1/7/ Oliver AMPS 509 +10 357 PMPS 364

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7/ Oliver AMPS 509

Hi guys .. Ok Oliver, what are you doing way up there? I don't have any experience using R to bring a cat down but I do know there are several members here that use it .. hopefully one of them swings by with some info for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 1/7/ Oliver AMPS 509

Hi Kelly!

R is another type of insulin. I don't know a lot about it since it's not something I've ever considered using with China, but I'll tell you what I think about it. It's very potent and is used in tiny amounts to help bring down the numbers so the Lantus can work better. It's also used to smooth out bounces

It's an in/out insulin, whereas Lantus is a depot insulin. When you shoot R, it's in and out in about 4 hours..there's nothing "left" in any "depot" like there is with Lantus.

I'm not sure if Oliver is even a candidate to try R on, so one of the R experts would need to chime in with their opinions before I'd ever consider trying it. It's totally different than Lantus.

Like I said yesterday, you should read condo's from Ole, Ebby and Cobb(who hasn't tried it yet, but may soon). There's lots of good info in others condos

I do think you should go ahead and increase to 2 units tonight, and hopefully it'll help get Oliver down from those icky high numbers

Good luck Kelly..I know how frustrated you must feel seeing your dear Oliver at such high numbers, but hang in there!! We're here for you!
 
Re: 1/7/ Oliver AMPS 509

Thanks guys so very much. Went ahead this AM and shot the 2 units and will continue. Hope this helps him come down a bit.
I will read the others condos, when I get time. Off to make dinner, feed the cats and dose Ollie ;)
Watch tv and chill, my back is killing me tonight.
KEL and Ollie
 
Re: 1/7/ Oliver AMPS 509 +10 357 PMPS

Kelly!! You almost made my heart stop!!!!

The candle icon you have on your condo tell us that Oliver has gone to the Rainbow Bridge!! My heart just about stopped!!

I know someone with more experience with R is going to be checking out your spreadsheet and condo, so be patient..help may be on the way!

edited to add...Whew! that was close! Glad you caught it and took it off :-D
 
Phew...I'm glad I missed that candle!!! That PMPS is better, Ollie...keep heading on down, OK? I hope your back feels better Kelly...take care of yourself!!!
 
Hi Kelly :cool:
Chris has given you a good explanation of the differences between R and Lantus .

The kitties whose caregivers I've shared my experiences and learnings regarding safe and appropriate use of R fall into 2 categories: Kitties like my cat BK, who suffered from extreme insulin resistance (a condition that requires very high doses of insulin) and kitties who are fighting ketones (regardless of dose.)

Oliver does not fall into either of those categories. Something to be very happy about :-D

There are certain low dose kitties who benefit from R, however I can’t speak to that as it’s not in my experiences.

I will say that in any case, before the use of R can be safely recommended, it’s important to be ‘data ready’. When you step back and look at a spreadsheet there should not be any ‘wide open spaces’ (areas where no data is present because BGs were not checked).

I recommend you have a look at the times where there are wide open spaces on Olivers ss and going forward work on sprinkling some spot checks here and there during those times so that when you step back and look there are no longer huge gaps. It will bring a better understanding of the overall picture and help you in making your dosing decisions. It will also help those willing to help to do so.

I see a note on his ss that Oliver eats ½ can FF every 12 hours. Many diabetic kitties, mine included, do better with several mini meals per cycle. Give it a try and see if it helps smooth things out a bit.

Hang in there, visit other condos and look at various spreadsheets. Although ECID, you can learn much by doing so.
 
I'd also like to add just a bit to Sandys post as I do use R.

For those of us who use R to control the bouncing a bit, we do not use it to pull numbers down. We use it to stop the bounce numbers from going higher. There's a big difference. Does it bring the numbers down? Sometimes....sometimes it does just what we want....keeps it from going higher. And we use it when the bounce starts.

And just to reinforce what Sandy said, the CG who uses R needs to have a lot of data on the basal insulin, needs to know their kitty's onset, nadir, and duration, and needs to understand how both insulins work.
 
I know omg Chris I don't know how that got on there. accident he is still here and going strong. :( My heart almost stopped too.
Sorry about that. I changes it ASAP.
 
Thanks all for the info on R. I am glad to know he is not a candidate. I feel overwhelmed at times already. But that said if he needs in I am there and will get ready for sure. He is my BOY!
I will do better at night taking BG's I just am dead to the world at night. But will do what i can.
Thanks for info and support greatly appreciated more then ya all know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top