1/7 Neko AMPS 222 +5 187 (AT) +9 107 PMPS 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday continued trend of mostly blue and a touch of yellow. Thanks for all the vines yesterday.

1/6 Recap:
AMPS 126 +6 281 +10 136
PMPS 107 +3 113 +8 131

Neko got half her breffs at PM +10 this morning. Not sure if that's was caused this morning's AMPS which was a surprise. It's been almost 2 months since we've seen sunny yellow in the morning preshot.o_O

I dropped her off at dental vetty about an hour ago. :nailbiting::nailbiting: She got a 1/2 dose this morning. I felt OK with that given how she started. :rolleyes: Every time I go to this dental specialist, I'm impressed. He found that she had a loose tooth, so that's probably coming out. I hadn't spotted that. :oops: But neither had her regular vet or the acupuncture vet. This is the second time the dental vet has spotted things the regular vet hasn't seen, and that's just the physical exam. In addition to the full set of X-rays and probably extraction, they will burr down some of her excessive gum. Apparently they could scrape but it's more painful, lasers are another option for the gums but hard on the teeth.

I'm supposed to get a call before they start work to tell me what they are going to do, and then one after the procedure. I know Neko has gone through this before, but a friend had his diabetic cat not make it through a dental last month. :nailbiting:

I did my usual, teaching vets about acromegaly, when I found out he'd also presented papers at the WSAVA 2014 conference which proceedings I've been reading. Now I'm going to have to read his work too!

Vines out to all in need today.
 
Last edited:
Best wishes, Wendy & Neko. Keeping fingers, toes, and paws crossed that all will go well. Let us know as soon as you have an update, okay? I certainly can understand your apprehension. Hannah had a dental a few years ago, before she was diabetic, and I was a very nervous bean, indeed. Sounds like you have an excellent vet doing her procedure, so that's a huge plus. Vines out to both of you, in return. Hugs! :bighug:
 
Vetty just called before the operation - one extraction it is, a molar that has a really deep pocket. Turns out the loose tooth thing spotted during exam was just some bone from her diet. Whew! But the other issue showed up on X-rays. And it looks like early signs off issues for her upper molars, but they aren't bad enough to do anything today. Vetty is quite funny. He started the conversation with "I've got the beast on the table". :p (I miss the laughing smiley)
 
Thanks for the update. Praying all goes well. I love the vet's comment, "I've got the beast on the table." Just checked out Neko's Profile and she is just so GORGEOUS!!!:cat: (And I miss the "petting the kitty" emoticon.)
 
Last edited:
Surgery is done - we can pick her up in an hour. He found a bit of swelling on her jaw below the extracted tooth. He took a sample for biopsy. I get to fret about that until next week cause they have to send it away to U of Guelph for analysis. It's only on one side which is weird and not likely acro related. It's possibly what acupuncture vetty had noted. She'll be on clindamycin (AB) for a couple of days so it's time to start up the probiotics. I had a choice of liquid or pill - nice to be given the choice.
 
How lucky for you to have found such a good dentist for Neko. Does he use anesthesia to exam and take X-rays? The one dentist I called said it would be necessary. If so did he call you while she was under to update and the go directly to finish? I've never used a vet dentist, just my regular vet. I hope Neko recovers quickly from the surgery.
 
Basic exam is done on the table but x-Ray and detailed exam under anesthesia. They have an anesthesia tech there who also monitors the heart. Neko's regular vet doesn't do dental X-Rays and the specialist has digital so takes about three minutes for seven scans. Dental vetty called both before operation to tell me what they were going to do, and after. It'll cost more but the tooth he extracted only looked bad on X-Ray.
 
I'm glad the dental went well. I hope the biopsy comes back with good results. It sounds like you have a great dental vet.
 
We're home! We brought her upstairs so she wouldn't have to do stairs, and discharge instructions says to use caution near stairs. Guess who's been up and down stairs a couple of times without me noticing. :rolleyes: We've had some whacking (she didn't start it) and some purring. I broke out my one jar of all meat baby food that I got last year in the US. So far it's a hit. I'm giving her a spoonful every 1/2 hour.

I have a revisit next week scheduled but it'll be with the other dental vet as the one we saw today is off teaching next week. I got them to test her BP, after the epic fail (215) at her regular vet, and the not ideal test (172-180) at her acupuncture vet after a puppy jumped her carrier. Today in her quiet cage at vetty - 128 on the Doppler. :cool: It got lower after anesthesia. They use the Alphatrak, hence the BG tests in AT numbers.

@ Carole, Rhiannon, Marilyn, Elise, Ann, Carla - Thanks for stopping in. Bean can breathe easier for now. Neko's just hungry. :smuggrin: And doesn't seem to have any problems with food.
 
So glad Neko is home and doing well. I always get so nervous when I have to take Toby to the vet. I hope her mouth isn't too sore. At least the baby food will help. Take Care ,Peg and Toby
 
Yay Neko!!! But stop going on those stairs that you aren't supposed to be on!

I am with @rhiannon and shadow about the unknown dental issue....

Skooter has never had a dentaa, so hoping to get him in when taxes are done.

Is it better to go to a dental vet or regular bc they know him and his medical stuff?
 
*whew* what a relief to have that over and done!
woot.gif
woot.gif
woot.gif


great report on her BP, too!
 
Trending down - I upgraded her snack to some canned Wellness to get some carbs in. Where you going tonight Neko? Note: anesthesia can lower BG, hence the 1/2 dose this morning. Curious to see what she'll be at PMPS and what I'll shoot.

s it better to go to a dental vet or regular bc they know him and his medical stuff?
My money (and I mean that seriously cause it costs more) is with the dental specialist. Most of their clients are older animals and they see a lot of special cases. Neko has a heart murmur, and I wanted someone who has a special tech monitoring her. Neko's dental last year, her vet was going to yank her canine tooth. This dentist just filed it back so it wasn't rubbing her gum. Saved a tooth.

@Serryn, Rachel, Peg, Molly, Julie - No matter how much she's done this before, it's always a worry. This is her first tooth extraction. She got her regular buprenorphine this morning. That'll help with pain. She's been up and down stairs yet again. :rolleyes:
 
Yo Neko, you did so well and I'm proud of you. Stay off the stairs, now. OK? Later we'll have a nice, soothing surf in the lagoon.
Rusty ( I have 5 teeth:))

Wendy, you must be relieved that all went so well. That vet sounds super! Have a good, relaxing evening. Sending good thoughts that the biopsy will come back OK.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Let me add another collective sign of relief- Whew!! Praying for that biopsy but glad she's okay! :bighug::bighug: good news about her b/p too! Good girl Neko! Tiger has not had a dental, our vet still thinks she would not survive it(maybe they mean I won't survive it because I would be a nervous wreck!:nailbiting:) Sleep well tonight Wendy- you deserve it!
 
Oh, I remember how horrible waiting for Chyna when she had her dental was:nailbiting:! I'm so glad that all went well for Neko today and she is home safe and sound:joyful::joyful::joyful:. I hope all goes well with the biopsy and it's a non issue. Have a good evening, Wendy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top