about it. Maybe ask some others about it.

It can be really useful to spend some time checking out other kitties spreadsheets to learn about the sorts of tricks our kitties can pull on us - going lower at night is quite a popular one!
 
I have tissues near by and put pressure on as long as she will let me. Sometimes that's longer than others. I have been putting neosporin plus pain on them and it does help. I can't imagine not having it! I have been using it myself since I was little. Any cut or scrape we got we would put neo and a bandaid on it.

I have been looking at others spreadsheets. Some of them are quite overwhelming, but it looks like I am pretty lucky with Phoenix. At what point do you really consider a cat regulated? It looks like even cats who have consistent numbers still get outliers sometimes.
 
Looks like you're doing great! Take a look at the New to the Group sticky here and scroll down just a couple of paragraphs and there is a description of what it means to be regulated. Good info there on the whole post.

Some people get a bit addicted to data. Sometimes their cats need it, but sometimes it's because the people are curious and their cats aren't difficult to test. You don't have to test all day every day and night. Once in a while you'll have a cycle where Phoenix might get low and then you test more to keep her safe.

Steroids are a known cause of diabetes. I wouldn't think that the cat would necessarily have it before - the shot alone can cause it. The good news is that a cat's pancreas can heal and those who became diabetic via steroids have a good chance of healing if their blood sugar is gotten into normal numbers (50-120) as quickly as possible. Not every cat goes off, but some do. It's a great motivator for many people.
 
Thanks! I really hope that is the case. She was perfectly healthy until we found that lump. We sent it off and there were no cancer cells, just infection, but they couldn't find a source of the infection. With her sister being auto-immune I am a little paranoid there might be more going on than just diabetes. Her labs showed several things outside of normal, but all could be explain by diabetes. We will rerun them once she is regulated and see. It's just so rare for her to be so young.
 
We do see young cats sometimes. But when you say steroids - because it is known to cause diabetes in cats i would point to it as the cause first.

I think I mentioned earlier that punkin had a bizarre growth in his mouth, kinda in the joint of the jaw, growing from the cheek. We assumed cancer but it was nothing except inflammatory cells. They said it could have arisen from something even like a splinter that irritated the spot. The thing that grew looked kind of like a corkscrew pasta shape. It was just weird. It was taken out and didn't return, thankfully.

There are several people here good at analyzing lab results if you want anyone to look at it. Most people have a tab on their spreadsheet for labs so you can compare from one time to the next. You can look at Punkin's ss to see what I mean. If you want to do that you can copy the column of tests and paste it onto Phoenix's ss, then just add your own lab's reference numbers and her test results. It's really convenient to have them right there on the ss.
 
I hope it's just the steroids. She has had them once before when she had an irritation on her temples that she wouldn't stop scratching. It was a pill though, for the lump she had an injection. I don't have a copy of the test results, but I will get ahold of them and do that. I can't imagine looking in my cats mouth and seeing something like that! I was scared enough when it was a little lump.
 
+2 159 I will get a +4, but I suspect it will be higher because she gets 1.5oz of food about this time every night.
 
:) You are right onto it, if she's fed now I suspect it will be mostly worn off by +4 based on this morning's +2 so that will be a good time to test again. You're getting some great data on how the lantus is working in her
 
I hate poking her so much, but I can see how having the data really helps! I am just glad to be in blues and yellows!
 
;) I'm sure you hate it more than she does. I nearly vomited the first time I tested Vyktor but it didn't take me too long to get used to it, especially when the alternatve is not knowing what's going on
 
I am a science and data person. If it were easier to get numbers I would have one every hour every day. It looks like some people do, but I can't do that to her poor ears :( And I really will have to go back to work sooner or later.
 
I must say I didn't have any problems with Vyktor's ears so it made it easy to get as many tests as I wanted - which was lucky since I was petty paranoid! The good thing is once you have enough data to show how Phoenix works less tests will be necessary because you'll have more idea of what she's likely to do. That will help you to keep her safe while you're at work.
 
Tess like many cats here actually purrs through the tests sometimes. Phoenix's ears will "learn to bleed" too. new capillaries seem to develop w/ testing. Even though we test like vampires, tess's ears never show any sign of soreness.
 
right - like Ann says, it takes about 2 weeks for capillaries to grow in the ears. After that, you'll find you get blood every time. In the meantime, your poking is stimulating growth of those new capillaries.

When we see a +2 that is significantly lower than the preshot - which is what you've got to night, that's a giant heads-up that you've gotta be on your toes on this cycle. Your +2 was 120 points less than the pmps - please get a +3 and see how where she is then. I'd also feed a couple of teaspoons of low carb and try to help her surf (stay flatter) for a while.
 
32 points in 2 hrs - that's a nice slow drop. Yes, i think you can wait two more hours. You're looking for her to drop below 50 on a human glucometer or 68 on an AT.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top