Have you fed her yet? If not, and your shot schedule is flexible, I would try to test again in 30 minutes (without food) to see whether she's rising or coming down or has flat numbers.
Okay, next time you get a lowish number that you are unsure about see if you can not feed, and get a second test, then you can tell which way she is headed without a food spike.
It's hard to advise when there are no mid cycle numbers on your ss for the evenings. She may have gone a lot lower last night, or she may just be slowly coming down this morning. It's all a guess.
One of your choices is to call this a "fur shot" and skip the insulin this morning.
I'll be home today, luckily I got a snow day. I have plenty of strips and some high carb dry food. The only problem is she gets pretty uncooperative. Over the weekend I tried to take 3 hour readings and by the end it was extremely difficult.
I will hold off on the food and try to get some evening numbers. I check on her every night because she is usually in the bed with me. I just haven't been getting up to poke her. I'll have to start.
hmmm that puts a different slant on it. I can stay with you through the cycle and help you manage it but if you may not be able to get the tests we need that could be a problem. It would be a shame to miss now she's starting to see some nice numbers. How difficult is difficult?
ETA - Hi Dyana
Maybe it would be best to call this one a fur shot until you can get her more comfortable with testing - they don't usually take too long to adjust, not once they cotton on to testing doesn't really hurt and they get a treat!
By evening to get the PMPS reading I had to poke her quote a few times because she wouldn't hold still and kept losing the drop. She isn't mean she just wiggles and squirms and will not hold still and tries to get away. This hot progressively worse throughout the day. She is only 1.5 years old and is now feeling good again.
Scary as this is it's really good to see this kind of response to the insulin. What have you decided, to shoot or to skip?
The HC dry food won't be of too much help, it takes too long to digest and thus too long to effect BG numbers. If you shot, can you run out and get some HC canned food, usually anything w/ gravy in it.
From Phoenix's SS it looks like she may have her nadir about +8 or +9, even though there isn't too much data yet. Some of the high numbers you have been seeing may be from bounces from going lower.
Hehehe gotta love that kitten energy - except when you don't!
It's up to you, if you think that you will be able to get the tests, albeit with some difficulty, then I am happy to help you through the cycle. It may mean more tests than she's had in a cycle before but perhaps along the way we can work out some tricks to make it easier for you too.
I do have some friskies canned food with gravy, but don't know what the carb count is. My mom's car rejected it, so she gave it to me. My other cat doesn't like gravy, so it has just sat there. Going out at this point isn't really an option. I love 30 minutes from town and the roads are pretty bad. I hate to not give her any because I will be here, but at the same time I don't want to not get the necessary readings.
You can always add 2 - 3 drops of corn syrup, maple syrup, honey, etc. to low carb canned food to increase the carbs.
If you have a squirmy kitty, if you are able to poke and get a drop of blood, scrape it off with your fingernail and you can then test from that drop of blood.
If she sleeps w/ you try just taking all the testing gear along to bed w/ you. I used to just sit up and turn on the light when the alarm wet off, test and go back to sleep (that is if Tess wasn't too low and needed feeding!) All without ever getting out of bed!
Can you give her something to occupy her while you test? A catnip toy? Or is there anything that settles her down? A way she loves to be scritched? If so stop fighting to get the test, both of you relax w/ some quality time and then try again. Some cats don't like the sound of the meter by their ear, apart from the beeps even I can hear a high pitched hum when I put a strip in. Try getting the blood on your fingernail and then do the test from that.
Phoenix eats anything. For a couple days I put her on the w/d dry food (I didn't know any better and the vet recommended it) and she walked away for a minute until she realized there was no other food, then she ate all of it and attacked the feeder like she normally does. She is very food driven. She and her sister were under a house with no mom in site. Her sister was very sick, so she got food for both of them.
I try distracting her, but she just gets more worked up. I get her nice and relaxed and as soon as I go for the east she jumps up.
There is also the option of giving a reduced dose, say 3/4u or 1u., as a one time deal. We call it a BCS (Big Chicken S**t shot). that way you can keep her safer and not worry as much. You would still need to monitor her BGs though.
Maybe go with the chicken shot of 1 unit and monitor throughout the day? I hate to miss a dose since we are finally seeing good numbers, but I'm also worried the higher numbers may be bounces.
Whoa that's a big rise - I wouldn't normally expect a kitty to go up so much on a low carb meal (it was low carb wasn't it?) but I guess we don't have enough data on Pheonix as yet to know what she does.
If she has a late nadir, it could be a combo of the last dose wearing off and the foods. I think the BCS would be fine, but be sure to monitor. Get a +1 or =2 test to see where she is headed.
If she was my kitty I would go the full dose and shoot it now but it's up to you, if it makes you feel less nervous go the BCS of 1 unit. The problem with the BCS is that it may not effect this cycle anyway and chances are it will affect the subsequent cycle. If she has been going too low before bouncing then we may be able to catch that today and adjust her dose accordingly.
I am not sure if this makes any sense, but could her body not be use to numbers in the low 100s and be bouncing even though she isn't really low? She is only 1.5 years old. We never suspected a problem until she started losing weight about a month and a half ago. Prior to that she had a small walled off mass of infection which she got an antibiotic and steroid shot. I think that's what made her symptomatic. The vet said she may have been diabetic and running high for a while, but the steroid pushed her over. If she got use to numbers in the 300s could her body think she is too low in the 100s?
I will get the +2. How do I edit the subject line?
Testing didn't go well, but now the husband is out the door so it should be better from now on. I did try to scrape it with my fingernail, but she jerked. Next time I will try to do it as lightly as I can.
Get a +2 as well, that is a big drop for a +1. I think you are going to find out if she likes the Friskies. Do you have any honey or Karo just in case?
I need to crash, but Serryn is here and the east coasters are waking up.
It was right about +13. Normally I start shooting at 6am and she gets her shot after depending upon how long that takes. First reading was just before 6 this morning and the second was right at 7. Insulin shot was at 7:10.
ETA - on her spreadsheet the 336 belongs in the AMPS column but the 103 should go in the +11 column of the night before but put it in as @+12, you can then fill in the appropriate colour manually - you fill the cell colour by being in the cell and then clicking on the arrow next to the icon that looks like a paint tin being poured and then clicking on the appropriate colour - in this case blue
teeheehee Vyktor got to the point that he would sleep right through them and not even want his treat after. Looks like your little miss has found her surfboard - well done Phoenix! You can give her a little break now and test again at +5